We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach with city bus access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solymar Cancun Beach Resort
Ranked #136 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I first started visiting the Cancun area in 1992, and have made over 30 trips.....never could I imagine seeing a hotel so dated......There was steep stairs everywhere, and so many of them that you have to be very fit....there is no wheelchair access, luggage ramps, or stroller ramps. Elevator in between floors with only stairs again. Air conditioner did not work correctly, soiled dark white towels and sheets. No dressers for clothing and was scared to hang clothes in closet as dripping air conditioner was nearby. Faucet water was not working correctly. Room key was on a chain. Hotel also offers day passes to local people. Reminded me of the first visit to Mexico in 1979.

Room Tip: Come fit for the stairs, and ocean view....good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Basia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Vasia V

Thank you for your comments, we are one of the first condominiums built in Cancun it later started to operated as hotel, we keep the first essense from this building, that is why is not a traditional hotel and all the access to the rooms are trough stairs. Because this situacion we are not a suggested hotel for handicap people but we have alternatives in case you need an room with easy access, you just have to ask for in advanced because are under availability.

Once again thank you for your time and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

So, based on some reviews I read here, I thought it was going to a bad experience, but I was so wrong. We arrived at the hotel about 4 hours early, and instead of making us wait, they got a room for us early, no extra charge. Everyone working at the hotel was very nice. The air conditioning was always working perfectly, the rooms were kept clean, the pool was great, and the beach in front of the hotel was amazing.

Some people complained that the hotel was too far from the main tourist areas an the downtown area, but let me tell you, when coming back at night, tired from a long day tour, nothing beat the fact that we were the first ones to be dropped off. The people who stayed closer to the downtown area had to wait about an hour extra because of the traffic and the drop-off of other people.

I can't say if I will be back to Solymar, because we would love to experience other hotels, but I will say that we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Buenas tardes

Muchas gracias por su tiempo y sus amables comentarios, estamos para servirle si desea volver a visitar este maravilloso destino, Cancun tiene mucha diversidad de servicios y estamos seguros que su próxima experiencia sera también memorable aun cuando no se hospede con nosotros. saludos y exito!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

first time me and my boyfriend stayed in all inclusive resorts. didn't know what to expected . with the budget i found the cheapest one. still in good location and photos looks nice but all the reviews were terrible but for like $120 a night for 2 people and all inclusive .i thought i gave it a try.
got van services with it so we have ride from hotel to airport . as soon we got to hotel went to eat the buffet and few drinks . checked in at 3 pm .. room was very nice big shower have a kitchen (didn't expected) sitting area king size bed .i booked none refundable garden view but i still have an ocean view and it was beautiful room looked clean . stayed 2 nights . staffs are all nice . no money was taking or stolen form the room. food wasn't bad . drinks was good after 20 of them they all good. there were food beside beach also but drinks wasn't included there
massage $40 an hour was nice. pool is very nice too. so i don't understand all the complaints . yeah maybe a lot of steps and rooms are hard to find.. but for the price i am very happy with it i didn't want to pay $400 a night for sure. buffet changes some every day too. maybe because i never stayed any where else. but for the price again first time isn't bad at all. and u can catch bus right in from the hotel $1 will take you to downtown don't take taxi .. its very easy .

Room Tip: i stayed like 3rd floor and its ocean front looking at the pool but i booked garden view so i am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yunisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014
Google Translation

muchas gracias por sus amables comentarios, nos alegra mucho saber que su experiencia en solymar fue excelente, ese es nuestro principal objetivo y estamos orgullosos de haberlo logrado.

estamos muy contentos de que haya disfrutado de nuestras instalaciones y servicios.

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por las maravillosas playas de Cancún, México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After spending a week at a vacation rental in Tulum, my family spent a night at Solymar before going home. We had a "penthouse", which is a suite -- one room with a kitchenette and a balcony facing the ocean, one room facing the bay, and access to a rooftop patio facing the bay. The views were great everywhere. The rooms themselves were adequate -- some noticeable repairs were needed but nothing unsanitary or unsafe. There is a pool with a bar that plays music that appeals to the younger crowd, and this music was tough to avoid in the room facing the sea, even when the balcony door was closed. It was difficult to locate the room at first - the first digit of the room number does NOT indicate what floor it is on, it indicates which wing (1=furthest south, 2=next wing further north, etc.), and the second digit kind of indicates what floor it is on (for example, 5/6/7/8 are all accessed on the 2nd floor). There are activities nearby, but nothing at Solymar itself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014
Google Translation

le agradecemos su comentario y visita y tiempo para dejarnos este comentario la cual le agradecemos mucho,ponemos nuestro esfuerzo para conseguir que clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad.

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por la maravillosas playas de Cancùn México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Tried to stay my last day in cancun in a cheaper hotel since I extended my stay! Boy was that mistake! Got dropped off at the hotel! Looked up, it's 2 flights of stairs! The taxi driver said wait for the bellboy! I'm waiting, waiting 8 minutes later I decided to take my backs up myself! Another on looking taxi saw me struggling and help with one bag for the first flight of stairs! Then I was on my own! Got to the front desk, the men working were Norbert friendly and stressed out! Finally the bellboy comes, sweating to death and may I add there was only one bellboy! Had to wait to check in so I decided to go to the bar! $7 for a small drink!!!! And the boy working didn't know any English! Then decided to get the all inclusive bracelet for an additional $45. I couldn't get my reimbursement from the $7 drink, but I still carried on. Went down to the beach, saw chairs stacked with a man wearing a solymar t shirt, and asked if I could have one, he said no! He also couldn't speak english! Ok now I'm getting pissed! Go back to the lobby, btw, I got lost, no sighs and the floor plans are so bizarre! Told the front desk, they walkie talkied the guy out side! Went back out by the bar, where this very sweet girl was working! I told her what had happened and she couldn't believe it too. So I headed back down to the beach! Ok now all the beach chairs are taken! All, I mean all 10. Finally I found one that was all broken but, I figured it would do! Go to get something to eat, very limited food but the guy working the beach bar was very kind. The food sucked! Finally went to check in, waited another 15 mins to get to my room, as the bellboy was busy. And there is an actual key, not key card so I had to give it to the bellboy to claim my luggage, which he then took someone else to their room first. So I waited. Get to the room, very out dated but the view was great! The AC didn't work! Called down, some guy came and didn't speak any English! And said he fixed it! But no! It was broken! 80 degrees in the room! Very creepy room with an extra door on the side with no lock on my side, little ants every where in the room. Horrible bed, lumpy pillows, no tv channels, no blanket just a stained sheet, which I didn't notice til the next morning! Dingy showering towels! Small breakfast buffet! Credit card machine didn't work when I checked out and waited 15 minutes for my change, which he had to give me in pesos! What a nightmare but at least it was just one night! The pool was very nice though and it was more quiet there, not too populated! I feel bad for some of the nice staff working there, but I don't think I could stay there even if they wanted to pay me! Totally not what I expected! And while booking, I said to myself, " how bad could it be?" Boy, was I wrong!!!!! Omg!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nya3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014
Google Translation

lamentamos su experiencia no haya sido la esperada,
muchas gracias por su visita y tiempo para dejarnos este comentario el cual le agradecemos mucho ya que son nuestras áreas de oportunidad de atacar y mejorar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We booked this resort as it was on the last leg of our return journey to the US. The rooms are difficult to get to as the floor plan is quite confusing. Reception staff are just OK. Food was not that great as we had stayed at other places in Cancun earlier. Rooms were large and with all amenities but room cleaning was not up to the mark. We had a sea view room which was rather lovely. Service was not that great either but we were there just for a day so it was not a big deal for us. There are better hotels around but you have to pay more. You get what you pay for finally so if you are there for a longer time spend a little more and go to a better place. If you want to save or just spend a day, I guess its OK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014
Google Translation

ponemos nuestro mejor esfuerzo para conseguir clientes como ustedes pasen momentos memorables en nuestra propiedad, agradecemos sus comentario. Y nos es muy grato saber que su estancia fue satisfactoria en términos generales ,por supuesto hemos tomado buena nota de lo que nos indica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I first have to say I am a pretty easy going guy. I rented a private condo and the owner was the best part of the trip.. Aside from 2 bartenders, there wasn't anyone else in the place that didn't try to rip me off.. And I am sure it was condoned by the hotel including the taxi drivers out front that offer a smorgasbord of drugs and hookers for inflated prices.. I finally lost it when a cabbie from the hotel tried to rip me off on the way to get out of this surreal flashback of a hotel.. There are 4 waring groups that own units in this place and your chances of getting a good unit are the luck of the draw. There is no entertainment and the food is edible at best.. The beach is nice but with the rip tides the red flags are always up and I actually got dragged down the beach about 50 meters on my first day unnoticed by the lifeguard.. Hey my fault.. There is a reason why this joint is reasonably priced and as a guy it was ok but a family and ladies might find it troubling... Not worth the risk people if your laying out serious coin to travel to Cancun.. Spend a few extra bucks and don't worry about the tv and a/c not working...

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, go 2 hotels to the south of this joint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tequilasheila666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Solymar Cancun Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014
Google Translation

agrademos su comentario su visita y tiempo par dejarnos este comentario la cual le agradecemos mucho, hemos tomado buena nota de los que nos indica

esperemos tenerle muy pronto por as maravillosa playas de Cancún México y nos permita mostrarle los cambios que la propiedad y nuestro servicio ha tenido.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#103 of 177 in Cancun
930 reviews
4.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#76 of 177 in Cancun
3,090 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Imperial Las Perlas
Hotel Imperial Las Perlas
#141 of 177 in Cancun
112 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#101 of 177 in Cancun
829 reviews
1.5 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#49 of 177 in Cancun
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solymar Cancun Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solymar Cancun Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 18.7 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solymar Cancun Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solymar Beach Resort, Cancun's best economic hotel. Nestled away from all the noise in the south end of the strip. In between the lagoon and glimmering Caribbean sea. Lagoon-view rooms and ocean-view rooms and suites, some offering private balconies. Rooms and suites nestled in quiet, peaceful gardens, offering private patios. Private ocean-front villas, offering spacious private terraces and pools. Unforgettable fun for friends and family; throughout the resort. Perfect for holiday escapes, romantic getaways, and an unforgettable family vacation. Incomparable prices, an optional all-inclusive plan giving you access to our delicious buffet-style restaurant and two bars. Unlimited domestic drinks, pool and beach sports and activities. Comfortable rooms and suites, your choice of single king-size beds or two matrimonial beds, each offering air conditioning, satellite tv, telephone service, and a valuables safe box. NO WIFI; only free wifi in lobby. Maximum accommodation is with two double beds for up to four adults. Arrival 3:00 pm / Check out 12:00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Ebookers so you can book your Solymar Cancun Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Beach Hotel Cancun
Solymar Beach And Resort
Solymar Beach Resort
Solymar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing