We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in hotel zone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Ranked #53 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Copperhill, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best hotel in hotel zone”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I have stayed there twice. It is a great hotel for the money. Very close to shoping and restaurants. The bus stops are close going both directions. The concierge lounge leaves something to be desired. Breakfast is nothing more thant a barely there continental. The evening was the same every night and really not worth the money. They do have sodas and bottled water they will let you take out of room. When you get there you have to sign a wavier that you won't bring in outside food or drink in hotel.....the resaturants aren't the best....and you can't get the 2 for 1 happy hour drinks if you don't get them with alcohol. My wife or I neither one drink and wanted a virgin pina colada....no luck on the 2 for one because it didn't have alcohol. Room was nice and bed was great. The room as always clean. The hotel scores high because of the room quality, beach view, beach, pool and proximaty.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions regarding our F&B departments; rest assured all your comments have been discussed with our Director of F&B in order to follow up and improve our services.

Hopefully you will soon return and give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Executive Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    1,121
    489
    216
    190
See reviews for
834
1,363
143
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Hyatt Cancun was both lovely and disappointing. The setting and secluded beach location are fantastic but it was overpriced for the quality and fell short of the high expectations I have for Hyatt. The bar overlooks the ocean but expect to pay a lot for appetizers; the breakfast buffet was pricey but good. I stayed here for an international conference and the hotel was within walking distance of the conference center, tourist shops (if you like that sort of thing), and a Starbucks.
I was disappointed with the room--located right above the noisy fans for the entire building and without hot water. I slept ok with earphones on and the hot weather allowed me to take quick showers. I was told there were no other rooms the first day and was given the opportunity to move the 2nd day but decided not to. The lines at the registration desk were extremely long and clearly understaffed. Overall the staff was great but not very accommodating at registration--perhaps because they were so busy.
There are lots of great hotels in the same area and given the hassles, I can't recommend this one very highly.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floors and ask to overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZ08CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments; we are truly sorry to learn we did not live up to your expectations, as you are absolutely correct in saying that maintenance, attention to guests and F&B should be of the best quality. Needless to say, the Exco members have taken note of your comments and are doing their upmost to upgrade our services.

That fact notwithstanding, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience, and hopefully you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Disclaimer:
Have been to Cancun numerous times and stayed in Cancun (Ritz, Le Meriden, Intercontinental, Hyatt etc etc) and Playa and allinclusives along Mayan Riveria so we feel we have great idea of great value for what you pay for the resort experience, and keep in mind there are numerous amazing hotels in Cancun and on scale of 1-10 (10 being the best) would give this hotel a 6 but more a function of all the other great options in Cancun


When making travel plans for Cancun, we stayed in playa del carmen but needed to stay one night closer to Cancun airport so we pricelined it and go this hotel (4 star) and got this for $60

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we found the atrium/lobby to have a minimalist look. It is an older Cancun hotel but is overall well maintained.

So here are pros:


Location: Amazing location near all the action (Coco Bongo and other clubs as well as places to eat); the views from the room are absolutely stunning and this is why you decided to come here right? It was the second to last hotel on the strip, so beach is "private"


Room: Standard Hyatt fare; get ocean view if you can as that will make a huge difference

Beach/Pool: Grounds, pool, beach (we were here when there was no beach so they have done great job in restoring it)and bar are literally amazing. There are lots of lounge chairs on the beach/beach cabana style beds with ocean views available free of charge.The beach area is fairly large (once again were here pre-beach time post Hurricane so have done great job) There are 3 heated pools, no hot tub.

Food: The Grill restaurant (dinner) with standard selections including veggie options if that matters to you (wife is vegeterian) . The O (breakfast) restaurant has standard buffet for $20 p/p. If you dont want to eat at a restaurant there is a deli that has pastries, drinks, sandwiches and mini pizzas for decent prices. They have started to do a "Double Your Credit" program where your get 50% off with pre-pay. Cancun food can be expensive so this helps control costs but then again your on vacation right?

Pool Bar - fish ceviche is delicious and large portion

Service: Service was pretty good; remember in this is a tip economy and people remember you when you tip. My advice give a large tip (in dollars at beginning at then you can give $1 dollar bills for everything. This is what i have done everytime in mexico and service has always been great. Service at the pool bar (also serves the beach) was excellent and very friendly. We ate at O (breakfast) and The Grill (lunch) where service was fine (pool service a little better)


Cons:
read disclaimer. I think this is great hotel but as there are so many other incredible options this hotel is ok but not spectacular. If the price is right this is excellent option.

Overall, I'd recommend the Hyatt if you want a standard Hyatt with great location and is not all inclusive

Room Tip: Ocean view/Regency club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay. We are happy to learn you appreciated our efforts and enjoyed your visit with us. Hopefully you will do so again sometime in the future.

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Executive Secretary to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had the most amazing time at the Hyatt Regency from the moment we stepped into the lobby to the time we waved goodbye to beautiful Cancun. The rooms and grounds were beautiful and the staff was absolutely amazing! Alejandro, Jesus, Jose Luis, Pablo, Ramon, Ignacio and Rouelle we miss your smiling faces already! This is the best hotel to stay at in Cancun!

Room Tip: Try the Spa, the massage was amazing and rooms were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber Mecham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you somuch for your kind comments.

We are certainly happy to learn you enjoyed visiting this beautiful place in the Mexican Caribbean, and that our services were up to your expectations. Rest assured the personnel you mentioned have been commended for their efforts.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain,

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Executive Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clements, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This Hyatt Regency is not up to the standard you expect from the Hyatt Regency brand. The maintenance was lacking; for example, the woodwork in the corridor near my room was damaged and not repaired or repainted. You expect better attention to detail at a higher quality hotel brand.

Hyatt Regency Cancun is the hotel located just south of the Dreams Cancun Resort. It is not all-inclusive, but that is less important when you are in Cancun than if you are staying in other resort areas, such as the Riviera Maya. That's because there are so many restaurants to choose from in the Cancun Hotel Zone. If you stay at the Hyatt Regency Cancun, be sure to ask for an east-facing room on an upper floor; you will love the sunrises.

I might go back to stay there if I were in Cancun to go to events at the nearby convention center. It was good enough as a business hotel. I'd not pick it for a vacation stay in Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for an east-facing upper story room for great sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-love-to-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind comments and suggestions; we are very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay.

We have also taken note of your mentioning the condition of some areas; you are absolutely correct in saying that proper maintenance and engineering should always be present in a superior quality hotel. We would like to mention that we program preventive and corrective maintenance throughout the year which is sometimes coordinated in accordance to our occupancy. Tha fact notwithstanding, please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Executive Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Exceeded my expectations in views, service, food and prices. Even our "city view" room looked out into azure gulf waters. The doormen knew my name on arrival, the check in/out was professional and smooth as silk. I heartily recommend the hyatt 50% off pre-pay special on food drink - sure, it keeps you in the hotel, but nothing to complain about there nearby is mostly condos. Food/drink prices are reasonable even pre-discount. We did not get the buffet but had a delicious, nutritious a la carte breakfast which was more like a brunch! Spa services were nurturing and adequately-priced. Our last night at the lounge with premium margaritas, tapas, the breeze and the view down the crescent beach was memorable. Only complaints: no fan in the bathroom, layout of closet/drawers makes it impossible to have both open at once, bathroom mirror is a long distance from end of counter, a swinging makeup mirror would help. Very minor complaints... I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you so much for your kind reviews and suggestions regarding your recent stay.

We are very happy to learn you enjoyed it and have discussed your suggestions with our Exco. Rest assured these will be the focus of their attention.

We certainly hope you will visit this beautiful part of the Mexican Caribbean in the not too distant future.

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Executive Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had a very good experience at Hyatt Regency Cancun.
The beach is wonderful and even with a high occupation in the hotel we always have a bed waiting for us.
The room was spacious and with nice decoration.
Breakfast buffet was full of different options, with very fresh fruits and juices, a cooker making eggs at your style and a lot of local options.
The concierge service was good and gave us a lot of good options of restaurants.
It is not a mega resort but it is a very elegant and five star service.
Would definitely stay there for my next trip to Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenriqueSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyCancun, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was certainly nice to read them, and learn you had a pleasurable stay, enjoyed the beach and our services as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,
Blanca I. Meza
Executive Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 175 in Cancun
4,953 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 175 in Cancun
2,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 175 in Cancun
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Grand Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Grand Punta Cancun

Property: Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hyatt Regency Cancun)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#40 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Krystal Grand Punta Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Krystal Grand Punta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hyatt Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing