We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Boutique Hotel With Old World Charm in a Beachside Setting . . .”
Review of Mia Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mia Cancun
Ranked #102 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Boutique Hotel With Old World Charm in a Beachside Setting . . .”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

If you're looking for something a bit different from the run-of-the-mill high rise 1,000 room glass monstrosities and prefer a very unique boutique hotel with original old world character, personal and professional service, spectacular views, large rooms in a beach side setting, you'll LOVE the Baccara. This was my second visit to the hotel and when in Cancun it's where I will always stay. Humberto and his staff are always friendly, professional and attentive. We asked for a one bedroom suite and were upgraded to a multi-level penthouse suite which was nothing short of spectacular. . . two huge terraces, one overlooking the beach and one on the lagoon side with a jacuzzi hot tub. The kitchen was fully equipped and spotless and there were two full bathrooms (one with jettet tub) and one half bathroom! Be advised that there is no elevator, but if getting a bit of exercise is not a problem for you, and a unique hotel experience is to your liking, you'll love the Baccara.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    156
    65
    36
    45
See reviews for
79
254
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This stay was my third stay in this hotel. I came for an extended long weekend get-away.

I had booked a standard room. Upon check-in, I graciously was given a free upgrade to a fabulous suite. It had two TV's, a balcony and hot tub with sunset views over the lagoon, a living room, a kitchen with a dinette table, and a large bath. I only made use of the kitchen for making coffee one morning and for keeping snacks and beverages cold in the refrigerator. The suite was well air-conditioned: the bedroom was ice-cold but the bed had blankets. The decor was basic old Mexico hacienda style, which is in keeping with the rest of the hotel and fine for me.

The staff was professional, and seemed to anticipate and meet my every need without me asking. The concierge booked a nightclub for me. Bus and taxi information was easy. On the beach chairs and at the swim-up bar, I was served not one but two frosty beverages with every order. Some staffers were new, and some were old friends from previous stays; all were professional and helpful. Oh, there also was an additional night security guard on the beach.

I like eating in the hotel restaurant instead of going out, because the view of the beach in the last rays of the sun is relaxing, and I don't have to bother changing out of my swimsuit for fine dining. My personal waiter got an ice bucket for my Mumm champagne (which I had bought at the airport DutyFree) (no corkage fee charged) and the kitchen chef came out to meet me and ensure that the food was perfect to my liking--it was.

The hotel had maintenance workers busy painting some big exterior wall, washing exterior windows, and working on one of the suites, but all were friendly and none were noisy or bothersome. All in all it was a very tranquil and peaceful experience, with just a minimum number of other guests, maybe two or three. It's sort of like having my own private beachfront mansion get-away. And it seems to be nestled between several quiet condo developments with almost no guests. But it's right on the beach, by the waverunners, and it's a short walk to La Isla shopping with its cappuccino, or a short bus or taxi ride to nightclubs, etc.

When co-workers hear that I go to Cancun, they talk about crazy springbreakers; which may be a short cab ride away along Kulkulcan Boulevard, but I try to tell them that my hotel experience is a bit more exclusive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This hotel has unique features that we liked - all of the decor was authentic with lots of neat tile work. Our room was great & included a kitchenette, balcony with hot tub, and a ocean-side view in the bedroom. The help was friendly and treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel (there's less than 30 rooms in the entire hotel). The beachfront is the exact same beachfront that all the "seven mile stretch" hotels share. The water was kind of rough though & so we took the public ferry ($15/person) to Isla Mujeres & went to the Avalon's sister hotel for a day. Not much snorkeling out there, but a nice beach with calm water. If you need to exchange currency, just do it at the hotel (it's free). Don't be scared to take public transportation (bus system). It only cost about 75 cents to get from one end of the hotel zone to to other. If you need a drink or snack, run across the street to Xtra (it's like the 7-11 of the US). Definitely stop at Habaneros (in front of the hotel) for some $1 tacos. They were super yummy & cheap! We also would recommend eating at "Splash". Really good seafood for a good price. Don't bother going to Market 28. It's definitely a sketchy place & the deals weren't much better than in the hotel zone. Overall, really enjoyed our stay at Avalon & would go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank act26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is a lovely little hotel, full of character, atmosphere and very friendly staff. Geat value for money too. I agree with all the good things the other reviewers have said about it. You just couldnt go wrong here (unless you like big, noisy bustling places - it may be too quiet for some). The reception / bar area is very attractive and we enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio area with a drink looking at the beautiful sea view, The hotel pool and beach is nice and peaceful too and you have no problem getting a chair to lie on.

Since we were only staying for the weekend and wanted to give this place a try, we just booked a basic room, It was very pretty but small - if you were staying longer it may be a bit cramped but it was fine for 2 nights. There was not much hanging space for clothes but plenty of drawer space. The bed seemed hard but was surprisingly comfortable.

We didnt eat here as there was no-one else in the restaurant but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. La Isla shopping village is about 10 mins walk away and there are shops and restaurants there in a very pretty setting.

We hope to come back to Cancun for a week later in the year and we would definitely stay here, except we will upgrade to a bigger room with a balcony next time.
.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgalintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We chose this smaller hotel for many reasons: it fit our budget; the photos were so colorful and inviting; and the reviews consistently mentioned how wonderful the staff was. We were not disappointed. Our room was on the top floor...we got our "stairmaster" experience climbing to our room several times each day. Good exercise and environmentally friendly! Our room was a split-level arrangement, with the bathroom and dressing areas six steps higher than the bedroom area. It was very pretty. We had a street view, but we enjoyed our patio where we could sit outside and relax.

People have complained about the pillows being rock hard, but it's just the way they're wrapped. Unfold the pillowcase, turn the pillow around, and it's just fine. Walk down to the lobby, out the door to the beach and you have a most beautiful setting...a brightly colored pool area (the pool is a work of art...mosaic in blues and oranges), a pristine beach, just the right amount of chairs and umbrellas. The staff is constantly working to keep the hotel in tip-top shape, painting, cleaning, making sure you are comfortable.

We got a package that included breakfast, and we were not disappointed. We were graciously waited on each morning by Juan Carlos who suggested a different entre each morning, from Sergio's repertoire of delicious preparations.

When mentioning the staff, I cannot say enough about Humberto, the manager. We awakened one morning to a call from home. Our cat had to have emergency surgery for a bladder obstruction. Our cell phones didn't work in Mexico so we quickly bought a phone card. Humberto calmly helped us place a series of calls to the veterinarian and got us through the crisis. We really appreciated Humberto's kindness and patience.

The Hotel Avalon Baccara made big, bustling Cancun a calm, peaceful retreat. Thank you to all of the wonderful people we met who made our stay so delightful: Humberto, Juan Carlos, Pedro, and Gabriella (Saint Gabriella...who had every answer to our many questions).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkins, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I loved it! There are less than 30 rooms, and they are all different. The place seems more like a huge house than a regular old hotel. Our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean, and one on the lagoon side with a jacuzzi. Awesome pool with a swim up bar. Everything was very clean. The staff was super friendly and helpful with directions and hidden local fun things to do. There are 3 restaurants, we ate at Avanti (open til 11) twice and the food was outstanding. There is a little restaurant called Habeneros outside (lunch only) we ate there almost every day. It was delicious and $10 for both of us!! It's location was ideal for us, La Isla mall was a short walk, and the clubs were a 5 minute bus ride, so no loud parties on the street. In one word; perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallon_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Cancun, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Thank you for choosing Baccara! Endeed this place was made to make you feel at home. So please let us know when you want to come back, we would love to have you again at Baccara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed in the Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel for 3 nights and cannot say enough about this hotel. Hotel Manager Humberto Meza and his staff we absolutely accommodating to our every request. This hotel is right on the beach, quiet, and a great place to stay if you are looking for peace, quiet and tranquility. You are just steps away from one of the biggest shopping malls in Cancun. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises, beautiful beach to walk, and a great place to just relax and enjoy yourself. Will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlaurene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceAvalon, Public Relations Manager at Mia Cancun, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Thank you for your review! I will make sure Humberto knows about your kind comments as well as the rest of our staff. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#84 of 175 in Cancun
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#77 of 175 in Cancun
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#10 of 138 in Cancun
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
Porto Fino Bay View Grand
#53 of 138 in Cancun
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cancun

Property: Mia Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mia Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing