We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They treated us like royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #30 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They treated us like royalty!”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My fiancee' and i just returned from Sunset Lagoon. The one thing that I really didn't like was that there is no ocean/beach here. There is the lagoon and it is pretty to kayak on but it is not an ocean. You can go to the Sunset Hotel and they have a great big beach and ocean and the transport is free. The all-inclusive was just that. The breakfast buffet was the best. French toast and fresh omelettes awesome!!! The other buffets are good too but it could use a little more variety. Pablo at the bar is so kind and friendly and helpful. I miss him already! All the staff were very nice and very helpful. We went with RCI timeshare group and we had to go to the 90 min. presentation which was like 3 hours. But once we said no, they pretty much let it go. I was concerned they would treat us not so nicely after we didn't buy but NOT SO! They were great. The pool is very well kept and the grounds are as well. Very pretty place. I would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    555
    176
    95
    99
See reviews for
777
538
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Sunset Lagoon was amazing, the staff couldnt be nicer, everyone had a great time, although if you get the all-inclusive deal the food is the same each night, and you'll get a free lobster dinner, the food at the lobster dinner was great but the service was very slow. The rooms at sunset Lagoon are large and spacious, any view you can have is amazing. The snack bar is very convenient, and the view of the lagoon is breath-taking,plus if you ever get bored at sunset lagoon you can always go over to the Sunset Royal, which is amazing as well.The dinner shows were fun. My family actually avoided the time share presentation scams, just say no, they'll leave you alone but just make sure to get the free jungle tour info.The thing we didn't like to much is when you check in, you are sat down in a resturant and you sit there and sit there, thats when they'll give you any needed info.Sunset Lagoon is very family-oriented and comfortable. My Family really enjoyed the vacay, and sunset lagoon, just keep an eye out there are alligators in the lagoon.go out see the sights of cancun, enjoy. enjoy your trip:D

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platte Center, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Air conditioner was loud, leaked and the main road was loud. Not a very good selection of food. They push their presentations and if you don't buy, you become lower class and they judge you. Its all about money to them instead of treating you as guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepercreeper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 6 October 2009
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we would like to mention that they are very valuable to us. In reference to your comments about the food I would like to express that the resort has two restaurants and two bars, you have the option of international buffets or a la carte. As part of the all inclusive program you also have access to our sister properties that also provide buffets and a la carte options; services which have received great reviews in the past on trip advisor and on our comment cards.
In reference to your comments about our vacation club I would like to apologize if you felt this way however our hotel operation and our vacation club is completely separate and if you happened to accept an invitation to attend our private viewing this is during your own time and if you declined the vacation club offer this in no way reflects on the service offered. As a guest of our resort you are entitled to the same service as anybody else. Once again I apologize if you felt this way and hope we can have the opportunity to have you as a future guest with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

First off, the staff and service at this hotel was awesome! Everyone was at your service and we truly had a wonderful time. We were in one of the upgraded rooms which had a nice layout but it was sort of old and smelled moldy inside. The kitchenette didn't serve much purpose as there were hardly any decent utensils or plates around. The cups etc were dirty and we had dishwashing powder but no scour so you had to use your hand! The coffee pot also was not very clean so we didn't use it. The floors were never mopped so we preferred to have our shoes on and we encountered some ant infestation when we left our juice glasses out. If you could live past all these shortcomings like we did, you could end up really enjoying everything else the hotel has to offer.

The timeshare presentation on the other hand was a real downer. The "90 minute" lingered on and on for 3-4 hours and even though we were very clear with our sales rep (Rodolfo) from the very beginning that we had no intentions of purchasing, he got really pushy at the end and started giving us the attitude. Then, he passed us over to his "manager" who hussled us for another half hour before handing us to one of the "hotel owners" who wasted another 20-30mins trying to find out why we didn't make a purchase. It was a total fiasco! From then on we saw Rodolfo almost everyday at the hotel but he totally had an attitude with us. We weren't too pleased with his customer service skills.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winendine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 6 October 2009
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to write this review and we would like to express how important these comments are to us since they give us the opportunity to receive feedback and follow up with them in order to correct them.
In reference to your comments about the cleanliness of the room we would like to apologize and we have checked as to why cleaning utensils and moping wasn’t being done. In reference to your comments about our vacation club presentation we would like to apologize if you felt it took longer and if our agent was rude. We have dealt with this issue to avoid for this to happen in the future. Once again we appreciate your positive comments about the property and hope we can have another opportunity to have you as a future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Went to Cancun for the first time with our three small children. Stayed here through RCI, and absolutely loved the accomodations. The staff was wonderful with the children, and we really enjoyed that it was a bit quieter than the Royal Sunset. We can't wait to go back, but we feel robbed by the Sunset affiliated timeshare sales people. After spending 5 hours in their "90 minute" presentation we bought a $5k timeshare that was supposedly returned from a guy in Panama, Of course, through the presentation we were told we could not come back to Cancun if we did not buy a timeshare due to NAFTA regulations, that we must sign the 7 day refund waiver (which did not find its way into a final paperwork), and that it is actually a timeshare. Apparently what we actually bought is a membership in their "VIP Travel Club" in which there is little availability in any month/any week to schedule the very room we stayed in (2 bedroom for the 3 kids), and of course limited ability to talk to a live person through their reservation system.. Could have been worse, they tried to sell us 8 weeks for ~$150k with a (guarantee) to rent back. Still, we loved the location and the non-sales staff were top notch. We are still trying to schedule a trip back through our club, but know to avoid the timesahre salespeople next time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venturer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIPTravelClub, Public Relations at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2009
On behalf of the VIP Travel Club, we would like to apologize for any inconveniance you have experienced. It is unfortunate that up until now you have had no complaints with our company or our services.
We invite you to contact our reservations department. Since our last email to you, where you were offered your size unit in a resort here in Cancun, we have not received any response. You can contact us via phone, email or live chat...whichever is most convenient for you.
We look forward to assisting you as a valued member of our club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport Ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We visited the Sunset Lagoon with our 2 twentysomething daughters and had a super time! The rooms were spacious and clean (although no way would the pullout futon-like couch be comfortable to sleep in for a week). The service was great and the food was pretty good..breakfast was awesome and the lagoon-side snack shack was fabulous...great guacamole and lunch. The hotel seemed to be geared towards families with children but our little adult group loved it as well. The activities staff (especailly Caesar..we miss him!) goes out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable vacation. We did not do the time-share thing and our refusal was taken with graciousness. It was nice to have the sister resort at your disposal as well, although the surf was very rough while we were there. If this place was located on a a nice calm tropical beach, I would have bought a timeshare there. Go for it and have fun..don't miss Coco Bongo..the staff takes you there and you are treated like a V.I.P.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I traded in my 5 star RCI Gold Crown resort in Cabo San Lucas for this 4 star resort which is supposedly Gold Crown. I am still trying to figure out how they managed to get this title as the facilities are quite far from what I would expect. The rooms are outdated, and the kitchen is a joke ( 3 forks, 2 spoons, 1 large knife, etc.). I was led to believe that our room had a sleeper sofa. Their idea of a sleeper sof a is a sofa that one can sleep on top of. There weren't any linens left and we had to go and get them ourselves. Their idea of linens means a flat sheet laying on top of the mattress. They don't even have fitted sheets on the bed. Every night, the sheet would shift and I would wake up in the morning with half of the mattress exposed which is just gross! That was not the only thing we had to go and get. We had to get towels since they were not replaced on a daily basis. We also had to bother the staff for a baby crib that I had reserved and inquired about two times before I even arrived. It finally came after 4 hours. Shouldn't that have been waiting in the room already???

Our first original room was a second floor room that had approximately 30 steps that one had to climb up. The most ironic thing is that the room was 2 floors and then required you to walk down 20 steps or so to get to the bedroom...this is not conducive with an infant!! We walked into the room and the maintenance crew was painting and said it would dry in 5 minutes!!! The smell was nauseating and as I noted above, with an infant this just would not work. They relocated us to another room on the ground level that was easier to access but still outdated.

The mess didn't end here...the air conditioning had something very wrong with it as a smell of septic would come out of the AC vent into the room. The smell was horrendous and started to occur halfway through our week there. It would wake me up out of my sleep. The smell was truly putrid! Next, we even had things taken from my room...be very careful what you bring with you as you have no control who is in your room when you are not there. I read another review that people would be outside your room making noise. That happened every morning! The cleaning ladies all seemed to park their cleaning carts outside of our room and talked. It would create an echo down our hall and wake all of us each morning.

Beware of their timeshare presentation. We went on it only to get some freebies as we knew we would not buy one. They tell you it is only 90 minutes. We were there for over 3 hours!!! They put high pressure sales tactics on you and are quite unhappy with you if you don't buy. The last salesman was rude and condescending...so much so that my husband complained and he is a very patient man.

Also, don't go in the pool!!! It was cloudy and even had algae floating in it on the last day we were there. They taped it off one morning so they could throw loads of shock in it. Anyone who has a pool knows that the chemicals need to be balanced and clearly their staff did not know how to maintain them. The pool area has mosaic marble pieces around it. Even though it looks pretty, wet marble is a recipe for disaster when it gets wet. It was like walking on grease. I would slip on it every day and I am truly surprised that no one didn't crack their head open on it when they slipped. It was so slippery that they would have a caution sign out every day!

If you are looking for a location that is quiet, this is, however, you aren't by beautiful water since this is the lagoon side. You would have to travel to the sister resort which is on the oceanside. The weather was consistently 80ish and enjoyable.

This resort does want each guest to take part in the all-inclusive at $95 pp/day. I did not and I am glad I did not. Personally, it is not worth the money. The food was very average when we did eat there, the frozen drinks have little to no alcohol in them and the so-called shows that they have only occured on two nights for the beach parties that the all-inclusive members get to watch. The last night of entertainment consisted of practically nude ladies and men dancing. The other night of entertainment was watching kids play, "Musical Pass the Hat" and watching audience members go up on stage and take tequila shots. The MC is full of life and quite personable. He does work hard and try to get people involved even though the shows were not appealing.

I would recomment the spa...great services at good prices. Go on Wednesday as they have $25 services that are worth it!

Overall, I would not go back again and would not give up the top-notch timeshare I already have for something very mediocre.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCraftGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#40 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing