We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recomend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ranked #59 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not recomend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed this past weekend in this hotel. To start off with, the service was terrible. Was given one key per room, even though we had multiple people, when I asked for an extra key I was given a bad look from the receptionist. The fact that there is no WiFi offered is ridiculous. The cleanliness of the room was mediocre at best. The soaps were cheap, the bed covers had a musky smell, and the cleaning lady never replaced the coffee in the 4 nights we were there. There is no beach! That beach is a dock for boats, therefore is not pleasant, but they have a nice sitting area in the sand and many water activities, beach open 24 hrs which was nice. The worst part was access to the rooms, no immediate access to the third floor through the elevator. We had an elderly person in our group (almost 80 years old) and had to go up 3 flights of stairs!!! Would not return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natigoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your experience.
We regret for not meeting your expectations and for the inconveniences during your stay with us. Your feedback has been brought to the attention of the Management Team and I wish to assure you that we are taking steps to make the necessary improvements on the issues you mentioned.
It is our hope that you grant us another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    789
    451
    223
    270
See reviews for
856
859
71
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff was really nice, especially the bartender Julio Alcala! There was a problem with my family and the room because it had a bad scenic view but it was quickly changed. The food was pretty good and overall, everyone was very friendly. Also, Julio was the best bartender ever. Thanks bro!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Spa.
We look forward to hosting you during your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Okay so this hotel was horrible the worst hotel of my life. I am not a picky ungrateful person by any means but this hotel was bad with a capital b. We got to the hotel very early. We did ask for early checkin because we knew that we would be tired from our 17 hr layover in Miami. So when we got there they said the had no record of us requesting an early checkin. So we had to sit there for 4 hrs until we where permitted to be checked in. We also requested adjoining rooms they did not have adjoining rooms at the time so we stayed down the hall from the rest of our party. The next day we were provided adjoining rooms. The lobby of the hotel is nice but the rooms need to be updated. There was no luxury about them at all. They were dark and had ugly decor. There was no fridge in the rooms or any type of room service for like good and drinks. The tv had limited stations mostly in Spanish. The towels were dirty as well. The seats on the balcony had dirty rusty stains on them. The seats were those cheap nasty white plastic chairs that look like they would break easily. The food was nasty. I did not understand the food at the buffet. For breakfast
There was no usual breakfast type food like bacon and sausage. They had an omelette station that was okay. Very little variety with food. The drinks tasted really funny. The service was just horrible. The staff was very unaccomdating to us and our needs. Terrible food no steak or fish. No French fries either. Save your money and stay somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ihateoceanspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ocean Spa hotel.
We regret to read that your stay was not the experience you were expecting. I am addressing your concerns with our Management team and I assure you we are working diligently to make the necessary improvements.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Ridgetown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms had a moldy odor. (Found out later that there had been some flooding there so not sure that we were not breathing in the mold pores?) Not much to do at that 'resort'. The food was nothing to write home about nor the presentation. We were told we would have an ocean view, did not get that. There was a lot of commotion around the hotel. Seemed like that resort got the toss-offs from their sister hotels.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest:
We regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. We have reviewed your comments with our management team to focus on these areas of improvement and thank you again for sharing your candid feedback.
Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a better vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't spend much time in the hotel because we took advantage of all the excursions Cancun had to offer. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, I felt it was adequate enough for the price. It's not a fancy hotel but the staff were very kind and accommodating. Esteban went out of his way to make sure we had fun with the outdoor activities and also showed us the nightlife. The VIP treatment and hospitality was top notch and I can't thank him enough for making our first time experience one to remember.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Noelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel was ok, we were given a room on the 3rd floor then told there was no elevator. After walking up 3 flights of stairs to get to our room we found the air conditioner didnt work, the door to the shower was off track and the view was of a portion of the pool not the ocean as advertised. We complained to the front desk and were given a room on the 1st floor the next day, now we have a view of bushes but atleast the air condition was working. The staff was very helpful and nice. The buffet at the hotel was not delicious the other sister hotels were much better and if you had all inclusive you could eat and drink there as well. I suggest spend a couple extra $$ and book with a different hotel.

Room Tip: Ask what floor you are getting and if the elevator works before you sign for the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your review.
We regret for not being able to fulfill your expectations. I am addressing each of your concerns with our team and I assure you we are working to make the necessary improvements.
We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with a better vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Started off on the wrong foot as passport control at the airport was an hour+ to get though (in March). When we got through the barrage of people trying to sell you taxi rides and giving you false info (we followed the instructions to ignore them and walk outside). We found our pickup had either not come, or just left as we took so long to get through the airport security. So we had to pay, although I believe it wasn't very much anyway (by UK standards..). We did get a voucher from the hotel for a free taxi back to the airport after the holiday (which we would have had to pay for anyway), so that wasn't so bad..

We arrived at the hotel around 11pm, stood at reception while someone (manager?) apologised to someone (a guest?) on the phone for a few minutes while 2 other members of staff looked busy, only the guy on phone actually acknowledged we were standing there with a gesture (while still apologising on the phone).
One of the staff eventually greeted us and gave us a room. We had asked a few weeks earlier for a sea view room, the receptionist showed us the booking paper which made no mention of this (clearly this is something that happens a lot). Probably the fault of the agency who we booked it through, but never mind. He did say to see how the room is tonight and come back tomorrow if you're not happy. By morning we realised we could kind of see the sea, and the room was good enough, so we stayed there anyway.

Room was good, very clean at least. Air con did have a bit of a stale water smell, but didn't bother us. Was cleaned each day, sometimes it was cleaned before the towels were changed, seemed to be an ongoing issue with slow towel replacement/washing.

Food was fine, general 'safe' selection, worth queuing in the morning for the chef cooked food at the side. Drinks were fine too, might not be very very strong, but we were all inclusive so you can just order another anyway..

The dreaded and anticipated sales presentation. Same as all other reviews. High pressure, continued wash of numbers and what a great deal it is, as each reply decreases in cost until the 4th person you speak to finally gives up and allows you to leave. Best off just saying no each time and get it over with as politely as possible without ruining your holiday. Spent a good 2-3hrs, and we could have probably done it quicker if we weren't so polite.

The pool was quite quiet when we went, but during the afternoon it was really too hot to be in the direct sun, lack of chairs/beds in shade (probably to stop people staying in one place all day?).
We left towels on a bed while we moved to sit at the smaller (kids pool) for an hour. Came back and 1 towel was gone. Reception staff came and had a look, but that was it. No replacement towel and the 'towel hut' wouldn't give a new one. Thankfully we did find a towel later that day, no idea if it was ours or not, but we handed it in so we didnt have to pay the $50 fine.... (Terrible towels as well, FYI). Most morning there were no beach towels anyway, sometimes having to wait around until 11am-12pm until the clean ones were there. Pretty terrible for a hotel really....

Beach isn't great, lots of seaweed when we went, but the free shuttle bus to the other hotels (mainly the sunset royal) is where you go for the beach.

Sunset Royal beach is amazing. Just go there everyday if you want the white sands and blue/green crystal clear waters. Sea is much more 'rough' on that side of cancun, but there you go.

Apart from the reception staff and the sales/time-share staff - the rest of the staff were lovely, very friendly, wanted to help, valued there job and wanted to do a good job.

All in all a good place for a couple wanting to just relax. I mainly mention the negative points, but still a '4 out of 5' review. Might return if it's a good price and you can still access sunset royal beach, if not, wouldn't bother going.

Thank you to all the staff, I wrote these down from March.... Carlos, Josue, Gaby, Lourdes, Alexia, Blanka, Pascual. Many others as well. Thanks again!

Room Tip: We had a pool view/sea view room, so no traffic sound. Also were on the 3rd floor so had a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.0 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#94 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#97 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#66 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#61 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.2 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spa Hotel

Property: Ocean Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hotel is strategically located in the hotel zone of Cancun, between downtown and the shopping centers, restaurants and many area attractions. It offers excellent all inclusive service with a marvelous view of the Caribbean Sea and Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Carrousel Cancun
Hotel Carrousel Cancun
Carrousel Cancun
Ocean Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing