We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Solaris Cancun
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked this resort a week in advance, a girls week away. In summary, resort is not how it looks in the pictures. (photoshop!) As soon as you walk in you are shown the resort, and then immediately they are in your face talking about the meeting you HAVE to attend in the morning. I saw him writing our names on a "special presentation" paper and then I realized, ******* timeshare bull! Needless to say we didn't go, but we did see a couple that got suckered into it at breakfast. I'm sorry but when the first question they ask is how much is your income, run like hell. Anyways, resort was immaculate and the staff were incredible. They really do make this resort. Beach was awesome, lifeguard was actively on duty as every day was a red flag day. Some days there were waiters on the beach, other days not. Did not see any tipping... Drinks were def watered down, lobby bar is the place to get them. Food: nothing to write home about. Was disappointed as there were multiple nights they didn't have pasta. (I'm choosy when it comes to eating meat and veg down south) Snack bar was great for lunch, their pickles were awesome. (I know.... lol)
So I left the worst for last, and it's the reason I will not come back to this resort and why I love RIU hotels, I was charged 63 US FOR THE INTERNET FOR 6 DAYS!!!! I've been to more remote places that had better internet FOR FREE! Sorry management but your not doing yourselves any justice by charging outrageously for the internet, it's Cancun, not the middle of nowhere. ( Yes I know your on vacation but I needed to connect at home with my child.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Holly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us and for pointing out how incredible our staff is. We take very seriously all our guest's comments in order to improve and provide better service in the future.

Please accept our deepest apologies for the misunderstandings and the service from our timeshare department. We have already informed our General Manager so he can take actions on these points.

Regarding internet, we offer every wednesday 3 free hours of wireless Internet access and also we have a useful, cool and free tool, 24 hours available called Istrid that allows you to share pictures on facebook and twitter.

Once again we apologize for all the inconveniences you lived during your stay.
Warm regards from Cancún to Waterloo.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,109 - 2,115 of 5,016 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Super friendly staff, had an issue where they charged double for the wifi and they were very quick to fix it. The rooms were cleaned daily and the food and drinks were delicious. Would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

First off all thank you for choosing us to celebrate your honeymoon :) We hope you had a very romantic and wonderful time with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food and drinks.

Thank you for pointing out how friendly and accommodating our staff is. We are looking forward to welcoming you once more.

Warm regards from Cancún to North Bergen.
Hoteles Solaris de México.
X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent 10 days at Royal Solaris Cancun and just returned home last night. The hotel itself is great. Very clean and always things to do. The pool was great. The beach is always kept clean. We had read several reviews prior to booking our trip and heard people complain about the # of chairs available at the pool and beach. While we were there the hotel was at max capacity and we never had a problem getting chairs at the beach or pool. My recommendation is to get up early and get your chairs before you go to breakfast. The food isn't great. I would rate it a 4 out of 10. The pizza bar outside is awesome and I would highly suggest trying it out. We ate it every day. Marco Polo also has really good food. The food at Rosmarinus and Las fuentes is hit or miss as is the service at both resturants. Our waiters were always great on the beach, at Marco Polo and at the pizza bar. There is also a coffee bar located in the lobby from 4-530 every day which I highly suggest. We made it a point to get coffee every day because it was wonderful. We had our 6 year old daughter with us and she absolutely loved the kids area. There is a kids club with activities, however in the same secure fenced-in location is the heated kids pool. We would drop her off there in the morning and have a hard time getting her to leave there with us in the afternoon because she had so much fun. The sports and entertainment team was great, especially Marco and Manuel. They engaged with the guests constantly and made the shows very entertaining. We also read reviews about people complaining about the alcoholic drinks not being strong enough. We never had a problem. If you want it stronger ask for twice the alcohol. They are very accommodating and will get you what you want. I do suggest tipping the bar tenders and wait staff though. We always tipped and our service was really good. The waiters on the beach especially need to be tipped. They work hard and walk from the beach all the way to the pool to get your drinks. We had a lagoon view room with two double beds and a murphy bed. The room was good sized however the beds were very uncomfortable. I didn't really like the fact that we didn't have a balcony however we were really only in our room to shower and sleep so it wasn't a huge deal. I did get a massage at the spa and loved it. I thought the prices were a tad high however they have a hot tub in the spa area for spa patrons only which was very relaxing to use before the massage. Karen was my massage therapist and she did a great job!
We would definitely consider staying there again. For the money it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnjiRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your Solaris Experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you liked the hotel, its cleaness, the pool, handmade pizza and Marco polo and have enjoyed the massage in our Spa, nightly shows, kids club and coffee time.

Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is, especially Marco and Manuel from entertainment team and Karen our therapist.

In your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us on Facebook, we gladly assist you with any request as a pillow top mattress so you'll feel more confortable :D

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.
Warm regards from Cancún to Brighton.
X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Friendliest staff we have ever encountered! They were always happy and willing to do whatever you needed to make your stay great. The bed situation was sort of weird, we had a "Deluxe Lagoon" this was 2 double beds which they pushed together to make a HUGE bed--problem was, the blankets were still double sized and my husband and I fought for the covers all night! The bathroom had a large shower, plenty of towels, soap, shampoo and a hair dryer. The room was kept very clean as were the facilities for the whole complex. They had several pool areas that all came together, one swim up pool bar and a water volleyball area. The bartenders were the best--kept the drinks flowing and even at times came up with ideas of drinks for you. (DRINKS: you did need to ask for the better brands of booze-otherwise you got their lower stuff) There were always servers coming up to you at the pool area and all the other sitting places to get your drink orders and pick up dirty glasses. There were 3 restaurants plus 2 snack places. The pizza was great--made to your order, baked in an open oven, right size for 2 people as a snack or 1 for lunch, this was open 11-6 every day and outside by the pool. The pizza maker was really nice, spoke great English and was just fun to be around. The other snack place had hotdogs, hamburgers, fries, salad, fruit and a bunch of that kind of food--was ok and always available if you were hungry. We thought the hamburgers tasted really bad. There was also a self serve soft drink dispenser here. The other restaurants offered a variety of different kinds of food based on the "topic" of the night. 2 buffets and one sit down place. The breakfast at the only place open for morning meals was terrific, lots of variety and tasted great. The dinners had a varied menu, but had lots of seafood which we don't eat, so we ate lots and lots of salad, but really enjoyed those salads. The home made bread was out of this world! We never ate at Marco Polo's--this was a fancier sit down place, ala carte. They had several choices but always some kind of seafood in all the offerings. We heard the food was great, but the service was slow. The activities at the pool were varied depending on the day and were fun--some a bit corny, but that was ok especially after a few drinks! There was musical glasses, bingo, dance lessons, pool exercises, towel folding lessons (think towel origami!) , etc, etc. You could partake or not, and it was fun to watch. They had prizes such as t shirts of water bottles. The beach was really nice, lifeguards on duty, beach volleyball, massage area ($) and places to rent jet skies or go parasailing. Across the street was a place you could go kayaking for free (30 minutes only), this was ok, there wasn't a lot of places they would let you go on the kayak, only very close to the area. You could rent a sailboat if you wanted to as well. Every night they had a show which was mainly dancing and singing by the entertainment and activities staff. This was not Hollywood or Broadway, we enjoyed some of it and it gave us something to do at night. These dancers also took a group of partiers ever night to a different night club downtown. We thought it was really expensive and never took part, but then we are in our 50's and 60's! The location was good, on the south end of the hotel zone, but there were always buses running every few minutes. The bus would drop you off pretty much right in front of where you wanted to go. It cost a dollar US, but 9.50 pesos. Close by was El Rey Mayan ruins ($4.00 US) and the Mayan Museum (59 pesos only). This is not a 5 star resort and there are not 5 star costs involved, but well worth the money we paid for it. The only thing I would have preferred is have an area "for adults only" by the pool or maybe the hot tub. Not all children were well supervised by their parents.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can be a bit noisy during the nightly dancing ( doesn't last very long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review regarding your stay at our resort.

We are happy you had a great vacation at Royal Solaris Cancún and have enjoyed the your room, the pizza, the quality and variety of food, the home made bread, the activities at the pool, the stunning beach, kayaking in the lagoon, watching our nightly shows and the best part...the service. We are glad to share with you our vision "Service is our passion", all of us live the service daily to make our guests feel at home. So thank you so much for pointing out how friendly our staff is, especially Oswaldo the pizza maker :)

We appreciate your suggestion, we have informed our General Manager so he can take actions in order to improve the service and exceed guest expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm regards from Cancún to Brooksville.
Hoteles Solaris de México.
^X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent a week at the Royal Solaris Cancun resort and had a great time! The staff were all great, especially the waitresses Mariala, and Mary in the main dining room. We looked forward to every morning- they even remembered our names and how we liked our coffee! They were very kind, professional and gave great service! The rooms were very clean and well stocked. The safe which was provided at no extra cost, was effective, no problems there. Food was of professional calibre, especially the Marco Polo restaurant! The day and evening entertainment was great for families- ranging from dancing lessons to ping pong to bingo. There was two young girls that worked in the entertainment staff, one was from from Chihuahua ( can't remember their names) that sat with us at lunch one day and taught us a lot about Mexico, the culture, history and landscape. Very sincere, kind and interesting. It was a great trip. We didn't bring enough tip money, it was hard to find a place to exchange US$ for smaller denominations to tip with.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms facing the lagoon. They are just as nice, I wouldn't bother spending the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We loved your sincere and lovely feedback. Thank you for pointing out how great, kind, professional our staff is, especially Mariala, Mary and the girls from entertainment staff. We are happy you enjoyed the service, the entertainment during the day and evening and food, especially Marco Polo.

We hope you come back and visit us soon to live wonderful moments and adventures on your next vacation in Cancún.

Warm regards from Cancún to Cold Lake.
Hoteles Solaris de México.
^X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I came here with a LARGE group of family/friends Jan. 10-17th 2014. The staff was so friendly and as our stay progressed, they began treating us like FAMILY! I see a lot of negative comments about the food, but we all thought it was great. The breakfast buffet had hot and cold food items each day. The dinner buffet was also very good, except German night, I am not a big fan of German cuisine, but we made do. Before checking in I emailed to see if we would be getting a refrigerator in the room for my mother's insulin, and the staff was so caring and excellent to make sure our room had a refridgerator!!! I felt like a spoiled brat =) Anyways I wanted to give a few shout outs to some of the employees: Roberto, Mibsam, Leonel, Nailea, Joel, Juve, Mariela, Rubicel and last but not least Miss Maggie!!! Maggie really made us feel like we were family!!!! All of the staff was great, every morning a different waiter would come and ask us where we were from, how we liked Mexico, etc. It was very nice. INternet was free on Wednesday for a few hours. but nobody told us. Other than that everything was great and we will be back next year with even more family!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Me and My wife headed down to Cancun for a get away a few months after our wedding for a honeymoon I guess you could say. We found the bartenders, servers, and entertainers to be awesome. our room was clean, the pools were always well kept, and the food was great also. I know this resort isn't the best of the best, but if you are looking for a cheap way to experience Cancun and still want to feel a bit of luxury this is a great spot to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank XxBENNYxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

First of all thank you for choosing us to spend your honeymoon. We hope you had a romantic and special time at Royal Solaris Cancún.

We are glad you enjoyed the service, especially provided by bartenders, servers and entertainers, the room, pools and food.

Hope your Solaris Experience last forever and come back in the near future to live more adventures and great moments in Cancún.

Warm regards from Cancún to Edmonton.
Hoteles Solaris de México.
X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#36 of 177 in Cancun
4,773 reviews
6.6 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 177 in Cancun
3,594 reviews
3.7 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#41 of 177 in Cancun
5,554 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan No. 64 Km 19.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £144 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's VIKS Club offers a 6,324-square-foot recreation area for children. Supervised activities include video games, arts and crafts, and painting lessons. The mini water park features The Arch, a themed aquatic area with elephants, gorillas, zebras, rhinoceroses, hippopotamuses, giraffes, and a children's pool and three waterslides. The club is open morning until early evening in the winter, and morning until evening in the summer.Daily adult activities include pool aerobics, bingo, contests, fashion shows, cooking lessons, and athletic competitions. Nightly entertainment shows such as Mexican night and Latino night are produced by the resort's activities/entertainment staff in an air-conditioned theater. After-dark activities also include complimentary one-way transportation to the nightlife area of Cancún.A 300-square-meter health-and-beauty spa features separate steam rooms for men and women. Spa services include massage, body wraps and scrubs, hydrotherapy, and facials. Waxing and hair/nail care are provided by the beauty salon. Open-air massage and hair braiding are offered as well. (Surcharge for all spa treatments, beauty services, and hair braiding.)An air-conditioned, fitness center with mirrored walls contains cardio and weight machines as well as free weights. Within the resort are jewelry, clothing and gift/sundries shops. The resort purifies its water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Royal Solaris Caribe
Solaris Resort Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing