We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kathy and Lee Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Kathy and Lee Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a wonderful time and the service was excellent, we have gone this resort ten times. The staff is excellent and take care of us. Since we have been going over the years we have watch the staff get promoted and we get to know them. They never forget us and we don't forget them, we are treated like family. Also, over the past couple of years they have many upgrades to the resort. We want to personally thank Rudy, Sergio, Gabriel,Eunise, Gonzalo, Higinio, Francisco and Henri. I can't remember the the doormen but they have greeted us every time.. we have been there. Also, to our bartenders Servido and Rauol and the best pizza maker in Cancun, Iliana. Also, Ivan in activites who always has a warm smile and a get sense of humor. We have a special thanks to our friend Capiton: Seferino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyLee7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    540
    173
    93
    97
See reviews for
758
520
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

On our second trip to Cancun we stayed here, as one of several options with our time share. The hotel is clean, and all the staff is friendly.

Our housekeeping was superb, delighting us each day with newly and interesting towel creations, such as an elephant, mouse etc. as well as the more standard peacock in the shower.

Our meals at the buffet, which changes daily, were high quality. Ingredients were fresh, food selection was good, although more attention could be paid to salad options. The breakfasts were especially exceptional, as there was the option of traditional mexican breakfast options prepared in front of you. I really suggest trying "Sopes". I had to do a google search for the word, best breakfasts I've had ever!

Drinks were all-inclusive, and decent quality. Bartenders and entertainment staff was excellent. Pool was clean, although there is a bathroom/changeroom near the pool that is somewhat scary and seems to have been missed in the last several renovations!

When we arrived we were greeted like Princes and Princesses, given cool towels to wipe the sweat of travel from our brow and shown to a cool dimly lit restaurant with food available. It was nice not to stand at the front desk while being checked in, instead we felt like royalty, or honoured family!

The only two downsides were not really our hotel's fault. At one point we were (rudely) denied access to a floor at another Sunset property, which we were entitled to have access to. The problem was not being denied access, but the rude way in which it was handled.

Another problem was a certain nicety that was promised to secure our booking via our phone salesperson was misrepresented, and then the schedule at the resort was mis-managed. However, this was quickly made up and did not negatively affect our mood for our vacation for more than an hour or so.

The whole trip was fantastic, I can't wait to do it again next year. I will always choose to stay at this location vs the Sunset Royal, which is another option we have. I'll go their to use their beach, but stay here where it is calmer, quieter, friendlier and more chill.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the lagoon are nicer, although they have more obvious foot traffic outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed at the Ocean Hotel & Spa but on Sunday March 16th we were treated to a perfect Lobster Dinner at the Marina Grill.The dinner was amazing and the service was well the best I have ever experienced. I have never had lobster before and believe me I will have it again . Every thing was perfectly presented down to the dessert. Our wine glasses were never empty the whole dinner. After dinner we stayed for the show and completed our excellent evening. I plan on visiting Cancun again and I will be staying at the Sunset Marina indeed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We always go to this resort and use it as a jumping off spot for our excursions. Lower keyed resort on the Lagoon side and is great for relaxing. When we arrived we were greeted by our bellhop Fabian, who always looks after us! He is friendly and really jumps to the job when you arrive. We also thoroughly enjoyed our pool waiter Efreen. Always with a smile and ready to get you any concoction you wanted! Along with Raul, Carlos and the rest of the staff it was another wonderful trip! Thanks you guys!! see you next year!

Room Tip: When staying here, ask for a room on the second or third floor facing the lagoon. Great view from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boileau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family and I had a wonderful time at the Sunset Marina. The food is always so good, fresh, healthy and plentiful. We were travelling with a 9 month old baby and the staff was so attentive to his and our needs. Thank you to the bell boy Fabian, the dining room staff Rudy, Janey, Juventino, Zacarias and so many others. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: No matter what accommodations they offer you, you will be pleased. We had a studio and it was big a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Giving this resort a five star really doesn’t give a true picture. Over-all the resort is a five star. The rooms are around a four star. The view on the waterslide was outstanding with a Jacuzzi on the patio which you can’t beat. It was the customer service that was so great. I can’t say enough about the manager Alberto. I’ve been to many resorts and he is on the top. He would go out of his way to greet you with your name and if anything was wrong, he made sure it was fixed. Alma at the first desk was always there to give me the information I needed. Everybody goes the extra step to make you feel like this is your home away from home. If you are interested in a party resort, this is not for you. If you are interested in a family environment where everybody is kind and helpful this place it top. Also I loved the water taxi to the other Sunset resorts. There are also great activities. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get one on the lagoon side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reachcerritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Two people made the trip great Efreen at the pool who took great care of us every day, never even needed to ask for our drinks always had them ready without asking the entire week. Always had a smile. The other person was Francisco Nolt Cinac from housekeeping, she as great. Took care of our room early, made beautiful towel people for us everyday and one to take home. And from talking to people around the pool this did not happen to everyone.

As far as the rest of the place, it was alright nothing to write home about. Only place you could get internet was in the lobby funny to watch everyone in the one spot in the small lobby, come on its 2014. Food , this say you ate as long as you didn't order room service for when we did it never came, nothing great, but we didn't get sick. We had fun, relaxed but won't rush to go back.
One thing we would say, when we told them we did not want to go on their time share tour they said ok and left us alone, that was nice only one no not like other places.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#42 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing