We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for quick romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #75 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Delran, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for quick romantic getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

just returned from 3 night getaway! The Flamingo had everything we needed. The price was amazing. We had upgraded to the junior sweet when we booked and it was a spacious, clean, comfortable room that was on the beach level so you would open your back door and felt like you were actually on the beach. The location was perfect, a few minutes from the airport and across the street form a mall (we purchased all our souveniers) and Margaritaville and Bubba Gump bar/restuarant. The staff was very nice especially the bartenders and waiters. The food was delicious and since is was off season there was no problem getting a table. Since it was off season, the hotel was almost empty and they didn't have much entertainment but it was perfect for us. Most of the time we were at the beach, pool or pool bar or bar inside with only a few others. I was most impressed with the beach area was spacious (obviously they have done a lot of work) The water was beautiful and refreshing. I loved the Flamingo and highly recommend it for short getaways especially if you don't want to spend a lot!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenabean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    959
    617
    296
    304
See reviews for
586
979
108
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamtramck, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We went here to take a break from the long winter, the staff were nice but for some reason wanted us to leave our bags in the lobby whilst we took the 10 steps up to the counter to check in, turns out there was a ramp along the side of the steps that you use for your luggage, but they failed to point that out. Check in was swift, the room was spacious and clean, the beds large but quite soft.

We had a room facing the main street, which was ok except for at night when Margaritas bar kicked up the noise a little, so I would recommend the extra cost if you are noise sensitive or have early nights.

The food to my taste was very nice, always fresh and for an all inclusive I really did not expect any variety but again I was surprised,.

Access to the beach was easy though this hotel could definitely use an update to their beach chairs which are very hard, and some broken, this gets a little uncomfortable but you can collect pads from the beach towel area to rectify this,the only problem we incurred was that these pads were in short supply.

We did not partake in any poolside activities so I can not comment on that, but we did opt to book our tours from a separate vendor down town as I found the prices way better and to boot I did not have a pleasant time with the rather 2 rather pushy sales reps at the hotel. Oh and lastly unless you want to spend a day checking out the highly refined hotel next door then I would skip the greeting with the lovely ladies at the front desk, your phone will not stop ringing, well unless you plug it out like we did.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loriana99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The pictures say it all..
This was my first trip to Cancun, and my boyfriend's second visit. That should tell ya how intrigued and beautifully cultured this peninsula truly is!
The locals are all so welcoming, there isn't much of a language barrier because of all the tourism, most speak english. Truly a gem, I highly recommend this hotel simply because we got the best location on the BEACH, ON THE BEACH. I mean our patio was filled with sunshine and waves crashing each morning...ahh so peaceful! This review is getting me excited to go back asap! :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalarobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Flamingo for our honeymoon. We weren't exactly flush with cash, and my wife found this place on a great deal at Expedia. It's nestled about in the middle of the hotel zone which is a great location. We opted for the all-inclusive plan, which gets you meals and most drinks included. All the meals were quite good. Breakfast was my favorite, with a hot and cold buffet including made-to-order omelets. Lunch and dinner featured a different menu each day, with dinner themed (International, Mexican, Tex-Mex, etc.). Wait staff service was very attentive. Do have cash on hand for tips though, they really appreciate it.

The resort is small enough that employees recognize and get to know you, and you're never very far at all from the beach, the lobby, the pool or the restaurants. Hector at the swim-up bar deserves praise, great bartender and freshly grilled food served to you right at the bar, made to order.

Beach was great and sparsely populated during our stay (slow season). If you go, be sure to meet Daniel, their activities director. He's a very fun-loving 20-something who will set you up with activities around the resort and off, such as trips to clubs and restaurants. Also, Sergio (I think his title is 'hotel services') who has a desk right inside the lobby will help you find area attractions, give advice, book travel excursions and just all-around very helpful. Even gave us his personal cell number to call him if we were out and about and had questions.

It's CLEAN too. It was hard to not find people cleaning the resort. Windows in the restaurants and guest rooms were cleaned every morning, the floors including in guest rooms mopped daily. This hotel was cleaner than many mid to high end hotels I've stayed at in the United States. They even cleaned the ash trays daily and each morning they all had intricate designs in the sand, almost didn't want to put out a cigarette in them!

Easy to get around in Cancun from this location too. Bus R-2 passed by every five minutes or less which takes you up and down the hotel zone to malls, restaurants and clubs for less than a dollar.

They do have free WiFi in the lobby, but if you sit at the Albatross restaurant on-property, or nearby, you can also "borrow" WiFi from the neighboring resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy_Ringsmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just got back today, we had a great time it rained first day but after it was super weather, the hotel was great, the pools also, we really cannot complain, we upgraded to junior suite for our 40th anniversary, we will miss this place all inclusive is the only way to go, Brian.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottumwa, iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Once again we had a wonderful vacation at our favorite hotel in Cancun. I can't say enough good comments about the staff. This was our 13th visit to this hotel and seems each time it's better. You can't beat the location for sure. The hotel is small enough that makes the amenities very accessible. It was turtle season and enjoyed letting the babies loose on the beach at night with Jovanna's help. We are already making plans for a return in December.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_and_bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Well we wanted to find another 3 star resort and I think the Flamingo Resort will do the trick for those cheapie cheapie almost free trips!! We stayed at the Flamingo from Sept 4th – 11th and we upgraded to an oceanfront junior suite plus selected the all inclusive package mainly for breakfast and the alcohol. The resort was only 30% at capicity for the entire week and we really enjoyed that because we got to know the staff a little more and they really wanted to cater to the vacationers. The buffet restaurant was only open for breakfast and your lunch options was the pool grille or the beach restaurant. Dinners were only served in the beach restaurant but had a pretty good menu selection each night. We also had a great time releasing turtles on the beach at dusk a few nights.
GOOD: The staff was great, the location was perfect (Pat O’Brien’s, Margaretville, Bubba Gump’s, Flamingo Mall was right across the street on the lagoon side, the room was clean, our mini refrigerator was restocked everyday (refrigerators only in the upgraded rooms, Pepsi products, water and bottled Superior beer), the bed was not hard as a rock, the beach is beautiful, the food was good for what we paid, we really like having the ability to enjoy some snacks poolside (hamburgers, hot dogs, salsa/chips) in lieu always going into the restaurant for lunch, two pools (activity and quiet), nice swim up bar activity pool, free internet in the lobby, the resort was only 1/3 filled and they served draft XXX not Corona.
BAD: No in room safes in the upgraded rooms as they advertise on there website (had to use the lobby safe ($100 deposit on your credit card), lock it in your suitcase, or bring it alone with you the entire trip), the pool towels were pretty small, only had small bottles of shampoo (no conditioner) in your rooms so bring your own (we did), very conservative with the hand towels/wash clothes and not a very good selection of liquor without paying extra but still had Bacardi but rail vodka, whiskey and scotch.
OVERALL: Like to put out a big shout out to the Flamingo staff - Daniel the activity director (only person doing activities), Antonio, Miguel, and Hector our bartenders, all of the waiters in the buffet and the beach restaurant great job, the lobby personal and the housekeepers/grounds people. Also a big tequila shot for our new friends from Ohio, Iowa, Illinois, Utah, Canada and Brazil. For the price we would do this again next year during the Labor Day week for $87 pp per night which included our flight out of Madison, WI (saved us 1 hour of drive time each way if we selected a different airport), taxes, hotel shuttle, AI resort option, upgraded room to a junior suite.
RATING: A good lower 3 Star resort. I am comparing the Flamingo to the Barceló Tucancun. I think the Tucancun has better pool options (3), better ala carte options (2), nicer rooms, better breakfast choices, and some sort of entertainment at night. We did like the Flamingo’s swim up bar and lobby bar set up better than the Tucancun. Also the Flamingo has umbrellas and loungers on the beach. Any questions please PM us. Ted&Julie

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank backus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#60 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Property: Flamingo Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing