We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, lousy service, zero amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Ranked #77 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lousy service, zero amenities”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I was excited to have found a "boutique resort" in the heart of Cancun's Hotel zone. Indeed, I had high hopes because I didn't not want to have a one-size-fits-all, all-inclusive experience. So, I was pleased to book my flight/hotel package ~without~ the all-inclusive food-and-beverage option. I checked out the Casa Turquesa website and looked forward to ordering from the menus a-la-carte with my husband.

When we arrived, most of of the menu items were not available, including the soup and another dish that the waiter had actually presented as an off-menu special! We finally asked if they could whip up something "autentico" in the kitchen -- nothing complicated, a taco, some scrambled eggs, anything! In the end, we were served some crudite with ~Ranch~ dressing. We asked for the check and decided to explore the strip at that late hour in the night.

According to the website, there's supposed to be a cigar lounge, but my husband (an avid cigar smoker) was told that there's no in-door smoking. No worries there -- except that very night, we passed by the restaurant (the one with the celery and ranch dressing) and saw four men sitting at a table smoking stogies, their thick smoke swirling all over the interior of the "Celebrity" restaurant.

Like other reviewers have noted, we tried to address some of the egregious declarations made on the hotel website, and some of the packages sold/available to consumers, against the actual services delivered. The front desk and some other staff members were argumentative, despite what the documents claim.

We finally asked to see a resident manager and were told that the "director" had quit two weeks ago. Then, we asked to talk to any manager who was responsible for the staff, and the rude girl at the front desk said she wouldn't be available. We told her to schedule an appointment for us to meet with the manager. A few days later we were approached by a nice lady named Roxana who claimed she was the director. We pointed out some inconsistencies -- especially the issue of the cigar smoking. We didn't get any direct answers, just some sheepish looks, a couple shrugs, an offer of dinner (which we declined) and an apology for nothing in particular and everything in general. In sum, we had a nice conversation, but it became pretty clear, pretty quickly that service was not an amenity we could/should expect at this hotel.

While the wait staff were generally nice, the "front desk" staff seemed genuinely annoyed that we were even staying at the hotel, even though the only function they served as to check us in and check us out. (As a side note, the rude front desk girl smiled only on our second-to-last day there when she asked us if we had made transportation arrangements for our departure. We said that we already had sorted it all out, thanks (and we sort of felt taken care of). Then she says, "because we'll have to charge you for your stay tonight -- it's quite a bit more expensive than you originally paid with your package." I was dumbfounded. I had to walk away. My husband stayed -- only to find that she was wrong. Her apology was meek. Her smile was gone.)

What's sad is that I had had in cash about $2,000 to spend on tips, spa services (I decided I'd get my pedicure elsewhere) and snacks. I think I only spent about $200 at the hotel on breakfast and tips. The rest of my monies went elsewhere.

Still, my husband and I are in the hospitality business. We work crazy hours, and don't get too many chances to vacation. We made it a point to enjoy what we did have, which was: solitude (the hotel was empty -- no Spring breakers, or unbehaved children), the intimate feel of a small hotel, a spectacular view of endless horizon from the terrace, the terrace jacuzzi, easy-access to the beach, and easy-access to the rest of Cancun -- because we left the hotel to dine out for all our meals that week we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LivinginCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    149
    38
    19
    35
See reviews for
116
302
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Casa Turquesa is by far the most beautiful hotel my husband and I have stayed in. The resort is like a mansion with beautiful decor. We bought an all inclusive package on Expedia for our honeymoon. Our trip didn't start off well when they forgot to pick us up at the airport upoun arrival, after which they tried to charge us $120 for the pickup, when it was clearly stated as included.

We were supposed to have a free breakfast & lunch or dinner which we were denied. Our room was stripped, no ipod docking station as promised, the bed was as hard as cement, no mini bar, no soaps, no maps or pamphlets to give information, and we didnt have the proper bedding the first night either. They argued that we had only bought the room, not the inclusive package. After bringing up our reservation and showing them the Expedia website they still denied it even though it was written in stone. The front desk girl was very argumentitive and rude.

The plus side about Casa Turquea is the tranquility and peacefulness. Most days we shared the pool with one other couple or family. The breakfast and lunch staff were more than wonderful but the food wasn't that great. We ate dinner there one night and they only had about half the menu available. We also got ripped off $1000 pesos by the maids.

Such a shame that such a beautiful hotel had such poor staff. Absolutely stunning views and rooms, but terrible and rude staff ruined the trip. I would find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Casa Turquesa at the end of March, 2011. We just loved this hotel, it's like a little secret tucked in among all the monstrous hotels in the Hotel Zone. We wanted the kind of trip where we could relax at the beach or pool, or we could go out and experience Mexico (not be tied to an all-inclusive), so this was perfect for that. We loved the staff and all the personal attention they gave. We loved the size of the hotel (small) and the size of the rooms (large). Our view was breathtaking. The artwork was beautiful. The food was delicious. The location is unbeatable - we thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk to a mall, a bank and a bus stop that took us right to Downtown Cancun. The travel agent at the hotel who booked our excursions, Paco, went out of his way to make sure we were happy with our selections. The restaurant staff never stopped smiling. The concierges had all the information on the local area that you could need. We hope to go back and will definitely stay at the same hotel... it was a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view, some are only partial though (ground floor). Beds are VERY firm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Boyfriend and I just left Casa Turquesa and had a lovely time. The location is central to most entertainment areas and across the street from the exclusive brands Kulkulkan Mall. The staff was always friendly and attentive. Minor improvements need to be made around the pool walls, for a more aesthetic appeal (fresh paint and cracks filled). The room we had was very spacious and had two sitting rooms outside out entryway. Additional plus was the awesome museum in and around the hotel. The beach and pool areas were always empty with great access and minimal noise. Overall, loved it and would return.

Room Tip: try to get a ground level for direct access to pool and beach areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank velvetlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were tired of the all-inclusive party atmosphere of Cancun and had decided to go elsewhere. Then we saw an advertisement for this "boutique hotel" with only 29 rooms. It was everything we had hoped for. VERY quiet..no booming noise or drunken teens. Just VERY person attention, great food, BEAUTIFUL rooms, wonderful maid service, and personable staff. Very adult friendly. We can't say enough nice things about this small private hotel. Better than the pictures. We WILL go back! Many thanks to Judith, who made our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We thought that this place a great value. Staff was very friendly and rooms were spacious and classy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

A boutique hotel in the middle of the hotel zone. If you are seeking peace and solitude this is the place. The beach and pool area are above average. The service and food were great. My omly complaint is the bedding, the beds were a little hard and the pillows sub standard for this quality property. After the first day they had our beach chairs set up and ready each day, never had that before. At breakfast they knew what we wanted to drink and had our coffee preferences ready and on the table in minutes. ouldn't have asked for abetter more relaxing trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fish_raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
2.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#84 of 175 in Cancun
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 175 in Cancun
2,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Service at Paradisus Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Turquesa

Property: Hotel Casa Turquesa
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 13.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Family Hotel in Cancun
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#51 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel! It's intimate, secluded, and fashionable. Guests come here to our All Suite Luxury Boutique Hotel to relax, rejuvenate, and go unnoticed in the midst of the Mexican Caribbean playground of Cancun. Reminiscent of a Mediterranean mansion, Casa Turquesa rests on one of the area’s most pristine beaches and features only 30 suites, providing an atmosphere of privacy and tranquility. Spa and Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Turquesa Hotel Cancun
Casa Turquesa Tulum
Casa Turquesa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing