We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Character!”
Review of Mia Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mia Cancun
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in room 407 October 10-12, 2012. We were in Cancun for a couple of days before heading to Playa del Carmen. The purpose of our trip was to celebrate my birthday and our fifth wedding anniversary.
We chose this property because of the boutique style and location to beach and shops. Fellow reviewers seemed happy with their choice in Avalon Baccara. Yes it is old and some of it's shine has worn off over the years. They are certainly trying to keep the charm and old world feel. You just need to remember this is NOT the Ritz! Put your high expectations away and enjoy the simpler and beautiful things in this property!
The room was huge! Very clean and had all the amenities we could need. The wonderful staff greeted us with smiles and helpful information regarding the area. They had even fixed up some towel swans and a bottle of wine with a note of congratulations for our anniversary which we saw when first entering our room! So very kind of them!
The views from our two balconies were superb! One facing the lagoon and the other facing the Caribbean sea. Also a jacuzzi tub on the sea facing balcony.
The issue of no elevator may be hindering for some but the bellman was great to carry our bags to the room. I think we counted around 68 steps from street level to our room on the fourth floor! We didn't mind! A little exercise is good for you!
The staff stored our luggage at check out until we were ready to leave and gave us towels to use at the beautiful pool. We hung out there for a couple hours until our transportation to Playa arrived.
There are a couple of tiny mexican food places on the street level below the hotel that served pretty good tacos! Nothing fancy but good simple mexican food! Much better than paying an arm and leg for Hooters, Hard Rock, Margaritaville, etc...

Room Tip: We booked the honeymoon suite. They have a few rooms that meet that qualification. Two balconies, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJBCHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel is very nice, quite charming...our room was great and had an amazing view! Loved waking up to the sun rising over the ocean. All the staff was nice and helpful, until we decided to extend our stay but there were no more basic rooms available. Ulises at the front desk was great and offered to give us an upgrade at the same price (which seemed standard practice), but then the manager came down and said that the price would double and was quite rude actually. So we ended up staying at the Avalon Grand and liked it much better!

Room Tip: Not good for someone who cannot walk up several flights of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

If your tired of tinted glass hotels with 300 rooms the Baccara is for you. The 27 room hotel once the beachfront mansion of a former governor of Mexico is timeless old world architecture. The property feels as if Frank Sinatra may have stayed here.
It's very reasonable priced for its prime location. The staff could not be kinder and more accommodating . We can't wait to return .

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Stevemellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was my first time staying on the strip and was a little hesitant. As you can imagine, all the things that the strip is known for, is what I didn't want on my weekend getaway. Boy was I surprised! This hotel felt like a private resort event though it's centralized to any activitiy you would find on the strip.

The rooms are spacious, private, and very clean. The staff is very attentive when you ask for something but they're not the best to offer assistance. Plan on moving pool/beach furniture by yourself. Additionally, you must seek out waiters for food and/or drink. Avoid the restaurant - food is overpriced and bland. Fortunately there is really good food just outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed in the hotel at the end of our maya-tour. With hurrican Ernesto on our heels we arrived in Cancun with lots of rain and wind. The van could not drive up the road to the doors of the hotel so we had to lug them up ourselves. The hotel definitely has seen better days. The hotel lobby is fine with a pool-table and wifi. The rooms are mixed.We stayed in 5a which was smallish and outdated while the kids had 5c which was fitted with an outside jacuzzi.
The staff is very helpfull and make up for a lot and therefore the hotel gets a bonus for service

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for a wedding that we attended. I believe this is a timeshare hotel, however no one ever approached us to purchase anything, which was nice. The hotel is older and is not an all-inclusive, as most of the hotels in Cancun are. It had four floors, with no elevator and it was exhausting climbing the stairs in the heat. The rooms are different sizes with different amenities like microwaves and refrigerators, but ours was small and did not have anything. There was a jacuzzi outside of our room but it did not look inviting and we did not use it. There was no railing and a child could have easily fallen to the pavement below. Even though this hotel is older it is clean but could use some maintenance. It has a small pool with only about a dozen lounge chairs and and swim up bar. There is a restaurant there if you choose to eat there, we only had breakfast there. The staff is very friendly. Considering all the resorts available in Cancun I would not return here.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a lower floor since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Overall our stay was pretty good. The hotel was filled with history-- a unique feature in Cancun. As other people have mentioned, the gorgeous tiling and the grotto like pool! It seemed to be very family friendly. (Which didn't bother us, but I wouldn't necessarily describe it as romantic.)

We stayed in room 405B.

Cons included a very musty smelling room (unless the AC was blasting,) internet only in the lobby with one-very expensive- computer, loud music on the beach (and so the pool) on Saturday (but hey, it's Cancun!) and our shower was clogged.

Pluses: huge bathroom, (and unlike another reviewer, no trouble with ventilation,) we had a private jacuzzi (tho with dodgy wiring, so we left the bubbles off) with a view of the lagoon, the beach was right there and not crowded, (there was an area marked off due to the undertow, but we had no trouble swimming just next to that,) the staff was LOVELY.

All in all, it was good enough and definitely a welcome change from all the big branded hotels! Tip: be sure to eat at the restaurant right downstairs on the street. Delicious and cheap!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holden88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#76 of 177 in Cancun
3,061 reviews
8.2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#94 of 177 in Cancun
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
4.7 mi away
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#33 of 177 in Cancun
8,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mia Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £144 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mia Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mia Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing