We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Holiday to Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Summer Holiday to Mexico”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent a few days in New York and added a week in Mexico to the end of our trip to unwind.

The Omni was a lovely hotel with good amenities. Our hotel room faced the Lagoon and didn't have a balcony - not a show-stopper but something that would have been good if we had known we could have asked about this. Ask for this if you want it!

The pool area and the variety of places to eat was good - never boring for our week! Recommendation: the sushi bar for lunch and Da Vinici's for dinner! The best part? The beach! The water and sand was lovely. We never got tired of the view and it was lovely to go swimming every day in that water. It really was beautiful.

We did a day trip to Chichin Itza which is well worth it and we did venture out to the market in town.

A note on Cancun - being so far out from the town doesn't not make it easy just to run out and have a look around. You are quite constricted to your hotel which we weren't used to and even when we did go in to town we were hounded by people trying to sell things which wasn't pleasant! Careful of those that lie to get you into random shops etc.

With this in mind it would be good if the Omni hotel bars were a little more lively and the entertainment upgraded so you could enjoy the evenings at the hotel a little more!

Nice hotel though - have fun!

Room Tip: Ask about one with a sea view and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,249
    1,765
    600
    265
    185
See reviews for
2,072
2,113
113
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I arrived on Sat 22nd September for an all inclusive ten night break. We arrived late on in the evening where we were greeted by a very courteous doorman who helped us with our luggage. We booked in at the front desk which was very nice and made so simplistic by a friendly lady who was most helpful! Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the sea with a superb view. Everywhere was clean and our mini bar was fully stocked daily with fanta, sprite, cola's, bottled water, fruit juices and Mexican beers. So we had plenty to keep us going. We ate every morning at La Palomas where there was so much buffet choices we felt spoilt for choice, all were delicious. In the evenings we ate also at La Palomas and Davincis which always provided great choices and delicious cuisine. Staff were always very helpful and friendly at all times. Pool side bars such as Kuku's, Viva Mexico and Pool Grill served lovely tasty meals and so much choice. All the pools were large and clean and our favourite was the swim up pool bar jacuzzi at Kuku's with that amazing view of the beach and blue sea, We spent quite a bit of time admiring the view whilst sipping a few Pina Colada's, this was absolute bliss! Can't wait to return in the future! Thankyou Omni!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room as high up as possible for a good clear view, we emailed in advance to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Is0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Spent two weeks all inclusive at the Omni Hotel, Cancun. At first we were apprehensive about going to this Hotel as our favourite The Great Parnassus was fully booked, however everything turned out excellent and in some case the Omni had advantages over the Great Parnassus such as more space at the pools and maybe the buffet restaurant was also better as far a service went due to the waiters looking after the guests, however i would say the entertainment and the number of restaurants along with the room sizes are better at the Great Parnassus. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and the staff at the Omni were outstanding in relation to service and friendliness. and as a resutl i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other guest.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the rooms and the views go, we prefer overlooking the lagoon as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DunsmuirGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have just arrived home from a 2 week all inclusive stay booked via Virgin at the Omni Cancun Hotel and wanted to just tell everyone how utterly fantastic it was.

The location is breath taking. Directly onto Cancun beach and a $1 bus ride from the busier part of the resort which to me is a result. The beach was stunning and was kept spotlessly clean and there were fantastic lifeguards covering the hotel which was very reassuring. One thing which made my trip special was the turtle eggs and seeing some just hatched turtles. Its fantastic.

The hotel itself isnt the largest along that strip of hotels but the area between hotel and beach is great. lots of places to find a spot. The public areas and rooms and generally everywhere was spotless and had a lovely clean smell about it. Our room was kept very well and it was on 19th floor with a lagoon view which was great. I never noticed any noise and enjoyed looking out over the lagoon and watching the speedboats etc. The room itself had a fabulous bed with pillow menu, a powerful shower and was spacious with the best aircon ever.

The food was outstanding. Particularly the Da Vinci and the Pina Colada. The Sushi bar was a fabulous touch and was so popular and delicious. The La Paloma for the main buffet restaurant was also excellent and we enjoyed everything we ate. I cannot recommend enough the pineapple and coconut pie in Pina Colada. Delicious. The drinks were brilliant. My first all inclusive resort to have premium brands. The cocktails were freshly made and not pre mixed like Riu hotels. The staff were incredible. Attentive, very friendly and genuinely nice. we didnt tip until the end of our holiday and unlike a lot of other hotels in the caribbean where staff expect tips, I very strongly felt the staff here didnt at all. The staff work so hard and always with a smile.

I think the hotel has something for everyone and it was a wide ranging mix of guests staying. I would recommend it to anyone and we will be returning and after speaking to other Brits in the hotel we made friends with, they all vowed to return as well as we all had amazing experiences.

The only thing i think might be good would be for the entertainment to be planned to run a little longer some nights as it finishes at 9.30. Not everyone wants to go to Coco Bongo every night!

As far as excursions went, we did go to Excaret! which was awesome and a very long day but one of the best excursions ever. We also booked through Virgin to go to Chichen Itza and were disappointed that our trip was messed up and no one came to pick us up. We had no time left to do it. We got a refund and complimentary V lounge in Cancun which would have been $30 each. Having experienced it I would never pay for it!

My holiday was sensational and that is really down to a fabulous location in Cancun and the brilliant Omni Hotel. Thanks you to the staff for making our stay so special and I can guarantee we will be returning.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LollypNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent a week at the Omni Hotel in Cancun. The one bedroom we stayed in had a king sized bed and a view of the beautiful turquoise waters of the Gulf. The staff was friendly, and tried to help even when they didn't speak much English. The food at the resort was also great, but pricey. The pools were clean and we always got a nice shaded spot because it was the off season. My only negative comment is their new coupon system. They are trying to encourage visitors to get the all-inclusive package (about $100 per day) so they implemented coupons. You want a drink? You need to get a prepaid coupon in the lobby first, so kind of an annoyance. All in all though, we had a fanatasic time just relaxing by the pool and working on our tans.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crb02c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Omni Cancun Guests,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on this forum. Your feedback is important for us in order to enhance the overall experience at our resort.
Since the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas has become a 100% All Inclusive operation, after offering both EP (no meals) and All Inclusive programs for the last 18 years, we have made some important changes to our offerings to be a full service hotel with an exceptional all inclusive that offers true quality and value. With this in mind, for guests who had already reserved without the all inclusive program and for our Vacation Club and Interval customers, we offered the option of prepurchasing meals through the coupon system. Your comments on this operation will help us better serve all our guests so that they may enjoy their stay at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas.
On behalf of all our Associates, we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back home to the hotel in the very near future.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Lovely hotel, amazing views across the ocean.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable, but did have a rather odd smell (damp?). The place is huge, which was rather impersonal but fine if you don't mind being in a large crowd. There are 2 pools and easy access to the beach, but we had to listen to loud bingo, which rather spoilt the ambiance.

Food in the restaurant was good and the buffett breakfast was amongst the best we've ever had.

However, despite all that, we found the resort bland, mile upon mile of similar hotels so you could have been anywhere. Lots of Americans so prices were all in US dollars!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pink999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

we stayed at this hotel for a month in November and the staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable.

Room

We initially had a room which faced the road and the noise of the desalination plant opposite meant that the balcony doors had to be kept closed. We asked to be moved and we were moved to a room facing the ocean immediately.

The rooms are huge with a really large balcony with plenty cushions and really nice seating. Each morning the newspaper was delivered to our room with fresh orange juice. Wifi was free and there was tea and coffee making facilities. We ate dinner in the room a couple of times and the food was wonderful, pipiing hot and plentiful.

There is a pillow menu to ensure you have the pillow to guarantee a splendid nights sleep.

Restaurants

The restaurant on the beach is open over lunchtime and serves the most amazing salsa, the food is great, the margharitas wonderful and the view breathtaking with pelicans flying by.

The poolside restaurant serves more americanised food, very hot, great service and tasty.

The hotel rtestaurant is self service, breakfasts are great with soo much choice, evening meals are really varied and very tasty - not sure about the 'mole' which are sort of black mashed up beans but that is about the only thing we didn't like. On thanksgiving it was traditional food and the restaurant was decorated.

the A La Carte is amazing, the bread is tremendous and the food really special but its the desserts that are out of this world especially the chocolate piano and the creme brulee.

Activities

not much on the activity front, I was hoping for arobics etc but it never materialised.

Bars

The hotel bar is really good, quite cosy and serves popcorn on demand which was a nice touch. the beach bar is for adults only and serves pretty cool cocktails.

General

Everything is really clean, plenty of sunbeds and beach towels are provided. There is a hairdresser, beauty salon and a gym.




the buffet restaurant is

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smedleyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 175 in Cancun
2,049 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.7 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Property: Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing