We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort - would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #38 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I traveled with family - my mother and aunt (middle-aged), and sister and cousin (20s). We were there from Dec. 20-27.

We really had a fantastic experience at the Omni. I wanted to write a quick review here because we chose the Omni based on positive reviews on this site.

As others have stated, the hotel is remarkably clean and very well staffed with friendly people. We had three people in a room, and though they normally charge $30/night for an extra bed, they graciously provided one for free (it wasn't a terrible cot either - a fold-down single bed). Our rooms were lagoon view since we expected to spend little time there (which was true); one of the rooms actually was on the corner and we could see both the beach and the lagoon. No doubt the ocean side has a vastly superior view, but as I said, we were there to be ON the beach, not looking at it from a balcony.

It was far less busy the first few days of the trip, and we could get a spot on the beach with little trouble, but by Christmas the hotel had filled up and we had to be down early to reserve lounge chairs (standard for most resorts). The water was absolutely stunning. One thing about the beach, however - there's a smallish cliff one has to negotiate on the way to the water's edge, and no stairs. People had to dig out makeshift sand-stairs. My aunt has difficulty with stairs because of a leg condition and had to travel quite a distance down the beach to find a suitable way up and down. The water's edge was basically inaccessible for her from the hotel.

Lots of pools, though not many people used them (mostly children). The jacuzzi/swim up bar is ridiculously luxurious. A cool wind or cloudy day? Try sitting in the warm bubbling water at a table with a drink! Though, as the hotel got busy, that particular pool got very busy.

Food was excellent. A warning, however - I'm vegetarian, and the choices were certainly more limited, which I expected. Some 'theme nights' were better than others (the Italian night had lots of choice; Cajun, far less so). I ended up eating some seafood. But the quality was excellent. Do yourself a favour - reserve at Da Vinci as soon as you get there. They're not kidding when they say it books up. You won't regret it - the food and service was amazing, truly fine dining.

The activities seemed less organized and frequent than at the resorts I've stayed at in the Dominican. I didn't pay a whole lot of attention to that, though, so I can't be positive.

Again, as others have noted, there's virtually no night life at the hotel. Actually the first few nights we were shocked at how empty the hotel seemed at night. The only bar that stays open late is the lobby bar, and that only until 1am. Not a problem for families with young kids, but a little disappointing for the 3 of us. Still, as the hotel got busier the lobby bar was livelier, and the live music (two guitarists) was quite nice. Every night some of the hotel staff organize trips to a club downtown - we did this a few times and had a blast. Costs extra, of course - anywhere from $40-$50 - but it's a cab ride there, no lineup or cover, a private table with full bottle service and open bar all night. Juan and Brissa are absolutely great - genuinely fun to hang out with! We miss them... Also, being able to order room service at 3:30am after a night at the club was very cool (we did have a bad experience the first time we did this, the first night, around 1:30am - very, very late in coming, wrong food, cranky person delivering it - but that was the exception. It was fine after that).

My aunt tried the spa, and though she generally enjoyed the experience, she was a bit disappointed that it was the same person who did ALL of the spa things (jack of all trades, master of none).

Absolutely do an excursion to one of the Mayan sites in the area. Be wary of the excursion to the Isla Mujeres, though - costs much less to do it yourself with a simple bus ride to the ferry, then across. If it's windy, as it was for us, they cancel some of the activities (snorkeling, parasailing), and the catamaran ride becomes nightmarish with little to no regard for safety in the waves.

Overall, we highly recommend this hotel. It was a very positive experience. Super friendly staff, excellent amenities, great food, and a killer beach. Most definitely would return, should we go back to Cancun.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,492 - 4,498 of 6,186 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

We just arrived home from a one week stay at the Omni Resort in Cancun, and have good thi9ngs to say about it. I had first booked this resort based on the good reviews I read in Trip Advisor. As it got closer to our time to depart I started to read some bad ones, and get a little worried that I had made a mistake. Well I sure didn't! This was a wonderful resort, and I can't imagine what people would have to complain about.

The entire resort was clean, clean, clean. Nothing to worry about there. The room was outfitted very nicely, and the bedding/towels were of the highest quality we have ever had in Mexico (been to Mexico 6 time now). When we first arrived we were told that they did not have the Oceanfront Room we had booked and paid for. I thought - oh here we go as this happens in Mexico sometimes and it is a fight to get your correct room. Well no worries here at the Omni, we were called first thing the next morning, and moved with no hassles right away.

The buffet was good, and there was a different theme each night. At some resorts we have found even if there was supposed to be a different theme, the food all looked the same. Not here, the food really was different and very good. The restaurant on the beach was good as well, and nice to be on the beach literally as the floors were sand covered. Da Vinci's - we were supposed to get 3 reservations, but were only able to get one, and our choice was either 9 or 10 at night which is late for us as we tend to eat by 7:00 usually. The one night was very good though, too bad we couldn't have gone again to try a few other things on the menu that sounded good. (The Ceaser Salad was very good here - be sure to try.) Had room service one night and it was really good too. Nice to have this option avaiable 24 hours a day! Overall we found all the staff of the resort and especially the restaurant staff (as that is who we hade most contact with) to be exceptionally friendly and eager to please.

The pools and area are all beautiful. Read other complaints about the cold water. Can't comment as well we were there the weather was cool, cloudy, and windy, so I had no interest in going in the water anyways. Lots of chairs, and places to be outside in the sun though.

Only comment I can make to the negative perhaps as there was not an lot of entertainment at the Omni. A couple of nighttime shows, but nothing to really make you want to go out and watch or participate. If you are looking for nightlife, this would not be the place for you to go. Also, the rooms were not totally soundproof, but they weren't really bad either. You could hear chairs dragging and such from the other rooms.

I would highly recommend this resort based on the cleanliness, the wonderful staff, and the size and lovliness of the room. (Having a bath in a Mexican room is so nice, and I enjoyed the use of it daily.) You won't go wrong booking a stay here. Also, make sure you sign up for the Omni membership before you go. The free coffee and water to the room each morning was so nice, and the free internet was much better than paying $15.00 a day!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandBNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We arrived on Dec 23rd not really knowing what to expect. The reviews on TripAdvisor were overwhelmingly favourable and we found out why right away.

By the end of the week my wife and I were convinced that Omni Staff were stationed on each floor in sprinters blocks waiting for our call. Pillow requests, Towels, Lock not working.....anything at all and staff were at your door in under 5 min's every time. And pleasant? We hadn't encountered pleasant staff like at the Omni anywhere else except on Royal Caribbean Cruise lines - absolutely the friendliest staff you could ask for.

Food - We had chosen the Omni over more highly rated hotels based on value and had expected that the food would be very good but not spectacular. We were proved wrong and for all the right reasons - the food was excellent. We mostly ate in La Paloma and the quality and variety of food was fantastic. We are 3 experienced travelers with varying tastes and this place got 3 big thumbs up from us. Breakfasts buffets catered to all tastes, the Omelet station prepared orders while you waited and they were excellent, our daughter found something new to try every day and loved the pancakes & French Toast. Every evening the restaurant would prepare food in a different theme - Cajun, Italian, Mexican, Tex/Mex, etc. and the food was uniformly excellent with a lot of variety in the dishes and very professionally presented. We ate lunch at the beach on those days when we weren't away on excursions and the food there exceeded all expectations. We had been expecting your standard resort fast food (burgers, fries, club sandwiches, etc.) but this restaurant serves salads, seafood, full course meals - and all 5-star in our opinion. Our last lunch was at the Paloma and it was the only time we ate lunch there - if you have a chance try their sandwiches or their pizza's - you'll have one of the best lunches we can remember.

Rooms - we had an ocean view and weren't disappointed. The view of the pools with the morning sun rising over the Gulf of Mexico was a view we all loved. We hadn't expected much from the balcony - but it was big enough for us to eat out there comfortable had we wanted to. The beds were a bit small - but we were going from Kingsize at home to double and under the circumstances they were fine. The room was well decorated and the service was quick and very efficient. The rooms are bright, comfortable, exceptionally clean and though there was a nice flat screen TV I think it was only ever on once.

Beach - beautiful - but get there early if you want a nice lounger location. we spent 3 days at the beach and loved it there. The water was warm and the Omni staff are quick to serve you and to clean up after guests.

All in all I would say that all of us would happily stay at the Omni again. We loved Cancun - a first time for our family and we're sure we'll go back. Everything is upscale. Learn to use the local buses - cheap, safe and fast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We got a great price over Xmas week through Hotwire ($154). We expected a lagoon view, parking lot view. As we were walking to room with bellboy, he said you have one of the nicest suites and views in the hotel. Luckily we were upgraded to a huge suite with couch and ocean view. I would recommend the ocean view. It is so worth the extra cost. So relaxing and peaceful. You can even watch the night dance shows from your balcony. The pools in December are ice cold. There are 2 hot tubs, one at the beach bar, but no kids are permitted. The other one looked pretty scummy by the end of the day. Ocean is pretty rough, but warmer than the pools. Excellent service, clean rooms-marble floors, bathrooms. This is at the quieter end of zona hotelera. Join the Omni Club to get the free newspaper,free wifi and morning drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Great Service! We went with another couple and were "upgraded" to adjacent rooms. I think these were older and not yet refurbished and were associated with the vacation club as one of the rooms had a small kitchenette which we didn't use as we were on the all inclusive plan. I highly recommend joining the Omni Select Guest membership program. It's free and you can do it on line prior to your arrival. The benefits include free WIFI, morning coffee, juice, and paper delivered to your room, a real plus.

The pools were not heated and too cold to enjoy this time of year, and the jacuzzi was always full of kids, which were not allowed, and the hotel staff did their best to "police" the area, but parents always ignored the signs and just let the kids scream and splash until their hearts content. Not very relaxing.

We will be back, we had a blast!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redracecar92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Me and my husband decided to go back to Cancun after 15 years. A lot has changed, but the beaches were beautiful as ever. We stayed at Omni Cancun because there some special promotions with Omni Vacation Club. The hotel was some what old, but it was still nice. I have stayed at better resorts, so I gave it an overall rating of 3.

The problem with us is Omni Vacation Club, which I totally recommend against purchasing.

After attending the presentation, we decided to buy the membership because it seemed like good value. We are at a point in life where we will be traveling quite a bit, so we thought a vacation club is a better way to travel.

However, because I heard that sometimes the sales reps will say things that are not totally accurate to lure you to signing the contract, we wrote in the details of the offer. For example, we were told that we have to pay HSI (vacation exchange system) membership fee in addition to the cost of the vacation club, but only on the years we use. As such, we added "Pay annual fee only the years we actively use" to the contract.

Now that we are back home, we tried to access the vacation club, HSI system. We could not access the system. When I called HSI, they said they cannot honor the contract because of the clause we added. HSI said we have to pay annual fee regardless of whether we use it or not. This is totally different from what the salesperson said.

Since they are not honoring my contract, I am trying to cancel the membership. Does anyone have similar experience and know of a way to get the membership back? Unfortunately, we paid the full membership up front.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Luv2cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Dear Vacation Club Member,
We appreciate the time you took to visit this forum and post your thoughts on the vacation club package you purchased, which was cancelled through Marisol Sanchez, the Members Recognition Manager, and refunded as requested in accordance with the contract.
Marisol was very prompt in responding to your inquiry on Christmas Eve, December 24th, to make sure all was taken care of before the holidays.
We are sorry that the terms and conditions did not meet your expectations and are happy that this was resolved quickly as customer service and satisfaction are top priorities for the Vacation Club and our resort.
On behalf of all our Associates at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and the Vacation Club, we wish you the very best for the New Yaer and do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back home to Cancun and our Omni Hotel.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Division on behalf of
The Omni Cancun Vacation Club
Marisol Sanchez
Members Recognition Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Fantastic hotel, they can't do enough for you, service excellant, special note for beach waiters and the girls in the lobby bar, place is kept immaculate, constant cleaning and polishing. Rooms very comfortable, food generally very good with a wide and varied chioce, some themed nights with a show. Excellant food in the al a carte Divinci Restaurant. Very good snacks at the pool grill and good breakfast and meals at the Pina Colada beach bar, We didnt find the pools cold, although we spent most of the time on the beach.
Never had as much choice of cocktails, We had difficulty adjusting to the time change and were always awake by 6.30 am, but on the beach by 7.30, best time of the day !, Bus service outside the hotel in Cancun very good buses every few minutes at fixed fare to everyware @ 8 half peso,
Very much a minority been english, think we have been the only english at the hotel, but the americans 'Love our accent'
I took 3% off the overall mark as not so much a complaint but some comments, first the sun beds on the beach really really need a mattress, after all day it is very uncomfortable, second, One evening in the La Paloma restaurant it was not very busy and lacked atmosphere, service was very poor and agrivated by 7 waiters standing about chatting, One night in the Da Viinci were also dissapointed the waiter seemed more interested in another table, he was half way taking our order then just left us to seat another party, (not even his job), after the meal we felt rushed out not offered coffee or after dinner drinks, this was our golden wedding anniversery so was very dissapointed in the way we were treated, But four other visits to the restaurant after that was perfect. Would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clayshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Dear Recent Guests of our Omni Cancun,
It was wonderful to have read your review of our resort through this forum. Your insight and observations are truly appreciated, as we wish to deliver a 100% on all our guests experiences.
Please rest assured that we will correct the areas of improvement that you so kindly brought to our attention, in order to continue to provide genuine, warm hospitality.
We are looking forward to welcome you back home to "su casa", one day soon, and make sure that your next visit is a one-hundred percent perfect one.
All the best for the New Year!
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,128 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.8 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
4.9 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £170 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing