We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Ranked #53 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value & location!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

For spring break, my friends and I chose this hotel because of its price and location. The hotel did not have an all inclusive deal, but we did not mind, because the price was around $200-300 cheaper than the all inclusive hotels. The only thing I wish this hotel had a was a hot tub and a sauna.

What I love most about this hotel is the location! It is a short walk away from plaza caracol and most importantly, the clubs (km 9.5). Therefore, I would definitely recommend this place for those want to be in the heart of the hotel zone and are interested in going clubbing in Cancun. Other all inclusive hotels such as Oasis are way down the strip and would require one to take the bus. Whereas at the hyatt, one can easily walk.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    1,115
    485
    214
    184
See reviews for
814
1,351
143
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Me and my frnd checked into the hotel on 3rd March afternoon. When we entered the hotel I had the feeling of a huge hospital :) But I started loving the place as soon as we hit the beach. Lovely beach I must say. Breakfast at the hotel was decent. Also staff in the restaurants customized the food for me as I was vegetarian. I also loved the beach facing bar. This was the cheapest hotel available on that day. (500 for 2 days including flight tickets from Dallas, and we booked through expedia)

I also experienced the spa and it was amazing.

One negative thing I found was they could have kept more people who speak decent English but that is still fine as we are in Mexico.

Room Tip: They asked 30$ more for beach facing hotel. I didn't take that but room but still we had a dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmal_Shankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Margarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We really enjoyed our week here. It started with an on-time pick up at the airport (arranged through the Concierge service) and continued on arrival to our room - a bottle of champagne on ice, an anniversary gift from the Hotel. We had added the "Regency" service to our reservation, and were very pleased with all the amenities included in that, and would highly recommend it if you decide to stay here. We were on the top (14th) floor, and had a wonderful ocean view. We liked the included breakfast and drinks/hors d'oevres services in the Regency Lounge daily, as well as the Concierge service - Violeta was helpful with suggestions, reservations and personal checkout. By the way, the breakfast was not just sweet pastries and old coffee, nor the "happy hour" offerings just chips and dips! For breakfast, we are talking fresh-squeezed juice, cereal, fresh, sliced, tropical fruits, smoked salmon, ham, cheese, bagels, toast and muffins. Plus coffee - brewed, expresso, capuccino. And the 5p-7p foods included canapes, fresh veggies, focaccia sandwiches, cold meats, cheese, and some petit fours as well. Drinks offered included beer, wine, some mixed drinks as well as sodas, and coffee. The Hotel offers a $200 USD value for food purchases at the Hotel, for a pre-paid $100 USD purchase. We had a couple of dinners at The Grill (main restaurant), computer use in the Deli, and we used the last of our "allowance" for a room service lunch on our last day as we were packing! . Other reviews mention an excessive noise level, but we did not experience that at all. I agree, the elevators were very slow - but we were in vacation mode, with no pressing time deadlines, so we allowed for that if leaving for a timed dinner reservation. The beach was spectacular, the towels luxurious, and there were three different "lounging" areas on the beach: the covered "cabanas" (our favorite), chaise lounges under thatched umbrellas, and for the true sun-worshippers, there were uncovered chaise lounges. For people wanting organized things to do, there were activities ranging from yoga classes to pool volleyball. The bus system was inexpensive (75 cents anywhere), frequent, and speedy!! And yes, as you find anywhere in the world, including the USA, it's wise to ask/negotiate taxi fares before the ride. One suggestion you might find helpful to avoid the constant barrage of individuals wanting to sign you up for tours as you walk around the Hotel Zone/Cancun: wear a T-shirt with "Cancun" on it somewhere, and say: "thanks, but we are leaving tonight" - that stops the conversation immediately! In all, we were very pleased with the Hotel. We liked the location, the friendly, helpful staff and the value of the Regency upgrade. There are other, more modern, high end Hotels in Cancun - but at more than twice the price. Should we return to Cancun, we would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Add the Regency upgrade to your reservation - you'll save money by not having to buy breakfast d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I read some of the recent reviews....several things to consider about the Hyatt
1.) The staff from beach attendants to cleaning personal were all great
2.) Ask for an Ocean View - upgrade if needed ...you'll get a breakfast and happy hour every day on the 14th floor executive room and you'll get 20% off any bar or dining bills at the hotel The HH is not just beer and wine....you can get martinis, pina coladas, champagne etc etc....anything!. The food was good - the selection was ok...mainly ham, turkey, smoked salmon, breads, desserts - almost the same for breakfast
3.) Don't go during spring break - we left just when the college break was starting. Inside the hotel is circular and it's very noisy when people come in at 4 a.m. ,so the echoing effect is loud
4.) Beach is phenomenal and the color of the water is even better
5.) One comment a person mentioned he lost $400 in the deposit box.....make sure it locks and is locked whenever you leave. That box isn't going anywhere
6.) Pool is only 20 seconds away from the beach itself. The pool does not overlook the beach, but still a nice area with a bar in the pool area
7.) If using a taxi, always ask the price 1st, everything seems negotiable and one time for us they wanted to charge more after the ride...
8.) Bus drivers are rather reckless, beware
9.) If you want ice, go to the bar in the lobby and they'll provide you with free ice to take to your room
10.) Overall our stay was very good and would go again....but don't get a room overlookinig the night life area.....one place called Coco Bongo is rather loud with the pounding noise

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Ocean View Room facing the southeast - will reduce nightlife noise and will have a muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodejode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Had an average 5 night stay in February on the 'executive' floor.
Pros:
* the beach is fantastic, probably the best in Cancun
* ocean view from room (we were in room 1412)
* 'double your credit' promotion made the food and drink prices on the property seem more reasonable
* the food at The Grill was pretty good (had 3 lunches and 2 dinners there)
* food and drink service on the beach and at the pool
* comfortable bed
* free drinks in the executive lounge at happy hour
* well equipped gym
* the gelato in The Deli (coconut and chocolate chip were both hits)

Cons:
* Strange smells everywhere -- for the first 2 days the elevator smelled like sewage; we had an odd food smell in our room every evening and weren't sure where it came from, ground floor ladies restroom had an awful smell
* Other elevator issues -- the elevators are VERY slow and it feels like you wait forever. Plus, they didn't have any air circulating in them, so it was hot and uncomfortable (especially since there were always lots of people in the elevator due to the long wait for the elevator)
* The noise from the local bars. Our friends stayed in room 1401 and were definitely on the wrong side of the building. They could hear music and announcers until 4am every morning. Be sure to request a room on the opposite side of the building.
* Difficulty communicating with front desk staff. We had a unique reservation situation (one regular reservation for one night and then a rewards points reservation for the remaining 4 nights) and we really had a hard time getting them to understand. Also, we asked to buy $200 worth of the 'double your credit' and found out at check out that they had only charged us for $100, so we didn't get quite the advantage we hand planned for.
* Housekeeping sometimes didn't get to our room unitl 4pm or later. We had already spent the day at the beach and wanted to come back to the room, take a shower and a nap and couldn't.
* Spa experience was less than ideal. At first, they refused to give me a massage as I indicated that I am a cancer survivor on their health form. After 3 calls to the 'manager.' I was told that they would only do the massage if I filled out a new form and left the cancer info off of the form. I get massages regularly and have never had my cancer survivor status be an issue. The sauna in the ladies locker room did not work and there was no relaxation/waiting area. So, we were given the option to use the sauna in the men's locker room since there currently weren't any men in the spa. We took this offer, but when we were done in the sauna, we ended up sitting on a hard bench in the men's locker room waiting for our appointments. Very awkward. Also, at the end of your services, they ask you to complete a satisfaction survey and then they stand over you and watch you complete it. Same thing when listing a tip. My actual massage was pretty good, but the rest of the experience was not good.

Overally, it definitely wasn't Hyatt Regency quality -- it is more like a standard Hyatt at best. Given we only actually paid for one night, it was OK. I wouldn't pay regular price to stay here in the future.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here April 2012 and loved our stay! The hotel is adjacent to all the action so we never took a taxi once we arrived to the hotel. The service was great, servers were very attentive. The pool area was fun and engaging. Overall, the staff was wonderful. The food here is delicious, we took advantage of the double your money promotion they had going on. Definitely will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlastics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Got in the room and in the first day and found the thermostat didn't work, the blower rattled, the sliding door stuck a foot from closing and my wife couldn't open or close it, no ice bucket, but the ice machine was broken anyway, the mini bar kept everything just below room temp, so no cold anything and no ice.The front desk staff acts like they are doing you a favor when you ask for help and they did not get anything fixed. It took five days to get most of this stuff fixed and only happened after meeting with the GM. They replaced an AC motor so the fan didn't rattle anymore, but the thermostat still didn't work right. If you set it below 27c, you froze as the unit never shut off. This way it would work at that temp or we had to turn it off completely. They ripped up the track for the slider and replaced it so the door did work after that. The hotel has a round atrium the full height of the hotel which echos at night. We were awakened 3 different nights (on the 11th floor) with drunks coming in yelling and screaming. This place would never survive as a Hyatt in the US. This was our 10th time in Cancun, stayed at Marriott Casa Magna twice, JW Marriott once, Hilton (now something else 3 times) both Westins, Sheraton ( long gone) and this dog. The weather, water, beach can't overcome this tired hotel. Out of the ten times we have vacationed there, this is the worst managed property by far. They don't do any of the little things right: warmers are missing from trays at the breakfast buffet, so the food is cold, one day towels are not replaced, next day-no glasses, next day no shower mat for the floor etc, etc, etc. By the way the rooms have showers only without doors--only glass half way across the shower. The water splashes all over the floor every time you use it. The tile bathroom floor is always wet and slippery as a result. It is very unsafe. The rooms are small and the pool is tiny compared to any of the newer hotels. Were sitting on the balcony having a glass of wine on our last night and the balcony lights came on which drew bugs and was blinding. The lights were controlled by a switch on a timer for the whole hotel and could not be turned off. There was a switch for this light in the room but it was by passed and did not work. The bulbs had to be unscrewed to turn it off. The beach is good though as virtually every one in Cancun is. I could go on and on but hopefully the message is getting across. Finally, there is nightclub a short way down the beach that plays music so loud you can see the glass vibrating. Don't worry though, it only goes on until 3:30 AM. If you want to get a relaxing night's sleep, it won't happen here. Pick any hotel but this one especially if you are from the states and have stayed at other Hyatts. You will hate this place after a couple of days. Bob Lewis

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the other hotels on the beach. About 25 % of the rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,885 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
0.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#67 of 175 in Cancun
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Grand Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Grand Punta Cancun

Property: Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hyatt Regency Cancun)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#42 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Krystal Grand Punta Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Krystal Grand Punta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hyatt Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing