We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having been in Cozumel only two months prior on a group diving trip, I had my own preconceptions of what Cancun would offer our family: access to beach frontage, plentiful food, and a bustling army of staff constantly in motion. What we encountered did not disappoint. Dalia greeted us with a smile at "desayuno", Obed proffered cappucino (excellent), and Rudy engaged my wife and 4-yr old with warm energy each mealtime where we always found exceptional quality and quantity of food. We especially enjoyed the slide that brought our smiling child down to a larger family pool area and Vainia at the Kid's Club! Juan and his staff were unflappable as we made minor tweaks throughout the weeks' schedule, recommending the Isles de Mujers catamaran tour for one day and the Jungle Tour for another. Daily maid service, water-taxi to the Royal, front desk staff all exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Two b/r if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent a week at the resort looking to purchase a time share. Our overall experience was enjoyable. We went on a jungle tour through the resort and thought it was a lot of fun, but while snorkeling the "wildlife" was sparse. The pool and swim up bar was excellent and our bartenders Carlos and Efreen went above and beyond for us. Elliot our activity director was awesome but Benny was annoying. The resort was overall a good experience and we did end up buying a time share there. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our family spend a week in this quiet Hotel, and loved it. The whole staff at Sunset Marina & Yacht Resort made our stay a wonderful experience. The professionalism, respect, kindness and team work made our family vacation, one to remember for years to come. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. They were all always cheerful and helpful.
Shout out to:
Alberto Lujan
Seferino
Sevideo
Raul
Zacarias
Gonzalo
Aurora
Aldry
Janet
Roberto
Enrique
Francisco
Ivan
Amadeo
And Awesome singer Crisal
Gracias amigos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horacio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent a week in this hotel with my mom, my aunt and my sister and it was just great. Relaxing, nice food... a lot of it, the rooms are old-stylish but really confortable, clean and nice. Fidel, Yacarias and Miguel Martinez were so funny, helpful and kind to my family making them have a great time at the hotel.

Just an issue with some money of my aunt.. so I would encourage everyone to use the safety box.. all the time. The manager couldn't give the money back to us but he got an offer at the spa for my aunt and my sister. We came back to Colombia really happy and relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the lagoon ar great because of the view and the inner yard with an outdors Ja...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juankorozco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Overall it´s a nice family, quiet hotel.

ROOMS: nice space, decoration, big beds, coffee machine, microwave, small refrigerator, and oven. Most kitchen things (except tea spoons, we didn´t have and didn´t ask for one). This is an All Inclusive hotel and as such, has the refrigerator stock daily. However, don´t go with high expectations. You will only get 3 sodas, 3 beers, 3 water 1 juice. Yes, the room is for two but they put you this, and they CAN´T put an extra beer. So, you need to take out this things if you don´t consume, keep them somewhere else and put it back after they do the room. They always forget something, or the coffee, etc etc, just call reception and they will bring it.

FOOD: amazing breakfast with eggs, bacon, fruits, cereal, etc. Don´t expect more than 1 or 2 yogurts, and if the salmon plate gets emty, come back next day early, they don´t put more. Try the green juice, it´s incredible. Lunch and Dinner, sometimes is good sometimes very few options. If you are Mexican maybe you like what they put, but otherwise, you don´t always have many options. Lunch and Dinner are not a must here. We complaint once to the Captain, he really put his hands on and improved the next day. If you don´t like something tell them, they trie to imrpove.

NIGHT SHOWS: very good for a hotel, try to be there wednesdays (mexican show) and fridays. The "Wellcome Party" on Sunday.... if you miss it... you don´t miss anything.

RESORT TYPE: it´s a family place and you will find a quiet place to rest, read, etc. If music it´s too loud, just ask to them to put it lower. You won´t find drunk people bothering or anything like that. If you have kids, it´s a good place to go. Lagoon, outside you´ll find many signs saying carefull with the crocodriles, so ... we didn´t do kayak or anything in that water.

TRANFERS: they have free transfer by boat to the other Sunset from the morning to 3pm, at least one time do it, goes all through the lagoon. If you are coming back from the Sunset Beach to the Lagoon, don´t take their bus, take the public bus for 1 dollar each. You will save 35 minutes, go ask if they drop you off at the Riu Caribe and you are across the street.

WIFI: incredible, it´s the only place I know this days that says "5 start" that doesn´t have WIFI, except in the lobby. For us is a breakdealer, we sometimes have to do some work and doing it in the lobby full of other people everywhere trying to get wifi, anoying. If don´t need WIFI, you will be fine. Belive me when I tell you nowhere except the Lobby.

Great Pool, I wouldn´t buy any of the tours there, we got better deals almost everywhere else. One good point was when we did check out at 10am, they left us until 1 pm and they gave us a cortesy room for 30 minutes to get a shower (horrible room, but was just for a shower)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the ground floor have little yacuzis, if they give you room 501 or the one next...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FacundoBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The people at the resort are great. Management seems to have clamped down on amenities. Can't even get a bottle of water at the pool anymore. Was assured that we had a ground floor, however when we arrived, none were available. The wine is now some generic local weasel ------.
Internet is only available in the noisy lobby. I think that they save on electricity by turning off the air conditioning at night. The bedroom sure gets warm in the middle of the night. If Sunset management wants our business they better improve the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we got back in march and this hotel is just great only thing is its more for owners of timeshare but if you can stay here its well worth it the entertainment team benny elie ivain are just brilliant the kids entertainer vania has a permanent smile on her face and they all make you feel welcome the bar staff can't do enough for you ask francisco to make one of his cocktails there good the restaurant staff are very helpful so if you can't find something to eat just ask them and they will cook you something else the rooms are very clean and the fridge is topped up daily with drinks all in all we stayed here for 10 days and would have loved to stay more its one of the best places we have been to foods great drinks are great plus if you do the tour you can get a wristband for all inclusive at the other hotels

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 176 in Cancun
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 176 in Cancun
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#54 of 176 in Cancun
2,729 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £100 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing