We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was awesome!!!!Ricardo and Moses were outstanding at everything they did!!!!the rooms were cleaned daily and nothing was out of place when we got back!!!everyone was very helpful with anything we needed and told us about a lot of fun things to do!!!the food was amazing every day and room service was on top of things!!!!by far the bast vacation and Cancun 2015 is already in the making!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarabean_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,319)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,274 - 2,280 of 4,323 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Royal Sands has so much to offer, beautiful grounds, pools and beach makes this resort a fantastic place to stay. The villas are nice but not over the top. The service is great and you also have access to their sister resorts within the hotel zone and in Playa. We could not ask for much more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family stayed at Royal Sands from August 2nd to August 12th this year. We had had a beachfront room on the Phase 2 side this time. Loved it! So much quieter and peaceful than the Phase 1 side. I wanted to take the time to mention some of the people who made our trip unforgettable.

• Room: Elsy was our housekeeper. She did a fabulous job and surprised my children by setting up their stuffed animals in cute ways.

• La Veranda Restaurant: Leonardo, the guest manager, welcomed us each day with a huge smile. There’s no question that he enjoys his job, and does it well. He made us feel like royalty, as he did with everyone else too. And I must praise Rudolfo for his top notch service! We were so pleased on our last day that we were able to sit in his section (we asked to everyday he was working) and sing Happy Birthday to him! At the end of our meal, they brought us 4 pieces of key lime pie with our names written on each plate. Amazing!

• The Beach Bar: We had so many wonderful staff members doing all they could to make our time amazing. Rafael and Walter and others that I can’t remember their names, but they all remembered us and what we preferred to drink. We also had lunch on the beach several times. Hot and ready to eat!

The rest of our praise goes to the security staff, but first, I would like to tell you why we come to Cancun and why we choose to stay at Royal Sands. On July 1, 2012 we lost our sixteen-year-old daughter Michaela. At that time, our daughter Cassandra and our son were 3 and 8. With our son going back to school in September, we wanted him to have something good to tell the kids when they ask, “What did you do this summer?”

So we came to Cancun, first time ever, and loved the resort we stayed at, but we like to try something new each time. One of Michaela’s friends had nicknamed her Baby Sea Turtle. So I did some research on which hotels help support the sea turtles. Last year we came to Royal Sands where we got to watch the mama sea turtles come on shore to lay their eggs and help release some baby sea turtles. That is why we returned to Royal Sands again this year.

And now I’d like to shout out our praise for the security staff that works to protect the turtles:

Jorge, Insignio, Eric, Alejandro, Javier, and Manuel: You guys are amazing and really made our trip one we’ll never forget.

My only complaint, that has nothing to do with the resort staff, is the rude people that can’t follow the rules where the mama sea turtles are concerned. There are posted signs telling people what not to do if a mama comes on shore, but it seems most people have no respect for the turtles’ natural habitat. I can’t tell you how many mamas I saw, who got startled, and went back out to sea. Security members had to repeatedly tell people to be quiet or move. Even worse were the people using flash to take pictures of the mamas, AFTER security asked the same people not to two and three times. That was very frustrating. More night security staff could help with that.

We will no longer stay or even try another resort in Cancun. Royal Sands is our home. None of us wanted to leave. I have nothing but praises and will be share this with all of my friends and family members. Thank you Royal Sands!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a beachfront room!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robinolson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Went to Cancun 8/12/14-0/18/14 stood at The Royal Sands the hotel was great we stood in the one bedroom sweet it had a king bed and two Murphy beds in the living room we went with my two children ages 18 and 14 we also had the ocean view the hotel was beautiful and the beach was amazing very clean along with the hotel. The staff there was awesome especially Lewis and Jose from the pool bar and Rodolfo and Leanardo from La Veranda restaurant which is in the hotel the food was great and never had to wait to get a drink. On the second day we was there we met with a woman named Heidi who was supposed to help up if we needed anything well we only spoke with her once and all she did was get us to go to a time share meeting so we can get discounts on certain activitys she said it was a 90 min meeting but it was 3 hours any way we originally wanted to swim with the dolphins but she showed us a bro shore that included about 6 activitys so we said ok ( I wish I would of just stuck with the dolphins) the place she talked us into really sucked so bad we didn't even do half of what we were told so that day was ruined for me and my family but while I was there I found out that we over paid for this bad trip cuz we booked with the hotel if you just go to the place that has the activitys that you want to do you will pay about half of what the hotel will charge. Then 2 nights before we were leaving we were on the beach at night because this time of yr the sea turtles come up on shore to lay there eggs and many people stand around watching and taking pictures so one woman was taking pictures of the turtle from behind and a drunk man and his wife and another woman came up to this woman takin pics and started to scream at her and we thought he was going to hit her so my 18 yr old said to the man don't speak to a woman like that and the woman that was with him started screaming that we don't belong in their country to go back to America that we are not welcome there and then the man hit my son the the throat from behind his wife and when we scream for security they came over I told them I wanted this man arrested for assault they told me if they call the cops that we will all go to jail now no one else got hot but my son and we was told that and when we started to explain to them what happen they told us that if we don't stop we will be asked to leave the resort so bottom line if your not from there (Mexico) they don't care about you or what happens to you. Don't get me wrong the place is beautiful but I feel like after what happen to my son and what those people were saying to us we are not welcomed there and I do not feel safe in this resort because if security don't care then who will. And don't bother with exchanging money cuz everyone there wants American money so before you go bring about 100 singles cuz everyone wants a tip.

Room Tip: Choose the higher rooms got the best views
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the Royal Sands "Hotel" based on it advertising as "All Inclusive", but that is PHONEY!
Having stayed at several "All Inclusive" hotels throughout the Carribean, this one was a major disappointment. Feeling "ripped off" is an understatement.
We were self paying, hotel guests, not Time Share owners or prospective buyers.
The Good: A couple of wonderful staff, and the beach (hard to mess that up).
The Bad: ONE onsite restaurant which served breakfast, lunch and dinner (all buffet style).
The Bad: The one restaurant being buffet, had waiters there simply for beverage orders, and on several occasions we could not even get a greeting or the basic water service when seated. My wife and I dress up for dinner, so it was not a "no shoes no shirt no service" type scenario.
The Bad: When service was finally rendered, the waiters often disappeared for the entirety of the meal. Obviously, less drinks served, more profit.
The Bad: The restaurant did not even provide for "self service" fountains for water or soft drinks, so you were just trapped....I will not speak of attempting to get an alcoholic beverage served.
The Bad: Rude waiters who focused their time on Time Share owners (who don't wear the "all inclusive" second citizen wrist bands).
The Bad: Snacks? non existent. If you want snacks, make your way over to their onsite grocery store, and BUY your own snacks (odd for "all inclusive").
The Bad: Produce your room key for every EVERY transaction on the property. Your key will be returned minutes later with a paper receipt.
**Telephone the hotel yourself prior to booking "all inclusive", ask the number of restaurants on property (one), ask about the private grocery store, and private coffee bar, ask if "all inclusive" snacks are available throughout the day. Ask if there is a "surcharge" or extra charge for food items in the restaurant (curious for "all inclusive").
Never going back!

Room Tip: Ask if you will need to spend additional funds once on the property. If you do go, **Be alert to...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank sunnyallen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our customers and we regret not achieving this goal with you.

Although we do offer buffet style service, you can order a-la-carte at any time as it is stated in the flyer you received at front desk upon arrival. We're sorry to learn we have failed communicating this to you and will review our processes in order to ensure this won't happen ever again.

Food and Beverage management is already aware of your comments and will make the adjustments required so that our service may improve and this perception is not shared by any other of our customers ever again.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Royal Sands Cancun is NOT AN ALL INCLUSIVE! This is a timeshare resort!!

Pros: beautiful beach, reserve hut for the day to your room#, rooms have a good beach view, clean

CONS: misrepresentation and old! timeshare resort and staff wants to stay a timeshare resort! Every time u order a drink or food, they ask for your room key (leave with it for 20 mins!! And stuck waiting for it). and staff expects a tip even if bill is at 0$ Every time!!. We are happy to tip great service, but not feel obliged!! All inclusive invitees are second class citizens!!! The hotel pros seemed appealing to us in the description and reviews, but they are deceiving!!! I've been to several all inclusive resorts and this does not even come close to an overall great experience and do not have the set-up and service of an all inclusive. Way too many let downs that made us feel ripped off and deceived. Only 1 restaurant and steaks, seafood and more is all at a pretty surcharge! Restaurants listed to reserve are NOT included. You must pay a surcharge. Your assigned concierge just wants to sell you timeshare! Maids do NOT clean dishes or even remove them from the room. I was told by mgmt that guests are expected to wash their own dishes! Lol. Rooms were done only around 5pm. Always had to go ask for more towels. Snacks are not free, as they expect you to buy them at the onsite market!!! What?? Beware of good reviews from amazed Americans and timeshare members that do not have the expectation of an all inclusive. Staff expects tips for everything!!!
Coffee shop is a fake Starbucks that you have to pay 5$ US for a coffee and they don't have fat free!
We paid and expected a balcony and got a door with bars right there. Balcony was 1 ft! The beautiful balcony's you see on pictures are for timeshare members ONLY! beware!!! Good spirits and big glasses are for members only. We are not drinkers,so whatever, but this would probably offend many who do like a nice drinks on vacations!

Thank goodness the beach was amazing!! We met with management and kindly and professionally expressed our disappointment, but they did nothing. They were timeshare owners themselves and are not happy to have all inclusive guests!!

This resort has a couple years of change management to go through before it becomes a competitive all inclusive and I still wouldn't go back! We decided to focus on the pros and good weather, take it as a learning and never go back. And if you still want to go at this hotel... Lol. Go to the "newer" section. Old section smells and is very out dated!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!! Lol
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

How wonderful a place!! Wifi, sports bar, children's events, pool side bar.. Yes please!!! 12 outta 10 this place was fantastic. Private grocery store and coffee bar. Excursion desk to quench all your adventure needs from novice to expert, The Royal Sands has it. You can hop on board the shuttle service and goto all the sister properties and never eat at the same place twice, unless you want to. Hands down The Royal Sands wins!!!

Stayed: March 2014
6  Thank leostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
3,996 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.9 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £159 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing