We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we paid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Ranked #49 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first trip to Cancun and we spent 4.5 days in February at this all inclusive resort. Before going, I was constantly looking at the reviews on this hotel and like anyone I had little fear of how it would be reading lot of mixed/negative comments. We stayed at the Crown club (adults only) in 8th floor of the new building and I'm glad I choose that, it was good!!

Pros - Good room service, beautiful view, access to lounge in the 8th floor, good food at the Italian and French restaurant. Desert section was attractive at the La Palapa restaurant

Cons - Few vegetarian options in the buffet everyday :( No Internet at all.. everyone has has access to just one computer that is super slow and for 15 mins time slot.. Neither me or my husband are not satisfied with the typical Mexican food options or the taste.

On the night of day 1 at around 2AM, one of our neighbors are drunk and made so much of noise causing lot of disturbance. Thankfully that didn't repeat on the rest of the days.

New building is comparatively less crowed and neatly maintained. As everyone said, it's a kid-friendly restaurant so expect to see lot of kids running around. Beach chairs are taken out very quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smarty282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hola smarty282,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor Community. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your first trip to Cancun.

We are glad that you did experience some very positive aspects of your stay such as room service, beautiful view, access to Crown Club Lounge and some of our restaurants and amenities.
We sincerely apologize that all of your preferences were not met, but we certainly appreciate your constructive criticism regarding our food selection and will continue to work on improving our services.

Saludos from Cancun,
Katarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,705 of 8,348 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room we stayed in was nothing like the one posted on the resort website. We had a family room with a bunked and the resorts pictures show a nice spacious room, that has been updated and with nice furniture. The room we stayed in was a hotel room that hasn't been updated for 15 years and had a king bed stuffed right next to a bunk bed. There was mold and rot on both the entrance and bathroom doors and hair in the sink shower and toilet. The room itself needs a lot of work and really was disappointing. They were actually renovating rooms right near us and the smell of paint and varnish was quite strong.
The pool area is just jammed with people and it's difficult to get chairs together unless you get up really early in the AM. One day we couldn't even get towels at the pool. We kept going back every hour or so and we're told that they would be available shortly.
The one nice thing about the resort is the activities. They have things going on all day for kids and the water park was very nice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jjb01756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hola jjb01756,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the activities and kids facilities.

We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are sorry if the renovation near your room disturbed your stay in any way, and for the lack of the available beach towel. We have passed on all of your comments to the appropriate departments and they are being addressed internally.
We hope that you will accept our apologies and consider staying with us again so that we can show you the excellent experience that we normally provide.

Saludos,
Katarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014


Family of 5: 15 yr daughter, 12 yr & 9yr boys had an absolute blast! Make it known right away you are not interested in time shares and the sales people respect your wish to be left alone.
The good: the staff were absolutely great! Marisol th maid did a grat job keeping our room tidy, Rubicel, Juan (Wayne's boots) and girl at concierge (sorry I forgot your name, but you were very helpful) were more than accommodating. The entertainment staff might be the hardest working of the group, working long hours and always smiling and getting people involved, and putting on the nightly shows. The bar tenders would make your drinks any way you liked (tips helped in this regard, but hey you tip at the bars at home so pony up for the special attention).
The average: the food. It was adequate. Fruits and veggies were very fresh. The meats were average. No complaints, we could always find something we liked. Fishermans and Mexican restaurants were our favorite. Wayne's Boots was fun with mechanical bull. Only 2 people ride per hour so if you want to do it make it well known in advance. Definitely worth it, but be ready because when it starts spinning it can really throw you! A note on reservations: do not take "we have no openings" for an answer. You need to be forceful with the reservation dept to get times you want. If that fails a $5-$10 tip to the head waiter works as well!
This was our first trip to cancun the beach and ocean are absolutely beautiful. It is easy to get lounges at the beach. You need to be an early bird to get lounges at the pool.
Many people complained about the vacant resort on the north side. Our family two floor room faced this resort. We thought it looked pretty cool. We also read complaints about the rooms. The resort is older, hence the rooms have seen more wear and tear. However, if you are spending a large amount of time in your room you are missing out. We have vacationed at newer resorts in the tropics and run into the same issues others posted regarding dampness and mustiness. This is the reality of the tropics
Finally, definitely a family place I would recommend to friends. Nicely done crown paradise staff!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The staff here is amazing, one thing that sets hotels apart is whether the staff seems happy to be working there, whether they are capable and knowledgeable and if they are efficient and friendly. The staff here really sets a high standard. The hotel was clean, the food was great and although it wasn't luxurious, we really enjoyed the hotel, the beach and relaxing by the pool. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting a true vacation and not dealing with bar tabs and meal tabs.
The bartenders were great and I must say that the ladies in the kid zone were AMAZING. So organized. Made you feel really comfortable leaving your child there. Kids loved it there and it gave us(the parents) time to enjoy a meal or two on our own. Can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: Rooms on right wing facing beach are most convenient for families with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hola Gregg P,

Thank you from the entire Crown Paradise team and myself for this supportive comments. It gives us such joy to know we succeeded in providing you with great vacation memories, and we’re looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Saludos from Cancun,
Katarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was my husband and my 4th trip to Cancun, our most recent being last Febuary. We traveled again this year with our kids and our friends. Last year we stayed next door at the GR Solaris. It was amazing. We chose Crown Paradise because it was next door, we like the beach and the waves, but wanted more options for food and entertainment. I was very nervous in the months leading up to our trip, knowing this was an older resport, with varying reviews. The main review I saw numerous times, was this was a 4 start at best and to expect to get what you paid for. That was my opinion as well.
The rooms were old, and the front desk staff was average at best. There was no refrigerators in our rooms, but we knew this in advance and brough coolers (room service would bring us 6 packs of beer, pop and water anytime we wanted). The pools were freezing, which was unfortunate because that is where we liked to be. Oddly there was no guacamole, which is very strange.
On the other hand, the lobby bar was awwesome and the staff was amazing! My 4 year old loved the kids club, however my 8 year old and our friends 7 year old prefered the main pool and entertainment. At 1st we thought the food was really bad, but in a day or 2 we learned where to get the good food and tried the nightly reservations. The Italian Food was great and the sea food was so good, we went twice.
All in all, we had a great week. We definately got what we expected, not as nice of a hotel as last year, but definatly more options on things to do.
I doubt we would go back as the freezing cold pool and standard rooms are something we think we could find better else where and still have many food options, kids club and great bar staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriciaJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hola TriciaJake,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback.
We are pleased that you and your family had a great week with us. Thank you for commenting on the friendly staff at the lobby bar and great food at our Italian and Seafood restaurants.
While we are glad that your expectations were met, we are sorry to hear you’re unsure whether your’d come back. Please know that we are committed to providing our guests with the very best experience, so if you consider giving us another opportunity, contact us directly to make sure all your preferences are met.

Saludos,
Katarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Crown Paradise Club the week of January 11th & took the adult only upgrade. First time in Cancun - we knew it would be more commercial than other Caribbean vacations we've been on.

The resort was clean, and we did not have any issues with the service. Exploring the city is very easy and the hotel staff were great at letting us know the best way to get around and places to check out.

Best part of the resort for us was the beach - it was absolutely stunning. The water was warm and clear, and the waves were so much fun. A little too 'public' in that there was always someone selling something. Nobody was overly bothersome, but you do get asked several times a day if you want to buy. There are plenty of beach chairs, however, those that have a cover for shade are very close together - if you don't mind hanging out in close proximity to other guests, this is fine, but we would have liked a bit more privacy - or just space to have your own conversations. There is 1 bar at the beach, and no food options, though, it wasn't far to go get something upstairs at the main pool area. But bringing food down to the beach meant you'd be swarmed by 100's of seagulls...

The pool setup was different, however we don't generally spend a huge amount of time there. The main pool infinity pool was nice as you get a gorgeous view of the beach all the time. A bit crowded, and did not have a swimup bar, however, there was an adult only pool on the roof of the 1st floor with a swimup bar. But beware - only 1/2 of that pool gets sun during the day, it is very run down, with a hideous view of the abandoned, rotting resort next door. If you wanted anything to eat while at this adult only pool, pack up and take the elevator back down to the main pool...This adult only group only stayed there for 1/2 hour before we found another location to sit.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious - most of them having a great view of the water. The Jacuzzi tub in the upgrade room is a nice touch but beware that you'll be covered in brown (dirt?) when you get out...I think the jets needed cleaning. 4 out of 5 couples in our group experienced this - the other 2 didn't use their tub :)

We knew that this was a family resort - but should have looked into this a little further. There were tons of kids everywhere all the time. It was hard to hear yourself think, let alone have a conversation for the noise. We can't fault the resort for that - and I'm sure those with families had a wonderful time as there is plenty for kids to see and do. While I won't only go to 'adult only' resorts, we definitely won't choose a 'family' resort again. The only reason I mention this is for people like us, who don't generally mind children, but didn't anticipate the difference between regular resorts and ones that cater to young children on a large scale. I believe it is because of this that there is little to no night life at this resort. They have a show every night, but it's done by about 8:30 or 9pm. The adult only lounge on the 8th floor is a nice concept, however, it's somewhat like walking into a funeral parlor with the soft, depressing music.

The last thing to mention, for us is the food. Good food is high on our list of must haves when travelling south. It was for this reason, we were looking forward to Mexico as we heard it's here that we will find some of the best tastes and plenty of flavorful dishes. This was NOT the case. We were not at all impressed with the food. The main pool area has a 'fast food' section with burgers, fries, nachos & twice they had chicken wings. These were the only things we found to be good - however, grew tired of them by day 3...I can't eat 'junk food' all week (at least not the same junk food). The buffet was below average at every meal (we've been to Dominican 4x and Jamaica 2x - and have experienced both average and exceptional food). I found myself circling the buffet area several times before finally putting something on my plate. It wasn't because it looked good, but my choices were to fill the empty spot and move on. On 2 different occasions, we overheard other people talking to each other "did you find anything good?...No, did you?...No". Everything was very repetitive and mostly leftovers that were not appetizing. The Italian restaurant had a great atmosphere, and beautiful view, but again, the food was below average. This was very disappointing for us. We actually left the resort 3 times and traveled downtown to buy a meal at one of the restaurants in town (lots of great options there - however we already PAID to eat at the resort). This is the major downfall for us - and the main reason we wouldn't return.

We will come back to Mexico - but not to the Crown Paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveDRNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hola loveDRNewBrunswick,

I’m really sorry to hear that you were somewhat disappointed in your stay with us.
We are indeed family oriented resort, but also have facilities and amenities for our guests traveling without children, such as our adults-only a la carte restaurant (Sans Soucis), adults-only bar (Trafalgar’s) and the Crown Club Lounge you mentioned, where you can relax and enjoy your favorite cocktail looking at the ocean. You also have the choice of going to Nightclub Excursions off the property.

It is truly unfortunate that we haven’t met your expectations regarding the food. We have 5 a la carte restaurants available for dinner, international buffet, oriental open for lunch, as well as a few snack bars and 24/7 room service.
We understand we cannot please everybody’s tastes, but we’ll certainly continue trying.

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

Saludos,
Katarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Went as a familly of 5 / Grand parent's (2 week vacation) /Husband & wife & 5year old son (1Week vacation) ... Reading other peoples reviews for this resort & others is most of the time deceiving ! We had an awesome time at this resort .. Yes it's not a Five star Hotel, Yes there's lot's of kids, Yes it can get loud in the lobby at night & By the main Pool .. Hotels can't cather to everyones needs. You don't want kids running around / Don't want it loud around the pool .. Go to the adults pools (its a very simple solution). If you think the staff is rude & Not pleasant it's because you r walking around with a sour look on your face .. Every Single staff member I encountered always smiled & greeted me amazingly. People need to keep in mind the staff are not our Slaves .. They are cooks / cleaning ladies / bartenders . I was Baffled at how certain people /Kids treated the staff ..Especially at the specialty food sections (Panini station, italien station/ omelette station) These Staff members DESERVE a raise to have to deal with the RUDE people they deal with. Not sure how these people we're raised But if I spoke to anyone the way some people speak to the staff My mother would roll over in her grave !If u can't find something u like to eat at this hotel it's because u must be very picky .. There's always ton's of food to pick from ..The pools are always very clean ..Patio is clean .. The reason Why it's gets dirty during the day is Because Customers are constantly leaving their plates lying around instead of walking 5 feet to go put their food in the garbage, However the staff is constantly walking around picking up all the dirty plates /cups ! We had a room on the 5th floor with an amazing view ! This is a GREAT PLACE / with awesome staff members

Room Tip: room 1537 has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSCDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#42 of 177 in Cancun
5,021 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 177 in Cancun
3,594 reviews
6.2 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,756 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#31 of 177 in Cancun
8,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Club Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Club Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan 18.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £162 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Paradise Club Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crown Paradise Club experience extraordinary vacations in the best all inclusive hotel in Cancun; with areas designed for children of all ages, theme restaurants, activities and entertainment created for each member of your family, where you will experience moments with them that you will treasure forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Crown Paradise Club Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Hotel Cancun
Crown Paradise Cancun
Cancun Paradise Club
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing