We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent staff, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Ranked #101 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Aqua marina is a nice little hotel right on the beach... but is only good for couples and family's... it is not good for a group!! It a cab or bus journey away from all the clubs and bars and is not very lively around the bar at night or during the day... Thou the Staff are 100% fantastic and cannot do enough for you!! i would defiantly go back but only with family or partner..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fonzned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hi, Well ignore bad reviews,this hotel is very clean and the food is amazing,the bar staff excellent,ok lets name names ,Louis ,Asterio,Josie are A1,the hotel and facilities are ideal for families and couples with evening entertainment every night,.Breakfast i think best,fresh omelettes,overall siitting on balcony watching pirate ship on carribean, whats not to like....5*

Room Tip: ocean view good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickey1234567891717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just arrived back to snowy england having spent 2 weeks at this hotel, i read mixed reviews before travelling but have to say most were unfounded.
All the staff were really helpfull friendly and attentive with thanks to Lois, Jose Lois and Pedro fot the ever flowing drinks all aware of our regular tipple within a day of arrival.
The entertaiment staff were on hand for the younger vacators for clubbing and did not take offence if we declined the daily activities.
The foowd was plentiful even for a fussy eater like my husband who always found something edible (try the omelettes at breakfast you will not be dissapointed)
In a couple of words give this Hotel a chance and dont read all the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scotland59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

basic rooms, no fridge, but absolutely spotless, staff so pleasant and helpful, luis who runs the pool bar would spot us and have our drinks poured and ready, the food was always freshly cooked and delicious, would definitely go back...beware at the airport though, we had booked transfer and an airport official told us to come along with him, then proceeded to spend half an hour flogging a day trip, which ended up as a very hard sell for time share!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

A great choice for the money. Clean, very friendly staff.. even when I had a problem. Food was plentiful and well cooked with a good choice each day. Book tours with Brad Tours across the main road from the hotel, really excellent tour and cheaper than the outfit just outside the hotel. The beach is quite small which doesn't leave much room for sunbathing when others want to play beach volleyball . Would check and not go during 'spring break' next time as it did get much noisier during our second week. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LongGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

IF YOU WANT A RELAXED QUIET HOLIDAY (WITH OPTIONS TO GO PARTYING ELSEWHERE) IN A CLEAN, FRIENDLY PLACE, THIS IS FOR YOU

Having read many of the reviews already posted I have to say I'm shocked. The hotel is not very new, this is true but it is spotlessly clean, family orientated and an absolute pleasure to stay at. The staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly - they decorated our table with balloons, streamers etc and provided wonderful drinks on my friend's birthday night. The rooms are not particularly modern but all have a flat screen TV, 2 double beds an ensuite and a beautiful sea view, and our room was massive. I can't really see why you would need more as personally I don't go on holiday to spend time in my room!

The resort caters for a lot of domestic (I mean Mexican) tourism and is popular with people from across the Americas, which for me was a bonus, I can stay at home and speak to Europeans for nothing.... the food caters for all tastes but there is an excellent selection of some of the best Mexican food I've ever eaten, they even gave us our favourite recipe when we left. Big thanks to Francisco - El Capitan - for the catering side of the hotel, a wonderful man, as are all the staff and yes, Jhobani is a very funny young man, made us laugh every day.

Also fantastic were the entertainments staff Thadeo, Williams, Betza & Jose, again nothing was too much trouble and we formed a great friendship which has continued now I'm home. I loved yoga/stretch on the beach and aquaerobics in one of the 3 hotel pools, plus volleyball (I was rubbish....) and the live band on Saturday nights is world class!

The beach is fairly small but beautiful and yes, there is some sea grass in the water but you know what? Its not just a holiday destination folks that complained about it, it is actually first and foremost a natural environment and guess what? Sometimes plants grow! Sea grass is in fact a very important part of marine nature so perhaps be glad you got to see some.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AnnaTallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Myself and my friend stayed in this hotel for 11 nights in this hotel. We are a a lad and lass in our 20s. We couldn't not have been happier.
We were looking for a cheap holiday and this was the cheapest hotel we could find for the dates we wanted, and were expecting dingy unclean hotel. We were surprised by the size of our room. Huge, with 2 double beds. I don't know how the lady 2 reviews down can say the rooms were small, she must stay in palaces, or she's a snob. We had a beautiful sea view. Spacious shower. The maid cleaned the rooms every day and was very good. A fridge would have been nice, but it didnt matter that there wasnt one. The bar staff very friendly, as we're the restaurant staff, jhaboni made me laugh at breakfast and lunch. Food was also fab, not a huge choice but what was there was very nice.
The entertainment staff were superb, stuff to do all day, we didn't join in everything but really enjoyed volleyball on the beach. If you want to go out and party (like we did) the entertainment staff 'Los amigos', betza, willie, Jose and tadao tell you where the best party is each night. Coco bongo, señor frogs, sweet, dadyos, mandala, the city etc. and they will provide you with wrist bands for queue jump and open bar and reserved tables for a small fee, they also accompany you there with free transport, you do have to make your own way back, but buses are so cheap.
After reading the negative reviews below, I don't know what their problem is. Complaining about stupid things. Yes the beach is small, but the sand in it is lovely. There is some seaweed... But it IS a sea, it's to be expected. Small rooms? Get a life!

Basically if you like clean, friendly service and a good time I can't fault this place. We will definitely return, well done Aquamarina x

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
10  Thank Nathaniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#105 of 177 in Cancun
910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#60 of 177 in Cancun
1,416 reviews
3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#72 of 177 in Cancun
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
3.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 177 in Cancun
5,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £83 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aquamarina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Beach
Aquamarina Beach Cancun
Aquamarina Beach Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aquamarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing