We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small things”
Review of Hotel Plaza Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Caribe
Ranked #93 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Cancún
1 review
“Small things”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Air condition filter was so clogged that air was not cooling everything else was perfect, restaurant great, the location was excellent, Maintenance should be more efficient for the Hotel and the clients, temperature is very hot


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nilo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    107
    87
    41
    27
See reviews for
82
105
39
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We decided on staying in Cancun city instead of the hotel zone. This hotel was in a very nice area of town, with great lots of really nice restaurants nearby. The hotel itself was very clean, the rooms were nice and very modern, staff friendly and serviceminded.
The restaurant was also a great choice for breakfast and lunch...Staying here is definitely a must instead of the boring hotel zone, that everithing is far from markets and everythings is more expensive, here in downtown you can find more things to do with a really good prices, the hotel its very good located in front of the bus station and you can take a bus to everywhere!

Room Tip: its better one of the second they are kindof new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jhnn12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We vacationed in Cancun to celebrate my anniversary, we stayed in a hotel in the beach area right in the hotel zone, a day afther that we should take our flight back, we stopped migration to forget my visa, so my family request sent by messaging while my papers arrived my husband and I decided to stay at a downtown hotel, down the bus, we are opposite a hotel with a fountain that made us just what we needed for a couple of nights, on arrival the receptionist attended to very attentive and offered us a nice room side to the hotel pool area the price is affordable for a comfortable hotel, clean and safe. We surprised see a green area in the heart of the city, is like a secret garden within the hotel, all in the hotel were very friendly and helped us all to come home after a bad experience at airport immigration.
Hope to get back for my second anniversary to this hotel, we did not need to visit the archaeological site of Tulum Hotel and opposite the buses to this area. It is an excellent choice for the location and price.

Room Tip: you may ask for rooms on the 250 are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartolomeo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I tried to get an ADO bus from the airport but at around 8pm i couldn't see any at all. the staff in the airport at the information desk were unhelpful and told me i'd need a taxi which was 16 USD and that there were no buses, I was expecting to pay 4 USD for the bus so not a good start to my trip.the best thing about the hotel was its location, right opposite the bus station. the room itself was clean and spacious but offered little privacy, the shower area was enclosed within the room with partly frosted glass & a toilet hidden behind the shower but without a door, so we used an open shower door for privacy when using the toilet. we being my new travel companion on a group trip with Intrepid travel. need to ask for the AC remote control as this was already on when i got to the room which made the room v.cold, my companion had left the AC on therefore but didn't know how to switch it off. local shops nearby inc Oxxo for some pot noodles and stock up on snacks for the next leg of the trip the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

They have a new beautifull rooms. This rooms are expensive, but yu get a much better product. I liked very much The gardens and The peakoaks. Is the best hotel in Cancun dawn tawn. I will like go back in my next vacations in Cancun

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you're flying into or out of Cancun and need to stay overnight because you're taking an ADO bus the next day, the Plaza Caribe could not be more convenient. It's reasonably clean (though they should do something about the tiny ants -- I recommend a boric acid, sugar, and water solution), there's a nice pool area, two resident parrots in a cage, and a small park where several (loud) peacocks wander free. Three children and I stayed in a two-room "suite" with two queen beds in each small room. The bathroom was a weird arrangement of a shower on one side (good pressure, good hot water) with an opaque glass door on one side, a toilet with a matching door on the other side, and a sink in the middle. Both doors had a considerable gap. Zero privacy. Closing the door between rooms barred the sleepers in the other room from the bathroom, since, as we discovered, the door couldn't be opened from that side because the lock was broken. There were no hand towels by the sink and the faucets were loose and hard to shut off. The button to flush the toilet needed to be pressed with serious force to work. The air conditioning worked fine, and the wifi signal was mostly good throughout the hotel, including the room. The beds were comfortable.

The restaurant is pleasant-looking and open to the park. We had lunch there, and breakfast the next day. Bad coffee, soggy toast, under-cooked eggs, soggy hotcakes, okay club sandwich, unchewable "Mexican steak" sandwich, very nice young waiter. Avoid the "catsup" at all costs. By the way, if you drink coffee, walk across the street to the bus station.There's a kiosk in there (the departure waiting room) where they make surprisingly good espresso, so I imagine that their other coffee would be decent as well. I made the mistake of walking to Sanborn's nearby for a so-called espresso that was undrinkable brown dishwater.

A great bellman wheeled our bags across to the bus station to catch the airport shuttle. The ladies at the reception desk did their jobs, but never even accidentally cracked a smile. The star of the day was a young man who realized that I'd been charged twice for the room -- once when I booked on line on their website and again when I checked out. He ran across to the bus station after us, explained the situation, and said he would try to reverse the second charge before we left and come back to the bus station with the receipt. He did.

I would stay there again for the convenience of being across from the bus station. I don't like Cancun much and would be unlikely to stay more than one night, but people who do or want to explore the centro would find it a reasonably comfortable and very affordable place to use as a base.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed one night in July 2013 at Hotel Plaza Caribe in Cancun because we were catching the bus the next morning. I was not expecting much since the reviews were kind of harsh. I was pleasantly surprised that this was a fairly nice family hotel - clean, tidy, spacious room. There is a pool, restaurant and yes the AC worked just fine. It is walking distance to a variety of stores and other restaurants too. We had booked online and the price was $879 Mx peso - this is consistent with their web site pricing for a standard room with one king bed. The staff were very helpful and polite, and tried very hard to understand our poor Spanish.

For its cleanliness, friendly staff, and being so close to the bus depot, I highly recommend this hotel. I do not judge any Mexican business by American standards, especially hotels. But compared with other Mexican hotels, I would say this one has high standards. I would not hesitate to stay again at Hotel Plaza Caribe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelHamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 175 in Cancun
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#87 of 175 in Cancun
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#82 of 175 in Cancun
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 175 in Cancun
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#130 of 175 in Cancun
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#100 of 175 in Cancun
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Caribe

Property: Hotel Plaza Caribe
Address: Avenida Tulum | With Avenida Uxmal Lot 19. Sm 23, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Caribe Cancun hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the city center of Cancun. With the best location in the area we are the best choice for those who come on a business trip or tourism. We have 134 rooms of different categories and services, from the simplest rooms for those who need a hotel to spend the night, to the most luxurious ones that are ideal for those who seek the best comforts. In the hotel we offer wireless internet, open-air swimming pool open 365 days a year and traditional Mexican a la carte restaurant. The hotel is surrounded by small shops such as self-service shops, pharmacies, travel agencies, leasing companies and several food consumption centers. Moving around the city is easy if you stay with us since a few steps you can take public transport to any point in the city, also it is easy to visit the beaches about 15 minutes by bus and nearby places like Playa del Carmen or Puero Juarez to visit Isla Mujeres. In addition we are located in front of the ADO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing