We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mia Cancun
Nearby Hotels
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$440
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$470
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$720
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$700
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$624
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$536
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
172
157
65
36
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
157
65
36
45
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Every person who reserves this hotel knows two things: It is not rated as a 5 star hotel and it does not cost what a 5 star hotel costs. Therefore, to compare the Mia Cancun to what one expects from a 5 star or even a 4 star category is unfair. The following review is based on what Mia Cancun is, a 3 star boutique hotel. Within its category, I rate it as very good.
We arrived before 3pm and our room was not yet ready, so we left our luggage and went out to investigate our surroundings. We learned that perhaps the best feature of Mia Cancun is its location. It sits on a wide stretch of white sand beach and is within easy walking distance of Plaza Flamingo and La Isla. When we returned a little after 3pm, the room was ready as promised.
The Front Desk staff was professional and pleasant, explaining the towel card system and the safety box instructions.
It is true that there is no elevator. We did not find this to be a problem even though we were in room 405A, on the top floor. Perhaps that is because our luggage was delivered by a very friendly (and very fit) Juan Carlos, so we did not have the task of carrying our heavy cases up the stairs. The daily exercise of walking the stairs up and down was viewed as a great way to work off the Piña Coladas and Margaritas prepared poolside by Luis.
Aside from the magnificent beach, there is an artistic and colorfully tiled swimming pool that is well-maintained. I have seen more chipped and missing tiles at 5 star hotels in Mexico than at this pool. Although not huge, it is adequate in size for the number of rooms the hotel has. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas available at the pool and on the beach, even though we stayed here during one of the busiest weeks of the year. Again, thanks go out to Juan Carlos for setting up the umbrellas for us and the lovely couple from Holland! Is there anything Juan Carlos won’t do to make the Mia Cancun’s guests feel welcome?
Our “one-bedroom suite” was spacious and the air-conditioning worked well three of the four nights we were there; not sure what happened the last night when it worked, but not at 100%.
The bedroom was ample, having enough room to walk around three sides of the king size bed. It had a flat panel TV with cable featuring mostly Spanish-speaking channels. The bed was comfortable for our taste and most importantly, the sheets, blanket and spread were clean.
The bathroom has a small shower stall with a plastic shower curtain. There was plenty of hot water and decent water pressure for both the shower and toilet. There was no bathtub (not a problem for us) and a small tiled sink area with a magnifying mirror for make-up and shaving. There is a step up/down in the bathroom that could cause some concern for those of us who get up during the night to use the facilities. The towels are clean, even if a bit ragged, but we reminded ourselves, this is not a 5 star resort.
The living/dining area had Mexican style furnishings, a dining table with three chairs that was not only attractive, but also very comfortable. The chairs and sofas showed signs of wear and of past guest’s abuse in sitting on them with wet bathing suits. The second television in the living area was an older unit, but it worked just fine.
The kitchenette had a full-size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee-maker and a two burner stovetop should one really want to cook while on vacation. They provide a “welcome” pack of coffee and a large bottle of water. We never used it due to the wonderful full breakfast that was part of our package. The breakfast is served in an extremely clean dining area overlooking the ocean. What a way to start the day! We received freshly squeezed orange juice, a fresh fruit plate, two eggs cooked to order with ham, refried beans, potatoes, toast and coffee. That alone was worth at least $8 per person.
The jewel of 405-A was the oceanfront patio that opened off the living area by sliding glass doors (even if those doors did not slide so easily). The patio was very good size, with two plastic chairs and a small plastic table next to a hot tub for two that overlooked the beach. Was the paint a bit chipped? Yes. Could one look past that and see the turquoise waters and hear the waves of the Caribbean Sea? ABSOLUTELY YES!

Mia Cancun advertises complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby yet it was not working at any time during our 5 day stay. For many of us who live in today’s “must-be-connected” world, that is a problem. Thankfully, there is Starbucks, VIPS and McDonald’s nearby with strong InfinitumMovil connectability.

If you choose to stay at Mia Cancun, and you do not expect more from it than what it is, you will not be disappointed. It is a solid 3 star, no less and no more. If you want a more luxurious 5 star experience, then choose (and pay for) a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank justmyopinion1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words. It´s always good to have a subjective point of view and we are greatfull that you are sharing your experience at our Hotel. Please keep us in mind when you come back to Cancun. We would love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing Valentines Day vacation here. We originally were to stay in the Honeymoon suite, but had some passport issues and needed to reschedule our stay. The dates we wanted to switch to, the Honeymoon suite was booked, so they gave us a free upgrade to the Penthouse Suite! That room is nothing short of breathtaking, we felt like royalty. The staff is all extremely friendly and accommodating, and they went to every extent possible to make our trip amazing. The breakfast was good (eggs, beans, toast, fruit, ham), it was always the same so it did get a bit boring, but for free you can't expect a 4 course meal. We don't have anything bad to say about this place, we did have the best room there so I'm sure that made our trip much better than those who had a lesser room. But if we can come back and get the same room, we definitely will! People complain about the stairs, but I really don't see what the problem is unless you are elderly or have a disability. We were on the very top floor, and saw no problem with taking stairs. The men there take all your luggage up for you, so it seems like just a matter of laziness for some folks. We loved it here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bats102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guests,
thank ou for your comments. Please give a chance to have you back, we would love to be a part of your next special ocassion one more time. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in Mia Cancun Hotel on February 13 for 4 nights. The hotel had rustic Mexican style architectural design. Unique and nothing like the other gigantic hotels in Cancun.

Our room was on the main floor facing the street of Kukulcan Blvd. Because the hotel is sitting up high, we didn’t get bothered by the noise from the busy street. Our room was tiny with a kitchenette and balcony. The bed was hard (no mattress just a box spring) …that was the one negative for us.

The hotel is close to a lot of things like restaurants, convenience stores and shopping and yet away from Cancun's busy hotel strip. No shortage of taxi and if you like to try the local bus, it was only steps away. Our opinion was that the hotel was situated perfectly and has the best beach in Cancun.

A small group of staff in a small boutique gave us a “feel at home” stay. Henrry in the restaurant was great. He likes boxing so he must be happy that Manny Paquiao won!! Alejandro at the front desk was accommodating but our hero and the big star was JUAN CARLOS! A very genuine fellow, always going above and beyond for his guests. He’s not only bellman! He served breakfast, dug a hole in the beach for your umbrella all while providing concierge duties. A most impressive individual! If the owner is reading this, we suggest a raise and a promotion to Juan Carlos.

Next to the hotel is the Tacun Mexican restaurant...very authentic with a Mariachi band too. We celebrated our Valentine's Day with dinner there. In fact we went there 3 times during our Cancun stay. It make sense to us that when you’re in Mexico, to go to a place like Tacun rather than going to famous chain restaurants.


If we go back to Cancun, would we consider staying at Mia Cancun again? Si!

Gracias Mia Cancun
Jim & May

Room Tip: ask for a bed with a mattress
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May_EXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesPR, Guest Relations Manager at Mia Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very happy to have among our staff great people like Henry, Alex & of course Juan Carlos. We thank you for your kind words. Please let us know when you will come back. We will be happy to have you with us again. It will give us another excuse to pamper your both like you deserve. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Before booking at the Mia Cancun we read all the TA reviews and thought we knew what we were getting ourselves into. We were wrong. When they say this place has stairs, that is an understatement. If you stay here, you will find yourselves trudging up and down them more often than you wish. Check in and check out were fine. Juan Carlos was very helpful and we do not fault the hotel workers with our many issues. This place needs help--money, reconditioning, infrastructure and only then will it be worth staying at. All the pictures are pretty, but they don't seem to show the run-down nature of what is there. This place is almost entirely done in tile and naturel wood. the wood seems to be in good shape, but every tile surface (lobby floor, pool, roms) seems filthy a broken. Don't go barefoot in your room...you'll leave footprints in your bed. When we got to our room (401) for the first time we thought it looked nice. But we quicly came to the conclusion that it was mismatched and lacking. There were no washcloths, ever. The towels are thin and tired. The air conditioning in this room never worked. We complained every day, but nothing ever happened. There is no English TV available. If you intend to watch any news, sports or entertainment, it is not available except in Spanish. Only a few of the staff speak much English, and that becomes problematic when you have an issue with the room or its maintanance. You get breakfast every day and it's nice for about three days. Then the same fruit, scrambled eggs with bacon chopped up, and a tablespoon of beans gets boring eventually. The pools is beautiful and there are plenty of chaises and umbrellas. The private beach is quite pretty and definately a selling point. The location is terrific--right across from Flamingo Mall and a short walk from Margaritaville, Bubba Gump, and Outback.

We knew that this would not be a four star hotel, but with the dirty floor, the non-existant air conditioning, the beat-to-heck lobby and the availability of other accomodations nearby, we would recommend staying elsewhere.

We saw plenty of people working, and feel the staff tries very hard. But the physical plant is so run down that no amount of upkeep will be enough without serious upgrating--new furniture (mattresses, couches, lobby), sealed tile, reliable air-conditioning, and more responsive staff, it's never going to be a place you can depend on. We won't go back.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid anything on the fourth floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jori H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest
we are sorry you had such a poor experience at our Hotel. We thank you for your comments about the service and facilities. We hope you can give us a chance to come back so you can see we improve ourselves and check on the several things you pointed out. We can assure you we work constantly to make sure you have a great experience. Thank you again for your comments everything is taken under serious consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a small beach front hotel with beautiful Mexican tile and a lovely beach. We had a room facing the ocean, with sliding doors to a patio that we opened at night for the sea breeze. The original room we were given had an air conditioner that did not cool the room. They were able to move us to a new room, but we did hear several people at the desk during our stay complaining about their air conditioning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews