We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Resort-would go back! but.. GROUPON BUYERS BEWARE!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #39 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice Resort-would go back! but.. GROUPON BUYERS BEWARE!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I’ll start by saying that the Omni Cancun is a very nice resort. We stayed here from Nov 1- 8th 2013. We bought the 7 night all inclusive deal on Groupon and booked it a few months in advance. I’m going to say that upon initial impression at check-in I would have gave this resort a 1 star review but they did a great job at turning that around.

Upon arriving at the hotel they inform me that my reservation has been cancelled because Groupon has not paid them…. I understand that Omni and Groupon are two separate companies but to travel from Boston, MA to Mexico to find out my reservation has been cancelled without notice from the hotel is quite a horrible start to my vacation and a horrible first impression of Omni and this hotel all together. So Groupon buyers BEWARE..that was a stressful start to a vacation! To make a long story short the problem was resolved within a half hour. Another couple had been dealing with the same issue next to us and they were already on the phone with Groupon when we arrived so this expedited the resolution.

Things started to improve when we got to our room to find out we had been upgraded to a King bed, high floor, corner room (my preferences on omni select guest, but the groupon deal specifically said no upgrades). The room was spacious and was always kept clean, also there was a safe in our room which was nice. Our deck was large and had a beautiful ocean view. Ocean view rooms are great but not if you’re looking for sunsets, those happen on the other side of the hotel. We also got surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne, which showed that they were sorry about the bad start to our trip.

The food was surprisingly good for all inclusive, lots of variety. Both Da Vinci and Deva were definitely worth making reservations too. (Get the fried ice cream at Deva..delicous). The drinks were okay.. the best bet is to have them make you one of the popular drinks or a specialty because the ones I ordered that I would typically get at home were just okay, not great.

The time we went to the resort it was not very busy (Nov 2013) and getting a beach or pool chair was not difficult and the pools were not crowded. The swim up bar and swim up Jacuzzi were great… and the pools were very clean. Every day we were there the ‘Red Flag’ was out on the beach which meant it was not advised to swim in the ocean because of the rough waters. We did swim in it anyways and that was one strong current so be careful if you choose to swim in the ocean!!

We had a great week and there is a lot to do in/around Cancun (We went to Xplor and Xenotes). We watched a few of the nightly shows and they were pretty good, but we never went out to the clubs- they take you to a different one each night for a price. Also they have local artisans come and set up tables outside, some have very neat items but they really pressure you to buy something so be ready to walk away or they will continue to hound you.

The one thing I could not forget to mention is the wait staff/bartenders. They were fantastic; I have never had such great service before. I can’t say enough about them from bringing you drinks while in the pool or on the beach to all the suggestions the wait staff at La Paloma make.. and just how on top of it they are. They were such great workers, always willing to help out and they always had a smile on.

Overall great resort, and great staff. Could use some upgrades here and there but pretty good value and great food for an all inclusive.

Room Tip: High floor, corner room with an ocean view was fantastic- request to stay away from elevators as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,082
    1,688
    577
    247
    176
See reviews for
1,936
2,027
112
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for 6 nights/7 days from 11/13-11/19. We had a wonderful time! The staff was very attentive- there was always someone offering us food and drinks. We were traveling with a baby and she made a mess everywhere we went, but that was no problem b/c someone was always there to clean it right up! Everyone was very friendly and willing to go out of their way to make you happy.

The beach was beautiful- the waves were a bit rough though. Not really a good beach for kids, but there were plenty of pools on the resort so it wasn't really a problem.

Our room was clean and the benches on the balcony were a nice place to relax after we had the baby sleeping.

The food was great. Pina Colada is amazing for lunch. Da Vinci was a very nice restaurant for a nice evening out. La Paloma was a typical buffet all-inclusive type restaurant. But I was happy to have fresh fruits and veggies for the little one at any time.

Overall- we would definitely come here again. You cant beat the view and the cleanliness and attentiveness of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabnam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltaville, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Arrived on 11/14/13-departed 11/18/13: Used EXPEDIA--horrible experience. After long check in delay, due to booking error by EXPEDIA, went to 3 bedroom Villa. It was raining hard and the roof leaked. Taken to second Villa--worse leak than the first Villa. On to Villa number three, which was the last available unit. Guess what??--it also had a leak. The next few days were better(no rain) but the OMNI is in need of significant renovations, as the Villa units are "top of the line" at their facility. Other than the room problems, service/food/beach well above average..............

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

the hotel is ok, rooms are clean and staff is friendly. food is good overall, but could be much improved in deva and piña colada restaurants. viva mexico restaurant is great! from the moment you arrive in the hotel you will be harassed by staff triyng to sell time-share. beware.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Correa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything was tastefully done. Friendly and attentive staff, food and drink quality excellent, fine amenities. There is a nice early entertainment offering, but it's basically a classy mellow place. The pools and beach absolutely delightful. I never stopped saying "wow" every time I looked out of my ocean front window.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent a week at Omni Nov 3-10/13. Overall we had a great time.

Highlights: The Staff at Omni is very friendly and bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful. The rooms and our villa were immaculate. The Resort is very clean. Drinks were good. Beach excellent. Entertainment was average but we still enjoyed it.

Lowlights: There is nothing for children up to the age of 5. There aren't even any toys. They do have a kids' Club for 5-12yrs but we had a baby with us. We had to leave the resort to buy beach toys for her. If you have a baby you may find it's a lot of work to keep them entertained.

As far as the food was concerned, the main dining room did very well for us. Our main Server, Robert, was excellent. Breakfast was always good. Our favourite evenings in the main restaurant were seafood and cajun. We did not enjoy the specialty restaurants La Deva and Da Vinci. We found the food in the main restaurant better. We did, however, LOVE the food at Pina Colada on the beach and the Sushi Bar was outstanding. We ate Sushi Non Stop!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chirkee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We are newly weds and decided to go to Cancun for our honeymoon. What can we say? This place is the best. Excellent customer service! They treat you almost like royalty. We'd recommend this place to everyone. Jose, our waiter from La Piña Colada in the resort, was the best waiter. He greeted us in a manner where we felt special and enjoyed our meals every time we went there. We are definitely coming back! We totally recommend the jr suite with ocean view. It is BEAUTIFUL!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Estela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Property: Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing