We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #30 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comments”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The food is good and the buffet service. The rooms are very spacious with all necessary services and comfort further. The attention is constant, however sometimes seems slightly excessive. And finally we can say that seeks to have varied activities that invite residents to participate and maintain a active environment in the hotel, although it is not very big.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    567
    179
    97
    101
See reviews for
795
549
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I would like to thank all the staff at the Sunset Marina for their upbeat cheerful and efficient presence. Our room was kept perfectly by Monica. The Italian restaurant had great food served by the wonderful waiters,Henri, Miguel and their assistant Roberto. I found the buffet very good and the staff were super. Thank you Enrique, Selgio, Gonzalo, Francisco, Higino, Dalia, and Rudy.
I would especially like to thank Alba, at the front desk; she helped us figure out day trips and was generally totally loveable and very accomodating.
It was the best holiday we have had in years. We bought a sliver of a time share and have no regrets. The sales people (Jose and Hans) were very gracious and kind.

Room Tip: Rooms on one level are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegmcshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Drum, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here, staff is so friendly! The VIP service lady is amazing so helpful and always has a smile on while helping you! Aldrin cocina makes the best breakfast! Loved seeing her every morning! So worth every penny we spent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzymay616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thank you Sunset Marina for another fabulous family holiday. Definitely the place where amazing memories are born :)  I can’t wait for our next visit!

Our room was very comfortable and clean. There is a drug store/convenience store across the street. If that isn’t enough, a quick boat ride or shuttle bus the Sunset Royal brings you closer to more shopping, including an outdoor market.

A huge THANK YOU to those who made our holiday even more enjoyable :) They are truly a team! A team that every player should be mentioned...
Fabian helped us with our luggage on both our arrival and the sad day, when we had to leave. Alma at the front desk was very professional and excellent to deal with, a must have at your front desk. Vania in the kid's club, my kids loved to hang out with her. The Entertainment Crew...Alex, Ivan, Elie and especially Benny – my kids loved Benny. Crisal the lady that sings in the lobby was a pleasure to listen to her amazing talent.

We were always greeted with a smile and a wave at the Pizza Bar, by Servidio and Iliana, who I must add, makes the best pizzas around! We look forward to her pizzas made with LOVE, when we come back :)

So many of the staff in La Pergola made every meal so enjoyable..... We were greeted with a warm smile everyday by Hostess’ Janet and Delia . The Maitre Di – Alfredo always made us feel welcome and an omelet every morning prepared by Yanine Cocina was a perfect start to the day. Gonzalo, Fransico, Rudy, Sergio, Higinio, Enrique, Obed, Zacharias, Borman, Diego, Higinio, Sevideo, Miguel, Fidel, Gabriel all provided us with top notch service and Bartenders – Efreen, Carlos, Amedeo and Rauol made the most excellent drinks, along with great service from Nayelli.

Our room was always kept clean by Susanne, she left behind all sorts of towel animals.....nothing can describe the excitement my kids had when they found those towel animals on our beds! Our mini bar was kept stocked as well.

Alfredo in Management was always greeting us, even gave the kids a chocolate covered apple, which made their day! The service in La Vela from Henry Miguel was exceptional. The presentation that was done with our coffees after dinner was amazing and the lobster tail was to die for.

I do have a few things that I would like to suggest, for the better....

While we were there, amongst the constant touch ups, here and there, the bridge was redone. I would like to see the lights added back to where the stairs are, by the ramp. We loved to walk the dock after dinner at night and without the lights at the stairs, it was difficult to see where the stairs were.
The rope lights back along the dock and on the trees, I know they fail when the trees grow, but it looks so pretty ay night.
More sand brought in along the beach between the Pizza Restaurant and the staff parking lot.

We will definitely be back :) 

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

entertainment - Crisal (singer)
Elie
Benny
Alex
Lobby - Amedeo (bartender)
Pool Bartender (Efreen & Carlos)
Nayeli & so many others

All these people made our stay a great experience! One worth doing again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your fabulous comments. We do hope you will visit us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were so pleased to be at this resort. My daughters and I stayed at Sunset resorts for a week, and the service and attention we received was amazing!! We have to say thank you so much to all of the personnel because they are so friendly and service-oriented. They make you feel at home while always adding a special touch. We are going to miss them so much. We just got back, and we already miss them!!! Gracias Rudy, Obed, Enrique, Gonzalo, Sergio, Gabriel, Jose Cruz, Alba, Fidel, Miguel (the 2 of them), all the Chefs, Fabian, Sergio, Elie, Alex, Esteban, Luis y VANIA!!! . We love you guys - los queremos mucho!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. We actually had two rooms and used only one since they were so large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review on you recent stay at Sunset Marina.

We often receive great feedback about our staff and location, and it is very gratifying to hear first hand of our traveler's experiences.

We hope to see you back soon. Los queremos también!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for a week during Spring break. We are members. We would like to thank Francisco in the wet bar he was excellent making our drinks and always knew what we wanted and how we liked it and always remembered our names. We were sad to say good- bye to him. The Marina Grill was fantastic. Elietain was wonderful instructing water aerobics. Alex was great including everyone in activities and introducing shows we had the pleasure of doing Earth Hour when we were there great fire show. On the last night after the evening show Alex thanked everyone for coming and even went around and personally shock our hands to say good bye. This was appreciated and we look forward to seeing these three wonderful staff when we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience the celebration of the Earth Hour and that your stay with us was to your expectations.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#40 of 175 in Cancun
1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing