We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Solaris Cancun
Ranked #33 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

There is a gorgeous beachfront with white sand and crystal clear water. Beautiful pools to lounge in and by. Several great restaurants with impeccable service.. Excellent shows every single night of the week. The service people are professional polite and yet like family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExasperatedAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you very much for such a fabulous and sweet review. We are happy that you have had a wonderful experience at Royal Solaris Cancún and have enjoyed the beach, pools, restaurants and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in your next vacation.
Hoteles Solaris Cancún.
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    1,265
    528
    182
    162
See reviews for
1,861
1,216
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The positive experience in based on the service employees. They were courteous and attentive. Breakfast was excellent for the food selection and service.
The rooms need to be updated. We did not like our room inspite of changing our initial room.
The beaches, the restaurants and the people provide enough satisfaction for us to go back. I will recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review regarding your stay at Royal Solaris Cancún on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you had a positive experience in based on the service, our staff, beaches and restaurants.

Regarding the comment about your room, let us inform you we have started to remodel our 256 rooms last November but are not 100% finished.

We hope you visit again soon so you can see our improvement.

Warm regards from Cancún to Pinehurst.
Hoteles Solaris de México.
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just got home from a week long stay at this resort. We had 4 adults and 1 infant with us, we booked a suite for 6 ppl which was 2 standard rooms with a connecting door. This was perfect because each couple had their own private room. We had an ocean view which was amazing.
Pros:
The staff were absolutely amazing- Ricardo and Roberto by the pool went above and beyond.
The view was beautiful
The rooms spacious enough and very clean
The beach and pools were awesome, lots of chairs and great sun and shade options
We did a professional photo shoot that they offered on site and the pics were great.
Gift shop on site is quite big and has most things you would need, at a hefty price
Cons:
They don't make US$ change at the front desk, you have to try and get waiters to break your bills for you with their tip money
The room didn't have a bathtub, this is appreciated when traveling with a baby, the sink baths were a little difficult
Beds were quite hard and uncomfortable
The food was a little repetitive, which is normal in Mexico but it would have been nice to see more variety. Left over dinner at breakfast etc, same breakfast every day.

Over all we would absolutely come back to this resort. Close to town, public transportation is cheap and it comes ever 5 min and are right out side the resort. The staff was amazing and that's the most important part.
I also recommend the ocean side relaxation massage, I went twice because it was that good.

*only the 7th floor has balcony's- that I saw anyway*

Room Tip: Ocean side is way better then the marina side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review regarding your stay at our resort.

We are happy you have had a great vacation at Royal Solaris Cancún and have enjoyed the connecting rooms, the ocean view, the beach and pools, the relaxation massage and the best part...the service. We are glad to let you know our vision "Service is our passion" and every of us lives the service daily to make our guests feel at home away from home. So thank you so much for pointing out how amazing our staff is, especially Ricardo and Roberto.

On regarding dollars change, is because of the government regulations in Mexico. It is recommended that all travelers bring Mexican pesos as well as their credit and/or debit cards to minimize any inconvenience the exchange cap at banks may cause.

On the other hand, regarding the mattress inconveniences please try to consider it depends on the different preference each person has; however we have pillow top to give to person who feel uncomfortable with the bed. Our guest just has to ask for it :)

We highly appreciate your feedback therefore we will suggest our managment to take action regarding your comment on the bathtub so we can offer families traveling with a baby a better option.

We would love to host you once more in your next vacation.

Warm regards from Cancún.
Hoteles Solaris de México
X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We just returned home from this resort. This is a wonderful resort with its pros and cons. For our very first trip it was great
Pro:
The service is amazing! Is you get magdiel as your server - he is awesome. Remember a little tip can really go a long way.
Kids club was great - I was really sceptical about leaving our kids there, but they had a great policy
The girls that work that area is amazing! They took great care of my kids. By the 2nd day, I was comfortable with leaving them there, while we enjoyed ourselves by the pool.

Pool area and activities were amazing! Pool for all ages. Swim up pool bar is great! Except it needs more variety in drinks! The entertainment staff is awesome! Special thanks to Paloma, Stephanie, Oliver and Enzo! They were the best staff the entertainment team has. Some of the other entertainment staff.. Manuel was pretty stuck up.

Nightly shows by the entertainment team was great! Every night at 830 was a different show. They do a wonderful job.

Coffee Bar between the hrs of 4 to 530.was awesome!! The Italian coffee is the best!

Cons:
Beds were firm, I was ok with it because I like a firm bed.. But my husband hated it. The rooms are outdated but it has all necessity. You spend more time outdoors anyways

Food : was ok. It was not the best nor the worst. Their watermelon juice was outstanding!

Timeshare : people complain about it.. We sat through the 2 hours only for the perks. We ended up getting 2 free Internet night and discounts to our excursions. So if you can sit through 2 hrs.. You can get something back..

Internet : It is NOT Free. And is pretty costly! You would think at least free wifi in the lobby . so be prepared to pay 65 for the week.

Overall our experience was a wonderful one. The beach was beautiful. Pool area was beautiful. Tons of activities forall ages!
Would be go here again? Probably yes. But we'd like to see what else is out there for resorts to make comparisons

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wpg2138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Solaris Experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a great first trip in Cancún. First of many :D

It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed the service, pool area, activities, nightly shows, the Italian coffee and our kids club; such a nice place that kids love it.

Thank you for pointing our how amazing our staff is, especially Magdiel, the girls from kids club and the entertainment staff. We have informed our Entertainment Manager your comments regarding your perception of one of them so he'll take corrective actions on this point.

We appreciate all your comments specially the ones which help us to improve. Thanks to all the suggestions from our guests, we have started renovating our rooms and we are still working on it so we expect to surprise future guests with this improvement.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back once more.

Warm regards from Cancún,
Hoteles Solaris de México.
X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked this resort a week in advance, a girls week away. In summary, resort is not how it looks in the pictures. (photoshop!) As soon as you walk in you are shown the resort, and then immediately they are in your face talking about the meeting you HAVE to attend in the morning. I saw him writing our names on a "special presentation" paper and then I realized, ******* timeshare bull! Needless to say we didn't go, but we did see a couple that got suckered into it at breakfast. I'm sorry but when the first question they ask is how much is your income, run like hell. Anyways, resort was immaculate and the staff were incredible. They really do make this resort. Beach was awesome, lifeguard was actively on duty as every day was a red flag day. Some days there were waiters on the beach, other days not. Did not see any tipping... Drinks were def watered down, lobby bar is the place to get them. Food: nothing to write home about. Was disappointed as there were multiple nights they didn't have pasta. (I'm choosy when it comes to eating meat and veg down south) Snack bar was great for lunch, their pickles were awesome. (I know.... lol)
So I left the worst for last, and it's the reason I will not come back to this resort and why I love RIU hotels, I was charged 63 US FOR THE INTERNET FOR 6 DAYS!!!! I've been to more remote places that had better internet FOR FREE! Sorry management but your not doing yourselves any justice by charging outrageously for the internet, it's Cancun, not the middle of nowhere. ( Yes I know your on vacation but I needed to connect at home with my child.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Holly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us and for pointing out how incredible our staff is. We take very seriously all our guest's comments in order to improve and provide better service in the future.

Please accept our deepest apologies for the misunderstandings and the service from our timeshare department. We have already informed our General Manager so he can take actions on these points.

Regarding internet, we offer every wednesday 3 free hours of wireless Internet access and also we have a useful, cool and free tool, 24 hours available called Istrid that allows you to share pictures on facebook and twitter.

Once again we apologize for all the inconveniences you lived during your stay.
Warm regards from Cancún to Waterloo.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Super friendly staff, had an issue where they charged double for the wifi and they were very quick to fix it. The rooms were cleaned daily and the food and drinks were delicious. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
First off all thank you for choosing us to celebrate your honeymoon :) We hope you had a very romantic and wonderful time with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food and drinks.

Thank you for pointing out how friendly and accommodating our staff is. We are looking forward to welcoming you once more.

Warm regards from Cancún to North Bergen.
Hoteles Solaris de México.
X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent 10 days at Royal Solaris Cancun and just returned home last night. The hotel itself is great. Very clean and always things to do. The pool was great. The beach is always kept clean. We had read several reviews prior to booking our trip and heard people complain about the # of chairs available at the pool and beach. While we were there the hotel was at max capacity and we never had a problem getting chairs at the beach or pool. My recommendation is to get up early and get your chairs before you go to breakfast. The food isn't great. I would rate it a 4 out of 10. The pizza bar outside is awesome and I would highly suggest trying it out. We ate it every day. Marco Polo also has really good food. The food at Rosmarinus and Las fuentes is hit or miss as is the service at both resturants. Our waiters were always great on the beach, at Marco Polo and at the pizza bar. There is also a coffee bar located in the lobby from 4-530 every day which I highly suggest. We made it a point to get coffee every day because it was wonderful. We had our 6 year old daughter with us and she absolutely loved the kids area. There is a kids club with activities, however in the same secure fenced-in location is the heated kids pool. We would drop her off there in the morning and have a hard time getting her to leave there with us in the afternoon because she had so much fun. The sports and entertainment team was great, especially Marco and Manuel. They engaged with the guests constantly and made the shows very entertaining. We also read reviews about people complaining about the alcoholic drinks not being strong enough. We never had a problem. If you want it stronger ask for twice the alcohol. They are very accommodating and will get you what you want. I do suggest tipping the bar tenders and wait staff though. We always tipped and our service was really good. The waiters on the beach especially need to be tipped. They work hard and walk from the beach all the way to the pool to get your drinks. We had a lagoon view room with two double beds and a murphy bed. The room was good sized however the beds were very uncomfortable. I didn't really like the fact that we didn't have a balcony however we were really only in our room to shower and sleep so it wasn't a huge deal. I did get a massage at the spa and loved it. I thought the prices were a tad high however they have a hot tub in the spa area for spa patrons only which was very relaxing to use before the massage. Karen was my massage therapist and she did a great job!
We would definitely consider staying there again. For the money it was well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnjiRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We appreciate you for taking the time to share your Solaris Experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you liked the hotel, its cleaness, the pool, handmade pizza and Marco polo and have enjoyed the massage in our Spa, nightly shows, kids club and coffee time.

Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is, especially Marco and Manuel from entertainment team and Karen our therapist.

In your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us on Facebook, we gladly assist you with any request as a pillow top mattress so you'll feel more confortable :D

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.
Warm regards from Cancún to Brighton.
X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
5.0 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
6.5 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Cancun

Property: Royal Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan No. 64 Km 19.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's VIKS Club offers a 6,324-square-foot recreation area for children. Supervised activities include video games, arts and crafts, and painting lessons. The mini water park features The Arch, a themed aquatic area with elephants, gorillas, zebras, rhinoceroses, hippopotamuses, giraffes, and a children's pool and three waterslides. The club is open morning until early evening in the winter, and morning until evening in the summer.Daily adult activities include pool aerobics, bingo, contests, fashion shows, cooking lessons, and athletic competitions. Nightly entertainment shows such as Mexican night and Latino night are produced by the resort's activities/entertainment staff in an air-conditioned theater. After-dark activities also include complimentary one-way transportation to the nightlife area of Cancún.A 300-square-meter health-and-beauty spa features separate steam rooms for men and women. Spa services include massage, body wraps and scrubs, hydrotherapy, and facials. Waxing and hair/nail care are provided by the beauty salon. Open-air massage and hair braiding are offered as well. (Surcharge for all spa treatments, beauty services, and hair braiding.)An air-conditioned, fitness center with mirrored walls contains cardio and weight machines as well as free weights. Within the resort are jewelry, clothing and gift/sundries shops. The resort purifies its water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Royal Solaris Caribe
Solaris Resort Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing