We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
grannl2008
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and staff”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

we stayed in a room on the street side. Asked for a lagoon view but the rooms on that side not as nice. Ours had 2 big bedrooms huge bathrooms living area had dining room table and mini kitchen. Refrigerator was stocked every day. all the staff went out of their way for us. Entertainment staff- Vania and Ivan made our stay wonderful. Always very helpful, made us feel like family.The wait staff went out of their way for us. rudy(thanks for the mangos), Sergo, gabriel,Francisco, Palia, Hginio, JuanDiego and more. whatever we needed was their for us. Efreen and Cristian at the pool bar were great. Food was great, wide variety.

Room Tip: lagoon side rooms not as nice as street side unfortunately; It would have been nice to have that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Team. We are confident that each staff member will delight in knowing that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    572
    183
    96
    103
See reviews for
818
560
47
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Johns, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went to Sunset Marina Resort and Yacht Club with family with kids of all ages and everyone had a great time. Staff works extremely hard to take care of every need. Elie/Ivan great recreational directors. Whatever activity you want to do, night or day they take care of and ensure you have a good time (and are decent volleyball players!). Wait staff at the pool, in the dining area were tremendous! They take care of all your needs, quickly. The food quality was very good, we did the all inclusive and there was a wide variety of options every day including multi action stations with every meal. The cleaning staff did an amazing job every day. We had some issues with the initial room A/C, however the manager moved us and set us up with massages to comp for hassle. The spa was very well run. Marco was very good at juggling our of our family spa needs and all 6 had great things to say about the massages they received. Aurora did a great job setting up tours. We did a time share sell, which resulted in a lot of tour value in return. The sales pitch was at Tres Rios - which was fun to visit for the family, but, as expected sales was over the top aggressive and very rude at the end. That is no fault of Sunset Marina staff. Would come back here again for sure.

Room Tip: would see if lagoon side room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I have been coming here for 10 years and will continue to do so. Yes, we are members and are very well taken care of as a result. The wait staff in the restaurant (Sergio, Brandon, Gonzalo) always remember my particular drink order and are quick to serve it to me at all meals. They also remember us from year to year which makes coming here feel like home.

They have updated the pool furniture since last year and I really liked the colors this year. As usual, the pool was awesome and I was able to relax.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 100 or 200 area as they are closer to the main area. But no room is that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We would like to sincerely thank you for your continued loyalty.

We appreciate your feedback .We love making great hotel experiences, and we hope to continue doing just that for you for many trips to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We felt we had personal attention for everything. The pool with bar was extremely friendly and fun. The boat transportation to and from the sister hotel with large beach was a great extra. We used it everyday.
Elie ensured we were entertained always and Helena ensured we had the best care and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Marina and the opportunity to visit sister hotel, which has one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in the Mexican Caribbean.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next trip to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Check in the property with no problem. However, after 2 nights, air conditioner broke down, had to wait for someone to fix and was unable to. Got transfered to a different room after 2 hours. On the third day of breakfast, an eaten pit of some sort from a fruit was in my hot cereal mixed with raisins, thought it was raisins and bitten on it (see picture), notified server. However, the restaurant manager did not come nor the general manager. Beach area needs to be improved. Good swim up bar. Rooms are spacious. Probably will not be back again.

Room Tip: Request a waterview room facing Lagoon, otherwise, your room will be facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunset34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We regret to read that your experience was not of the standard we strive for. We appreciate all feedback as a powerful tool to assist us in our continuous efforts in service improvements. All failings are thoroughly investigated and acted upon to avoid repetition.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This quite, relaxing resort has the most wonderful pool and beach area! It is just beautiful with a deep upper pool with swim up bar, waterfall drop to the lower pool and wonderful options for pool side shade or sun. You can enjoy hammocks on the beach and comfy couches and chairs overlooking the water. The staff at the pool area, bar and beach restaurant were awesome! The entertainment team lead by Elie were the best! Fun and engaging! They made you feel so welcome! What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

Sunset Marina distinguishes itself by providing all the services of a large resort with the intimacy of a small hotel and we are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed it.

We will be happy to welcome you back, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

lots of extras and special touches received throughout our stay and a far superior room than we were anticipating. they always made sure we were looked after and we felt that they appreciated our business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our distinguished guest and appreciate very much your kind words.

We will be happy to welcome you back to your home away from home on your next trip to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#57 of 175 in Cancun
2,612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#39 of 175 in Cancun
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing