We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't have a nice beach”
Review of Ocean Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ranked #52 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Sunset which had the really nice beach so when we came to visit Ocean Spa (we had option to visit other sister resorts), we were disappointed with the beach and the pool. It was just ok.
We came to eat in the Asian part of their restaurant, FUSION for my husband's birthday. Emmanuel Argaez was our server and he was really great!! Service was excellent. He prepared a cake and a flaming drink for my husband.
There was supposed to be shuttle you can take between all the 4 resorts but half of the time they were broken and they only run for an hour.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jhoan507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.
We are delighted you had the opportunity to celebrate your husband´s birthday and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Royal and your visit to the Ocean Spa.
We look forward to your next vacation with us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 2,812 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Oh boy, where do I start? Location of the hotel is really far from the airport. It's kinda painful passing through all the hotels in the hotel zone because of all the grand entrances these hotels have and how tall the buildings were, once you get to Ocean Spa - WHAT A LET DOWN. Don't get me wrong, the entrance/lobby looks maintained and everything but compared to the other hotels, Ocean Spa's is a joke. Looks really cheap, nothing spectacular or exciting. Now let's move on to the rooms. I felt like we were on an expensive room at a Super 8 motel. Yes, rooms were clean bathroom was okay and the bed was large as promised. However, you don't see anything really fancy. No decors, no light fixtures. Just a clean room with a big bed. Next, let's critique the food. You know when they say on the website that there's a buffet restaurant plus 4 sitdown "fine dining" restos? LOL so what they really do have is one big restaurant by the pool area divided into 3 sections at night. The area inside can be the mexican/oriental/some other cuisine i dont even remember which rotates on a daily basis. The area outside is for those who want to eat buffet food. The italian resto is simply the air conditioned room beside this outside area. There's another resto beside the lobby altho I'm not sure what that resto was for. Food for all of these restos were okay, nothing really special but the buffet food was just too painful to eat. Same thing everyday every night, it;s like the cook only knows certain recipes to serve the guests of the hotel. We actually dined out twice during our trip because we were just sick of the food being served. Servers were really nice tho, especially Adrian. Just tip your servers well (5-10 dollars minimum) and you will be served really good. Last but not the least, the beach. I'm a beach person and I'm the type who can just chill at the shore all day and sunbathe. I was really excited to do such after seeing all the pictures all over the net on how beautiful the Cancun beach is. But man, the beach and view Ocean Spa provided the most letdown among all. Because it wasn't on the main hotel zone were all the other good hotels were, Ocean Spa's beach front was really short and rather small. Water was also dirty in this area and it's almost impossible to be swam at. Yacths are parked in front so they obstructed the view of the ocean. The beach front was really really disappointing because after spending a day on one of Ocean Spa's sister hotel (Royal Sunset - JUST BEAUTIFUL), you would really hate this hotel to its core. I could be fine with minimum accomdations, food, activities etc but beach is something that I can't compromise, especially if I went to the place for the beach. Cancun has one of the best beaches I've seen to date but Ocean Spa will deny you of the that experience. To sum it all up, I would really say you would be better off staying away from Ocean Spa. It may be cheaper than most of the hotels but I will tell you that $100-$300 extra you might pay for an all-inclusive experience at another hotel in the HOTEL ZONE is really really really worth it if you want to enjoy Cancun.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter what room you choose since you wont have a view of the ocean, hotel was only 3 stories...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your review; for us the guest´s opinion is essential in order to work hard and improve our quality.
We regret for for not being able to fulfill your expectations. I am addressing each of your concerns with our team and I assure you we are working diligently to make the necessary improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Dining staff was great, Angel and Emanuel. are awesome guys! Rooms clean&comfortable but old. Food was average at best.Time share = nightmare! Stay away!! Would probably go back but not our #1 choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for writing a review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay at Ocean Spa and thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to welcome you back and trust we will become your # 1 Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

i went to Ocean spa , Elli was the best in activities. he was good in sports , played valleyball, water aerobic, soccer.
Elli took responsibilities, took us to the club and stayed with us for safety, such a nice person, respectful, kind, fun. I will go back just for ELLI
cHEF Marco was great too

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor by the pool are best. no activities at night time. Elli is the best if go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexico814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the service that our team provides, it means a lot to us to know it is appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with the staff friendly and accommodating to us all. Victor at front desk Gabrielle in the Mexican restaurant, Ahmad, Jose, Luis they were all wonderful. !!
The only thing is avoid the timeshare they are treacherous!:(
Nice people. Thanks gang drunk 7, Crystal

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Ocean Spa for your vacation; we are delighted you had a great vacation.
It was a pleasure having you here and we are happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will share your beautiful comments with our team and we hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has good common areas, but the rooms are terrible and need an upgrade urgently. The room I stayed at (#232), had very old tiles, smelled like mold, and was poorly cleaned. I was expecting more for the price. All inclusive is not worth either, as the dinner buffet had very few options. Staff is friendly. The beach on the back of the hotel does not have waves, and harbors many vessels, which leaves the guests very little room to explore the ocean. No waves,I am not staying there again, mainly because of the room conditions.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't stay at #232.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. We regret to read about your experience and we sincerely regret for not being able to fulfill your expectations.
Feedback is very important for us since it enables us to make positive changes where needed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to offer you a better vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were told they had wifi but in reality it only works in the lobby and you must be sitting at or near the concierge desk. I must conduct business even if I am away from home and this put a crimp in our vacation. The food and rooms were good, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pampanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All guests feedback is highly appreciated.
We regret to hear your experience at Ocean Spa did not meet your expectations.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better service on your next visit to Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#63 of 177 in Cancun
1,395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#99 of 177 in Cancun
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#107 of 177 in Cancun
905 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#68 of 177 in Cancun
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#37 of 177 in Cancun
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spa Hotel

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £110 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hotel is strategically located in the hotel zone of Cancun, between downtown and the shopping centers, restaurants and many area attractions. It offers excellent all inclusive service with a marvelous view of the Caribbean Sea and Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Carrousel Cancun
Hotel Carrousel Cancun
Carrousel Cancun
Ocean Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing