We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,659)
Filter reviews
2,659 results
Traveller rating
1,416
754
251
116
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,416
754
251
116
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla velalagoon sidesister hoteltime sharejose luisrestaurant staffocean spapool barall inclusive packageshuttle busactivities staffwater aerobicsspecial thanksthe entire staffisla mujeresthe wait stafffamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,265 - 1,270 of 2,659 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent a week at the resort looking to purchase a time share. Our overall experience was enjoyable. We went on a jungle tour through the resort and thought it was a lot of fun, but while snorkeling the "wildlife" was sparse. The pool and swim up bar was excellent and our bartenders Carlos and Efreen went above and beyond for us. Elliot our activity director was awesome but Benny was annoying. The resort was overall a good experience and we did end up buying a time share there. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our family spend a week in this quiet Hotel, and loved it. The whole staff at Sunset Marina & Yacht Resort made our stay a wonderful experience. The professionalism, respect, kindness and team work made our family vacation, one to remember for years to come. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. They were all always cheerful and helpful.
Shout out to:
Alberto Lujan
Seferino
Sevideo
Raul
Zacarias
Gonzalo
Aurora
Aldry
Janet
Roberto
Enrique
Francisco
Ivan
Amadeo
And Awesome singer Crisal
Gracias amigos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horacio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent a week in this hotel with my mom, my aunt and my sister and it was just great. Relaxing, nice food... a lot of it, the rooms are old-stylish but really confortable, clean and nice. Fidel, Yacarias and Miguel Martinez were so funny, helpful and kind to my family making them have a great time at the hotel.

Just an issue with some money of my aunt.. so I would encourage everyone to use the safety box.. all the time. The manager couldn't give the money back to us but he got an offer at the spa for my aunt and my sister. We came back to Colombia really happy and relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the lagoon ar great because of the view and the inner yard with an outdors Jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juankorozco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Overall it´s a nice family, quiet hotel.

ROOMS: nice space, decoration, big beds, coffee machine, microwave, small refrigerator, and oven. Most kitchen things (except tea spoons, we didn´t have and didn´t ask for one). This is an All Inclusive hotel and as such, has the refrigerator stock daily. However, don´t go with high expectations. You will only get 3 sodas, 3 beers, 3 water 1 juice. Yes, the room is for two but they put you this, and they CAN´T put an extra beer. So, you need to take out this things if you don´t consume, keep them somewhere else and put it back after they do the room. They always forget something, or the coffee, etc etc, just call reception and they will bring it.

FOOD: amazing breakfast with eggs, bacon, fruits, cereal, etc. Don´t expect more than 1 or 2 yogurts, and if the salmon plate gets emty, come back next day early, they don´t put more. Try the green juice, it´s incredible. Lunch and Dinner, sometimes is good sometimes very few options. If you are Mexican maybe you like what they put, but otherwise, you don´t always have many options. Lunch and Dinner are not a must here. We complaint once to the Captain, he really put his hands on and improved the next day. If you don´t like something tell them, they trie to imrpove.

NIGHT SHOWS: very good for a hotel, try to be there wednesdays (mexican show) and fridays. The "Wellcome Party" on Sunday.... if you miss it... you don´t miss anything.

RESORT TYPE: it´s a family place and you will find a quiet place to rest, read, etc. If music it´s too loud, just ask to them to put it lower. You won´t find drunk people bothering or anything like that. If you have kids, it´s a good place to go. Lagoon, outside you´ll find many signs saying carefull with the crocodriles, so ... we didn´t do kayak or anything in that water.

TRANFERS: they have free transfer by boat to the other Sunset from the morning to 3pm, at least one time do it, goes all through the lagoon. If you are coming back from the Sunset Beach to the Lagoon, don´t take their bus, take the public bus for 1 dollar each. You will save 35 minutes, go ask if they drop you off at the Riu Caribe and you are across the street.

WIFI: incredible, it´s the only place I know this days that says "5 start" that doesn´t have WIFI, except in the lobby. For us is a breakdealer, we sometimes have to do some work and doing it in the lobby full of other people everywhere trying to get wifi, anoying. If don´t need WIFI, you will be fine. Belive me when I tell you nowhere except the Lobby.

Great Pool, I wouldn´t buy any of the tours there, we got better deals almost everywhere else. One good point was when we did check out at 10am, they left us until 1 pm and they gave us a cortesy room for 30 minutes to get a shower (horrible room, but was just for a shower)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the ground floor have little yacuzis, if they give you room 501 or the one next to it, there will be always cleaning thing blocking the entrance you will have to move. Lagoon view it´s better, the other view is horrible.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FacundoBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The people at the resort are great. Management seems to have clamped down on amenities. Can't even get a bottle of water at the pool anymore. Was assured that we had a ground floor, however when we arrived, none were available. The wine is now some generic local weasel ------.
Internet is only available in the noisy lobby. I think that they save on electricity by turning off the air conditioning at night. The bedroom sure gets warm in the middle of the night. If Sunset management wants our business they better improve the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews