We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was our first all inclusive family vacation and it was amazing! Ivan, Alex, Roheighlio, Henry and Sergio were amazing! Always a smile and always great service! Loved being there inthe low season as the kids had the pool to themselves for the most part and we never had to wait. THe resort could have had a few more staff on and there could have been more activities for the kids but we understood it was low season and we were on vacation so not in a hurry. Sunset Lagoom was perfect for our family vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
We want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your family vacation. We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience.

We will share your kind compliments with our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to offer you another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    572
    182
    96
    102
See reviews for
816
560
47
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

While Premier Vacations may claim this resort to be a 4 Star it's not quite there . 3 to 3.5 Star resort at best. It's older style villas add a certain charm to the resort. The true value is in the amazing sunsets, request a room overlooking the lagoon and every night you will see amazing sunsets. Service is good, the food is good although the a la carte restaurant is closed Sunday thru Tuesday's .
Fabian was super friendly and a real nice guy, helping us with our bags and anything else that we needed. The staff was pleasant , rooms where kept clean room service requires some work however. One night we ordered room service at 10:15pm and it NEVER came. 2 days later we tried it again and it was there inside if 20 minutes .. Go figure

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Sunset Lagoon.

We look forward to your next visit and we recommend you to treat yourself to a spa vacation and benefit from modern technology and Mayan wisdom at our Ya´ax Ché Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

very happy with the resort. We travelled independently using Best Days shuttle service from the airport, very reasonably priced and prompt!!.We did a couple of trips booked through the resort,Chichen itza was good value, Isle of Mujeres was very entertaining, but snorkelling time was quite short, other passengers who had been with other companies thought they were better and had more time.

The resort staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to provide a good service, special mention must be made of

Rogelio at the pool bar, he made several excellent cocktails many to his own recipes

Francisco who served us very well in the dining room

Eunice who welcomed us to the dining room and ensured that we had a good table and were comfortable throughout the meal.

Ivan the " wet sport" man!!!! must be praised for his patience in teaching the husband how to handle a catamaran and helped him in when he became " becalmed "!!!!!!!!

The resort was well situated by the lagoon and it was a pleasure just to sit and look out, we used the inter connecting transport to visit the sister resorts and enjoyed the Sunset Royal very much mostly getting there by speed boat across the lagoon.

We opted for all inclusive and felt it was well worth it, especially if you enjoy a cocktail or two.

Colin and Jackie ( Robin Hood and Maid Marian )

Room Tip: try and stay away from the boiler room end at lagoon level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

Sunset Lagoon is in an ideal location for a convenient Cancún vacation, featuring easy access to its sister hotel Sunset Royal, which we are happy to read you had the opportunity to experience.

We will share your kind compliments with our staff and we thank you on their behalf.

We trust you had a comfortable trip home and we all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is my very first time in Cancun and I want to thank all of the crew at the resort for making an unforgetable trip!
When we first arrive (my mother, brother and I), we were greeteed at the door, keys were given and taken to our rooms. We got all inclusive packages through Expedia and those were the best!

Ruddy, Seferino, Christian, Mr. Arias, and the whole crew went out of their way to make us feel home and they succeeded!

The place is beautiful, quiet and you are looking for rest, this is the place to be. It is right next to a beautiful lagoon,, the beach is within walking distance and if you choose, you can be taken by by shuttle or boat to another of their resorts and have a great time at the beach.

The resort has a very busy schedule to keep you busy! The same hotel has boat rides where you can do several of their trips and their concierge service were great to us!

The food at their three restaurant was just incredible, plus they have room service. Their bars are a bit limited, but you can always ask and you will be surprised what they can do for you. Same goes for their restaurants, if you do not see it in the menu, it doesn't mean that they can not do it. So my advice is for you to ask and be bold!

Food was superb! I was only there for 4 nights and 5 days. Now, I'd wish that I could have done the 7 day trip.

Bottom line, the service was incredible, the food was superb, the view were great and I felt so welcome that I want to go back! I miss the people, the food, and the quality of their service!

In my book, I winner all around!!!!!

Room Tip: I was in the 500 rooms and they were so quiet that I couldn't believe it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
We thank for your review and comments provided which help all the Trip Advisor followers make the right decision when it comes to choosing the resort for their vacation.

We are very glad to know that we have impressed you with our professional services provided by our amazing staff. The perfect breathtaking views of this tropical paradise are the promise of your dream vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Recently returned from a two week break - one week here and one week at Sunset Royal. My wife and I could not fault the property, the food, the cleanliness and in paricular the staff who were extremely friendly and nothing was too much ytouble. Would like to thank in paricular Fabian (Bell Boy) Arturo (Concierge) and Martine and Orlando (Captain and Crew of Hercules). We hired a motor yatch for the afternoon and were given a wonderful time, my wife in paricular loved the sight of a pod of dolphins in the wild. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_G1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
We would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent Cancun vacation. We are very pleased to read how our staff assisted you in having a memorable vacation experience. We would like to inform you that all staff members mentioned on this forum receive a special participation during our monthly celebration of quality service. Once again we thank you for your comments and hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartsville, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I had a great time at the resort the staff was great and they were very helpful in learning my way around Cancun. The resort was great along with the facilities. Rudy provided always had a smile and a great little magic trick. It was very comfortable and relaxing visit. Several things that I did for the first time and met several new people along the way. One of the most relaxings vacations that I have every had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Sunset Lagoon the first week in October. It was their slow season and was very quiet, but the staff never slowed down. It was very peaceful and private, but we were also able to go enjoy the beach, shopping and nightlife of Cancun. Our week was perfection, we were sad to leave!

Rogelio was great at the pool bar!! He made exotic and classic drinks to perfection! Francesco was always waiting on us at the buffet or pizzeria and filling in at the bar, a man of all trades who was always smiling and always helpful.

We enjoyed the buffet, room service and the Italian restaurant, but by far our favorite was the pizzeria!! Our only complaint was that it wasn't open EVERY day or enough hours! There were several choices of thin crust, personal pizzas, our favorites were the Eastern pizza and the Mexican pizza!!

We enjoyed massages and a pedicure at the spa, very relaxing! We also took a tour to Isla Mujeres, what a fun day!!!! This week had the perfect blend of relaxation and fun!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a suite on the ground level with a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
We are very glad to have been able to provide an excellent and peaceful vacation and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay!

Thank you for your great feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#59 of 175 in Cancun
2,608 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#39 of 175 in Cancun
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing