We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #30 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We felt we had personal attention for everything. The pool with bar was extremely friendly and fun. The boat transportation to and from the sister hotel with large beach was a great extra. We used it everyday.
Elie ensured we were entertained always and Helena ensured we had the best care and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Marina and the opportunity to visit sister hotel, which has one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in the Mexican Caribbean.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next trip to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    572
    183
    96
    103
See reviews for
819
560
47
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Check in the property with no problem. However, after 2 nights, air conditioner broke down, had to wait for someone to fix and was unable to. Got transfered to a different room after 2 hours. On the third day of breakfast, an eaten pit of some sort from a fruit was in my hot cereal mixed with raisins, thought it was raisins and bitten on it (see picture), notified server. However, the restaurant manager did not come nor the general manager. Beach area needs to be improved. Good swim up bar. Rooms are spacious. Probably will not be back again.

Room Tip: Request a waterview room facing Lagoon, otherwise, your room will be facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunset34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We regret to read that your experience was not of the standard we strive for. We appreciate all feedback as a powerful tool to assist us in our continuous efforts in service improvements. All failings are thoroughly investigated and acted upon to avoid repetition.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This quite, relaxing resort has the most wonderful pool and beach area! It is just beautiful with a deep upper pool with swim up bar, waterfall drop to the lower pool and wonderful options for pool side shade or sun. You can enjoy hammocks on the beach and comfy couches and chairs overlooking the water. The staff at the pool area, bar and beach restaurant were awesome! The entertainment team lead by Elie were the best! Fun and engaging! They made you feel so welcome! What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

Sunset Marina distinguishes itself by providing all the services of a large resort with the intimacy of a small hotel and we are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed it.

We will be happy to welcome you back, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

lots of extras and special touches received throughout our stay and a far superior room than we were anticipating. they always made sure we were looked after and we felt that they appreciated our business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our distinguished guest and appreciate very much your kind words.

We will be happy to welcome you back to your home away from home on your next trip to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We are in our early 60's, and loved Sunset! It was quiet, clean and the staff was great!
We had a 1BR and it was very large with a jacuzzi.
We did not do the AI as we like to explore restaurants in the area.
The shuttle took us down to the main hotel where we could view the ocean, eat, drink, and spend the day.
We used the public bus to get wherever else we wanted to go. (very cheap)

Room Tip: When we go back, we would love to have the very far end facing the lagoon. It was so beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Exceeding each and every guest’s expectations is our main goal here at Sunset Marina. We are pleased to read your kind words and thank you for sharing them. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel, food, wait and bar staff were all amazing. My friends and I all had a really great time. The swim up bar was the best! The only problem we had was that my friend forgot to put her cell phone in the safe they provide one day and it was stolen form our room. Make sure you put your expensive things in the safe! Otherwise I love this hotel. It was very beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Unfortunately the weather was not cooperative, it rained most of the week so we had some problems with leaks in the resort and in our apartment. But the apartment itself was beautiful! it had 2 bedrooms each with a jacuzzi and 3 full size bathrooms. Beware of the elevators...my friend and i got stuck in the elevator and avoided it it the rest of the trip. The management did not seem to care that we were stuck and the alarm didnt work, we had to scream for help!! Not until we told the front desk clerk that we hadnt as much as received an apology for our inconvenience for getting stuck in a hot outside elevator did we get an apology.

I must say there we many good things about the resort and they were the staff!! They were such friendly and wonderful people that they saved the vacation! i wish i could name them all. the housekeeping staff made animals from towels, thank you Conchy. Jose Luis and Fabian were very helpful at reception, Rudy, Diego, Servidio and Zacherias could not do enough for us in the restaurant, and the although it was mostly buffet and 1 Italian restaurant they had a different theme for dinner every night at the buffet. Christian and Ephraim made the best drinks at the pool bar, a different "drink of the day" to try at the swim up pool bar or they would bring it to your chairs. Ivan was a great DJ and last but not least Vania, the recreation young lady became a very good friend!!

if it weren't for the weather and the elevator it would have been a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyd910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#59 of 175 in Cancun
2,615 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#40 of 175 in Cancun
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing