We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knock this place down and start again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Ranked #141 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Ok we only paid £50 per night each for the two nights we stayed here so we weren't expecting much for that on an all inclusive basis. We expected the food to be average at best and no frills. However, we were not expecting the pool bar to be taped off, broken doors and the most musty and old rooms you could imagine.

This hotel is a complete and utter toilet and looks like something that would have been built in Spain when package holidays first began.

The only thing this place has going for it is that it sits on a beautiful stretch of beach. As such it should be flattened and a hotel worthy of the location constructed in it's place.

In all fairness the food in the restaurant wasn't bad. It was by no means great, but not bad. The alcohol on the other hand was a complete joke. Perhaps the worst beer I have ever tasted in my life and the. Spirits tasted revolting.

Do yourself a favour and pay a little more to stay somewhere else. I'm just thankful we only spent two nights here!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EvertonBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

After checking this place out on Hotwire and Trip Advisor we booked it. Sevice is bad. Wireless is bad quality, only works intermittently and only in the actual lobby. First room was dilapidated leaking plumbing, low quality beds, cabinets without handles. This is a resort???!! Like a last resort maybe!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

From my experience solymar was ok but u cant really expect much from a 3*** hotel, the main thing was that all the staff at solymar were great, especially Victor Vaca his customer service skills were great he knew how to speak fluent english which was a great help for us because we didnt speak a word of spanish, i would definately go back, if you dont expect too much then you wont be dissapointed for sure

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preety k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights in February. It was the cheapest hotel in Cancun and the only way we could afford the holiday. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. Our rooms were large with 2 double beds, the bathroom clean and a free safe. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the guy that sorts out entertainment, he set up some great days/nights out for us. The food was ok, some nights better than others. Pool and beach were lovely and never too busy.......the bar's not the kind of place you can spend an evening though! It is far along the hotel zone but very easy and cheap to jump on a bus. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have stayed in many types of hotels, from 5 star Hotels like Omni to Motel 6. My mom booked this trip as a girls weekend and after reading the reviews, I was not going with high expectations, but I also know some people do exaggerate. However, in the case of this hotel, all the reviews WERE NOT an exaggeration!!!! This has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. They charged you a $1 to make a local call and you had to make it from the lobby. If you are a "local" they would only charge you $10 pesos, which saves you about $2 pesos. The TV in the room had no buttons and there were no remotes, unless you went to the lobby to rent one. We were "upgraded" to a suite, however it was NOT an upgrade and I am afraid to see what our original room looked like. They charged $20 for the lunch buffet, which had the WORST FOOD I have ever had! And that's saying something since I work for a university and cafeteria food is not great! The staff was rude even to those of us who were considered "nationals." I tried getting a cup of ice, however I was quickly informed that ice was sold by the cup. The hotel served its purpose since my family and I went off to excursions on all the days, however if you are looking for a nice hotel to relax in, look elsewhere. I was informed at the airport during a brief survey I did of my visit, that this hotel was the worst of the hotel zone. There was even a broken down car in the parking lot. Nice view of the ocean, but this area is also the choppy part of the beach and on some days; dangerous to swim in. The towels were disgusting and you had to turn in your key to the lobby to get housekeeping to clean the room.

Overall, the room served its purpose. We only slept there and explored the Rivera Maya all day until the late part of the night. However, when I come back I will be staying somewhere else! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maggie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visited Cancun to celebrate my mom's birthday. As soon as I saw the reception I had a bad feeling. I got a regular metallic key for the room. My first thought was like wow. They don't have electronic locks. They had an employee to take us to our room and set up the PIN for the security box without us asking him. I didn't like that. The furniture looked old, the air conditioner didn't work. They had an old TV the ones like boxes not flat TV and no remote. Called the front desk in order to let them know what we got. Waited few minutes and then decided to go outside. It was like an oven in the room. Got changed to go to the pool and stopped by the reception with our list. We asked him if we could get a different room because the guy at the front desk didn't know how long it would take to get things fixed. He sent another guy to show us another room which looked nicer and in front of the pool. We loved that. The air conditioner worked but there was a black box on the wall where you could only turn it on or off. There was no way to adjust the temperature according to what we wanted. The glass door to the balcony didn't close and there was no way to lock it. We decided to keep our valuable things with us the whole time. There was not safety in the room. After coming back from the pool and while taking a shower we had another pool in the shower about 3 -4 inch deep. We talked with the staff about all this. they seemed nice but the facilities were horrible. I travel a lot with the company I work for and they always work with Marriott. I felt so horrible for my parents. I wanted them to have the best vacations and my mom her best birthday present. Next time I will go with Marriott.
Ohh Forgot to mention that we got OLD YELLOW TOWELS. You could see that they were breaking apart. They gave us a voucher to get the towels and if we didn't return they we were going to be charged $25 for each. WHAT A JOKE. Those were worst than rugs to mop floors!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erendygm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We rented a privately owned condo from Nancy Cousins from 24 - 29 March 2013 and truly enjoyed the experience. What people have to understand is that this resort has different options available within it: hotel, all-inclusive resort, and renting from private owners of individual units. Having both read all the poor reviews on here AND after meeting a number of people who were there while we were but who had chosen the all-inclusive option, I can say with confidence that RENTING FROM A PRIVATE OWNER IS THE WAY TO GO. Our friends who chose the all-inclusive complained about the food and alcohol quality while our unit was kitchenette equipped which allowed us to cook our own meals and keep our own alcohol cold. Generally, we made our own breakfasts and lunches and went out for dinner. On top of that the rooms were nice and clean and, at least with Nancy, she provides you with good info regarding the bus system, restaurants, and how to get to and from the airport. The beach in front of the resort is exactly the same as any other resort with the exception of being less populated, which to us was a plus. If you want busy just walk a few hundred meters either way. The beaches in Mexico are federally (government), not privately, owned by each resort so this is entirely fine to do.

Again, SOLYMAR is a great option if you chose to rent from a private owner. We found Nancy via Kijiji.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ShayneH187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 176 in Cancun
2,944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,089 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#102 of 176 in Cancun
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#97 of 176 in Cancun
809 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
0.0 mi away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 144 in Cancun
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Cancun Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £67 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Cancun Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Beach Resort, Cancun's best economic hotel. Nestled away from all the noise in the south end of the strip. In between the lagoon and glimmering Caribbean sea. Lagoon-view rooms and ocean-view rooms and suites, some offering private balconies. Rooms and suites nestled in quiet, peaceful gardens, offering private patios. Private ocean-front villas, offering spacious private terraces and pools. Unforgettable fun for friends and family; throughout the resort. Perfect for holiday escapes, romantic getaways, and an unforgettable family vacation. Incomparable prices, an optional all-inclusive plan giving you access to our delicious buffet-style restaurant and two bars. Unlimited domestic drinks, pool and beach sports and activities. Comfortable rooms and suites, your choice of single king-size beds or two matrimonial beds, each offering air conditioning, satellite tv, telephone service, and a valuables safe box. NO WIFI; only free wifi in lobby. Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Solymar Cancun Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing