We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read past the poor reviews”
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Maya Cancun
Ranked #61 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Read past the poor reviews”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A lot of reviews focus on the room decor (which is a little dated), but look past this to the BEST beach in Cancun. The resort itself is exceptionally clean, staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Lots of security, lots of activities, and great food. Admittedly the menu is somewhat limited, but we never had a bad meal. Daily room service, even in the condos. What makes this resort is the beach, more cabanas, and lounge chairs than any resort we have ever been to. never had to search. Only down side to this adventure was the "mandatory" meeting with a timeshare salesperson to get your room assigned.
My significant other and I agree this is one of the nicest beach vacation we have ever taken.

Room Tip: The number 2 tower is quieter, away from the bar, etc. Rooms up high offer best view, ask for an Am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    582
    231
    92
    89
See reviews for
513
463
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have stayed at the Westin, the Omni, The Hardrock, and Mayan Palace.

I must say that the VERY BEST WATER was at the Casa Maya. We do not like the hard waves that knock you over We loved the calm water and spent hours doing our exercise program.
The buffets are the least expensive we found in Cancun, and the staff were amazingly wonderful and helpful. They have a different theme every nite for dinner. You can buy coupons that give you a 5 dollar reduction in the cost, so that is really helpful if you are on a budget! The security here is every bit as good as anywhere we have stayed.
The housekeeping service was excellent and the kitchen was as good as we have had.

At first glance, we thought we did not want to stay there, but Patsy the manager was so fantastic and willing to accommodate us, that we were sorry to leave.
We stayed there for 3 weeks. Plus they had super comfortable new mattresses!!

Why go to Cancun unless you are going in the water? Sitting around a pool? You can do that anywhere. So go and enjoy the wonderful Caribbean at Casa Maya as we were able to do!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casaecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute trip for our anniversary. We were supposed to stay in Riviera Maya and with some complications upon arrival,.ended up switching to Casa Maya. I have to say I was nervous about the appearance, but after staying for a week, we will absolutely be going back to Casa Maya. We checked in late afternoon and were passed off to a concierge,Monica. She was really great and did not pressure in any way to attend the meeting. We told her no right away and still ended up with a great room. Carlos at the front desk was amazing! We had room 1714 overlooking the ocean which was spectacular!! We saw every sunrise and sunset. The rooms are as most have described...very old and outdated! I quickly got over this when I realized how little time is actually spent in the room. The staff is what makes this an awesome hotel to stay in.. I cannot say enough about the staff, from the front desk, wait staff, cleaners, and entertainment staff! Alredo was the main entertainment staff and he really made our vacation fun. He was always positive and smiling. He got so many guests involved in the activities. We got to snorkel one day, as well as beach and water volleyball. The beach here is another reason we fell in love with this resort. We did other excursions and and saw beaches that did not compare to Casa Maya's. The staff was always busy keeping this area clean. There was never any trash or debris. The sand was amazing and there were plenty of spots that had shade if you needed a break from the sun. The sun shone on this area from 6am until the end of the day which was great if you wanted a lot of sun time. The food options were very well priced and made it very affordable. We purchased the buffet coupons and wished we had done more in the restaurant. The pizza was great.

Overall, we will be returning to this resort because of the location, the staff, the outside cleanliness, beach/pool and activities. If you do not care about a fancy room, this is the resort to stay in!! BIG shout out to the staff here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was very worried about staying in Casa Maya. Interval International has it rated as a 4-5 star resort but some of the reviews on this site were not so favorable. I am glad we went.

Lets start with the Cons: Unless you are one of there "ELITE MEMBERS" you will have a old run down room. The grocery store on the grounds is really not a grocery store. It is extremely limited. If you are a person that likes to walk, dont bother, there is not much in walking distance. The T.V only has 2 or 3 stations. Yes, they do make you see a concierge before you get your room key. That was horrible because we were up since 4:00 a.m and now it was 8 hours later, it would be another hour untill we able to relax and get anything to eat. We were very cranky by that time.

Now the Pros: There are many good things and they out weigh the bad. The rooms are old but spacious. We had a one bedroom with two terraces. We did not face the front beach and were on the 2nd floor ( room 2207) We loved it. It was VERY QUITE. We were in a palm tree but we are from Brooklyn, NY and do not have palm trees back home. Our view was the back pool and a bit of the marina. It got great 4:00 sun. House keeping came everyday which is something a lot of timeshares do not give. Everyone was very friendly and they keep the resort very clean. You can see the staff doing maintance all day and even at night. If you choose the eat on the resort, there is non stop food available. Not an expansive menu but it was avarage. I personally enjoyed the breakfast buffet. In the future I would buy the meal tickets, we paid more a la carte. Everynight by the pool side they had merchants selling crafts. We purchased two paintings. They best part of Casa Maya is the day time activites on the beach and the pool. Isnt that why we all come to Cancun? My primary need for vacation is a wonderful beach and pool. That is EXACTLY what Casa Maya gives you. Pool side music all day. The activities staff makes sure your are busy.. Alfredo always smiles. water aerobics, darts, water ballon fights, silly fashion shows, pool volleyball, beach soccer and my boyfriends daily favorite activity.. beach volleyball. If you want to just be lazy on the beach or pool side, you can. Waiter sevice on both pool and beach. What is better than laying on the beach, eating lunch under an umbrella. We did have to talk to a sales person before we got our key. I did take the suggestions and agree to have a time share presentation. Monica was pleasant and had no problem meeting us 3 days later. We were put into bulding 2, as said by others on this site. So yes, if you are looking for 5 star rooms, this is not for you. BUT if you are looking for spacious rooms, outstanding beach, waiter service, clean resort and incrediable friendly staff, this is for you. If i ever go back to Cancun I want to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekkaa411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My bestie and I made last minute spring break plans. With less than a month to go, we were limited on timeshare exchange options. With the spotty reviews, we headed to Casa Maya with a "Que Sera, Sera" attitude. We were very pleasantly surprised! First, the service and good natured friendliness of the staff was first rate! We did not feel "punished" for not being potential time share purchasers. Various staff helped us with lost luggage, travel advice, lost items, phone calls,... with overwhelming friendliness.

Our room was large and well equipped for the two of us. We could have had two more people with ease. My friend was concerned about the hard beds (typical of Mexico) after the first night. After she spoke to the front desk, we returned to egg crate pads and additional pillows on both beds. The kitchen area was a bit dated but more than adequate for breakfasts and snacks. I was surprised we had daily maid service. Most time shares have one visit mid-week. Our room was quiet and the balcony had a view of the basketball court on one side and a sliver of the beach on the other side. Room 1303.

The beach and pool areas were phenomenal! As a freckled non-tanner, I was thrilled to have plenty of shady options right next to the sunshine spots for my friend. Any/all food we had at the resort (lunch/snacks at pool bar; one dinner buffet, pizzas) were tasty and fairly reasonable for the convenience.

We used the busses easily to go to town (Mercado 28) or the hotel zone during the day. The bus stops are easy to find and just a short walk from the hotel. The first day we hired a taxi to take us to Wal-Mart for groceries. For about $27, he waited for about an hour and brought us back. I wouldn't hesitate to use the bus next time. We just didn't have our bearings yet and went for convenience.

Please use Pesos!!! It was very easy to use the hotel ATM to withdraw pesos. The exchange rate was 13 pesos to the US dollar. If you used US dollars for taxis, bus,... you only had a 10:1 exchange rate. That will add up in a week's time!

Overall, we were VERY pleased with our stay at Casa Maya! I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The staff at Casa Maya was great. Too bad the property was only OK. This is an older property, and while it was clean and the grounds were well maintained, the rooms were old, worn and tired looking. Each room has an ocean view with a balcony, however while sitting on the balcony your ocean view is blocked by the cement balcony wall. The check in procedure took forever, and after traveling all day, I just wanted to get into our room. Instead we had no choice but to endure close to one hour of sales pitch on Casa Maya, drink and meal coupons we could purchase (for a limited time only), before we were given our room keys. The beach is nice, the beach lounges are old, stained and some are broken. The dinner buffet was so-so, the breakfast buffet looked pretty good. There are two excellent restaurants within walking distance, Dolce Mette (sp?), an Italian restaurant right next door, and Las Palma de Mezcal, Mexican restaurant across the street over the lagoon. Good sunset view from Las Palma. Would I stay here again? I think not.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. Check the bed sheets. One of ours had sand in it, so when were the shee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are really concerned that your stay was not satisfactory. Your case will be reviewed with the directors of each corresponding area to assess the situation and avoid this to happen again. We hope that these measures may give us a new opportunity to enhance your experience in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabeck, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our first visit to Cancun so we have nothing else to compare it to. We chose Casa Maya because of it's location and price.

Unlike many others, upon arrival we were not turned over to a private "concierge" or time share salesman. Maybe arriving at night is the key! We reserved a king room with a bed for our teenage daughter and that's what we got! Our king bed was in a room all by itself and our daughter had a large Murphy bed in the living room. Our view was spectacular!

It was a late arrival so we chose the Caribbean dinner buffet at the hotel for dinner and it was good. It was our first meal in Mexico so we sampled a bit of everything to be able to make comparisons. After eating at many different locations during our vacation, we found the buffets here at Casa Maya to be up to par with some of the best rated restaurants and buffets. The breakfast buffet is unbeatable and it came free with our room!

The entire staff is super friendly and helpful. They don't have anywhere to exchange money but there is an ATM in the second building which came in handy. The front desk is also happy to give change for larger pesos if you need bus money or just to have smaller tip money. We went on excursions that left out of other hotels and none of them compared to the friendliness of Casa Maya. Most others were a bit snooty and asked for a room number before answering any questions - we found that odd!

As others have stated, there's nothing fancy about Casa Maya. What makes it "fancy" is the staff. The decor is what I would call subtle, everything fits together, it all matches and is comfortable and it belongs in a hotel. It's not fancy, glittery or glitzy. It's a well maintained, clean hotel perfect for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.0 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 175 in Cancun
2,052 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
2.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 175 in Cancun
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#63 of 175 in Cancun
506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Property: Casa Maya Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing