We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service at the Sunset Marina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #30 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service at the Sunset Marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just spent a week at the Sunset Marina Resort. When can we go back?

Here's the highlights:
1. Great staff. Saw the same people each day. Always polite ... very service-oriented. Jose Luis remembered who we were after the first day, and watched out for us the whole week. Our room service, Francisca, filled every request promptly, left our room clean, and added a professional, personal touch to her work. And Juan Jose was approachable, easy to talk to, and clearly loved his work. They all treated us with "carino".
2. Lots of things to do. Loved riding bikes. Swimming. Kayaking in the bay (where we saw all sorts of wildlife). Spa. Volleyball. Great evening shows. Easy boat and bus access to a sister resort with beach access (although I felt the customer service was better at the Marina). Or just laying around on a beach chair, hammock, seaside hot tub ... lots of quiet nooks and crannies with great views and lots of privacy. We didn't take advantage of the water aerobics, pilates, or other group activities you could add to the list. None of these so big that you feel lost. Very personable.
3. Great rooms. Private views. Couldn't hear much noise from surrounding rooms, and heard no traffic noise from the nearby Blvd Kukulkan. Easy to get a good night's rest. Ours had a small kitchen, where we prepared many easy meals when we didn't want to eat out. Always hot water. Clean and comfortable.
4. Easy bus access. Very close to bus stops. It was easy to get to anywhere within the Zona Hotelera or pop into town.

Only one wish: they seemed to be having some trouble with their wifi access while we were there. It improved towards the end of the week, but I wish that had been better.

Had a great time. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    519
    171
    91
    97
See reviews for
722
502
44
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had the perfect winter escape from ice and snow at Sunset Marina. The resort such is affiliated with the Sunset Royal, Ocean Spa, Sunset Fisherman and Tres Rios is the perfect size for us. We know the staff well. They treat us like family. We especially want to thank Elie, Benny and Ivan who kept us busy day and night with excerise classes, beach volleyball water aerobics bingo and bartentening lessons. We painted ceramic keepsakes, used the complementary kayaks and hobiecats and bicycles. The food in the pergola restaurant was always healthy plentiful and flavorful. The restaurant staff of Eunice, Rudy, Francisco,and Sergio kept our drinks and cappichino replenished at every meal. Finally we would like to thank Lesly, Cruz and Cruz who delighted us with an immaculate room and towel and bed art. Ana our conciege did a great job of making arrangements for side trips and restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious - the studio could easily hold a family wit one or two small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliedetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time and attention to share your kind compliments on the hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We feel really proud and honored reading your comments which we will be very pleased to share with our staff.

Please consider us to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Sunset Marina in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just arrived home after a two week stay at our timeshare resort in Cancun. This is a family oriented resort that prides itself on excellent and personalized service. This villa type condominium style hacienda hotel and resort is nestled on a nicely gardened lagoon and marina framed property. My family and I had a fantastic and relaxing vacation while enjoying Cancun and the surrounding excitement found in abundance in Quintanaroo. We stayed between January 25th and February 8th and the only thing that outshone the relentless sunshine and our continual warm welcome was the abundance of Ola's and Buenos Dias greetings from morning till night. A special thank you to Vania in the kids club for all of the time and attention she invests in making sure the kids are having a great time. The serving staff in the buffet must also be mentioned as they don't leave you waiting for anything, Rudy, Gonzalo and our favourite waiter Sergio also claim extra mention as they are extremely personable, friendly and proffesional. Thanks to all whom ensured my family a picture perfect and fantastic winter getaway. Gracias mes amigos!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite that doesn't back onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I am a 10 year member and owner of the Presidential Suite, Gold Season (which is for sale now) and have only not been able to visit the resort 1 year. For some reason, back in 2006 an apparent clerical error caused that year's maintenance fee to not be used. Not researching the bowels of this company's website, I did not realize this clerical error. I happened to see the error this year when planning a holiday for a group of 4 couples and wanted to secure a second suite and asked a manager - Danny - to apply this coming June's visit to week-2006. Never admitting any error or fault, he would only permit the use of 2006's week if I paid them an additional $266. Assigning the fault to me and the typical "read the contract" mentality, I am forced in to paying these guys the money. I am bringing 6 of my friends for holiday and will let them make up their own minds as to what to think about this company, but no one is impressed. I like the quite property, not a lot of loud partying but have had several scheduling problems. One year, the resort was closed for renovation, I only found out about it when the taxi cab driver dropped us off at the Sunset Royal (??) (their sister location over on the ocean side). That place was like staying in a motel - Party town Mexico! I have never felt it necessary to waste my time to write up this kind of a review before, but here we are. Bad form guys, bad form!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Rudy the lunch service assistant was fantastic. He was so helpful to get drink orders for our large group while having a quick lunch before our yacht cruise. He helped the waiter get our meals to us quickly so we could make the cruise and he was very fun and entertaining also.
Thanks Rudy and the other wait staff at Sunset Marina. Looking forward to our next trip there!

Room Tip: Check out the pizza grill in the back and watch the sunset! The best place to end the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Left january 19th and stayed till february 2nd 2014, upon arrival at the airport we were greeted by a young man who took us to our hotel. The Sunset marina Resort & Yacht club when we first arrived we thought that it was very dated. We were then greeted by a very well mannered group of staff that made us feel welcomed. By the second day the staff made us feel like we were apart of a family. Very special thank you to ELIA and IVAN who did all the activities for us. Also a very special thank you to SEUIDEO, GERRY, and SEFERINO NAYELY, sorry if the names are spelt wrong. Also to the house keeping staff FRANCISCU ADE LLAVES who did a wonderful job in our room keeping it tidy and clean. Also to EUNICE who greeted us every morning at breakfast.The food there was excellent, entertainment excellent and drinks were delicious. All the staff were very courteous and helpful. And thank you to JUAN for explaining how the resort operated. looking forewarned to coming back.

Room Tip: The top floor has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Perfect Getaway. The setting is so picturesque it that you can't help but smile. Nice quiet setting with plenty to do. We sailed the little Hobiecats-Loved it! We also had reciprocity with the Sunset Beach resort so we could ride over and use the beach but return to the quiet of the Lagoon. Staff was amazing. Never had an empty drink if you choose. Food was amazing. Can't say enough. You can do as much or as little as you want. We did plenty of visiting with our friends and ate and drank like kings and queens. The staff, Fabian, Rudy, Pilar Rias, Everyone was amazing. Thank You for the service. Sunset- take good care your people, they are making your business.

Room Tip: We stayed with in double room suite with our friends. I think it was a honeymoon suite. Wow is all I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#56 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#59 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing