We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good...just minor notes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good...just minor notes”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Ok, well, I'm writing this while I'm still here and I just got here yesterday. I can't write about the stuff I don't know about, but I can write on the stuff that I do. So here is my pro/con mixed up:

Check-in: awesome. Was checked in right away and didn't have to wait for a room either, even though it was 2pm and not check-in time!
Room: nice, updated, clean, shower head trickles and the water doesn't get hot...just warm. I would complain. Ur I'm sure they can't do anything about it and I'm not looking for a free upgrade just because. Great ocean view! Room 517 to be exact!
Beach: very NICE!! Many lounge chairs and palapas available and the beach is gorgeous! Prime location and the water is luke warm and clear. No trash and it is quiet. Unlike many other resorts here, it is not overcrowded at all.
Pool: quiet, clean, peaceful, relaxing, enjoyable...too many words to describe. No towel games here as the pool almost gives the illusion as though you're the only one on the hotel grounds.
Food: here's where I have a problem. Fish tacos pool side is great! The ceviche is okay, as I've had better. And the dinner at The Grill is just so-so. The drinks are very well made and plenty of alcohol in them! Breakfast was expensive...since it's not the Hyatt anymore, then I don't think it should have Hyatt prices. I paid $30 for the buffet and it had a good selection, but it appears that more money was spent on the pastries than anything else as there was an abundance of them. Not really worth it to me. Maybe I'll try the menu tomorrow.
Staff: very friendly and accommodating, but they fail to tell u about a deal where you can pay $100 for $200 credit towards food/beverages. I found this out when I was asking about wifi (I'll get to that next). I saw a couple checking out of the hotel and the staff was cutting their wristbands off. I asked what the deal was with that as this hotel is not all inclusive. They told me that they purchased that plan mentioned above as well as he breakfast plan for $30/day. I asked if I could partake and the person (not mentioning names as I'm still here and don't wish to get anyone in trouble) told me that I would have needed to ask about it only on checking in. I asked how I was to know about it since there are no signs and no one told me. This person told me that they had a meeting about it today and discussed whether to tell guests or not and it was decided against because this was an option under Hyatt and they are trying to move away from it at the present time, however it is still available upon request...hmmm, poor customer service in my opinion. Also, the tips go into a pool that they all share so if someone goes above and beyond, give them your tip on the sly (I.e. Cash or pesos).
Wifi: not free, you have to pay about $15 for 24 hours, but it's good and I've had no problems connecting. Only suggestion to hotel would be to make it easier on guests to obtain your login, because you have to physically go to the front desk each day and pick up you written down PIN number pulled from a book. Weird as this is the 21st century and all.
Spa: do splurge on this. I did their Mayan massage and it was good. Very relaxing as that's what I was looking for since I'm traveling alone. I'm going again for the hot stone massage and shiatsu upon checking out.

That is about all I can review for now but I think it's overall pretty positive. I'd stay here again if given the chance to but I never stay at the same place twice. I'm sure all the kinks will be worked out soon as they are just adjusting to the take over recently. I will be trying their sushi bar tomorrow and the beach restaurant as well so we'll see how that goes. I hope this review was helpful in anyway and it's not exactly complete. If you're considering this place then do give it a shot. If you're looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle that brings about the all inclusive hotels then this is it. Relaxation at its finest!

Tip: do NOT buy any conveniences on the hotel grounds. There is an XOXO right across the street where you can buy everything you need. I bought two 1L bottles of water for only 17 pesos whereas the room and convenience store in the hotel charge you 110 pesos for one...rip off! The bottles of water by the sink in your room are free though, but you only get two. Stay hydrated my friends! lol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allinclusiveguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    1,101
    476
    212
    181
See reviews for
787
1,336
140
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel has a good location and view but giving a low rating for the service. My parents arrived at the hotel and due to a mistake from hotel staff they broke their phone. They had to completely change their plans in order to buy a new phone with little to no support from the hotel staff. Next time will pick a hotel with better customer service

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was booked for Hyatt Regency, Krystal took over on May 1st.

Excellent Location, walk-able to main bars, clubs, restaurants, and shops.

Hotel Room was clean, you can hear all the noise outside of the room (doors slamming, neighbors shower running), also if your on your balcony you can hear the noise from the AC units of the neighboring hotel. Shower is clean, big, water pressure good, room was always cleaned timely with new supplies. Beds are ok, not the most comfortable.

Air condition in room, in the hotel, elevator, restaurants, hallways - quite warm, wasn't sure if AC worked in those areas.

Not a lot of younger people at the hotel (18-25 range).

Pool was always half empty, the swim up bar made some horrible drinks.

The breakfast buffet was ok, out of 10, it was like a 6. Good but not great. Didn't eat any other meal here besides breakfast so can't comment on anything else.

Slightly above average and just below very good, i would say more like good but no rating for that.

Room Tip: Ask for beach side, much quieter balcony then those facing Dreams Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenG3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
500 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Previously known as Hyatt Regency until 05/01/2014, now part of neighbor Krystal Hotel Group. Located in Punta Cancun(upper north-east corner of Cancun Resort Area) and very close to
Cancun Convention Center. Great location, great beach. Clean with good, helpful staff. I stayed in a high floor, so there was no problem with noise. Air conditioner was perfect. Will stay here again when coming back to Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Lucky if you can get a beach front high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I cannot speak a lot about the new administration, but my stay started under Hyatt Regency and finished under Krystal Grand..

The noise outside of big A/C machines still is there. If you close your windows you will barely hear it. Not a problem in my case.

The beach is amazing. Very wide and you could walk into the sea 30m and still have the water barely reach your waist...

The location is not very friendly to walk around, but as long as you stick to the amazing beach and to the amazing tours all around the Yucatan peninsula, you'll be fine...

Room Tip: Pick ocean view for less A/C noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I left some cherished items accidentally in the room when we checked out. I notified hotel immediately and requested the items be mailed to my home. Have tried no less than 6 times,via phone calls and e mails to get a response and can't even get management to contact me on the matter. Furthermore the rooms are Spartan and uninviting. what kind of hotel blows you off in customer service like this. One that won't get return visitors certainly. I should have figured that out since the first contact with staff was bug sprayers in our room as we arrived. Will never go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I only stayed here for one night during my trip and don't have any complaints. Its not overly luxurious however it was clean and comfortable. No problems, Restaurant in the hotel had the best tortilla soup I have ever had. View was breathtaking. Very close to bars/clubs..could hear music at night through balcony. Pool area was small and well maintained. Beach was beautiful. A good value if your not looking for all inclusive. Location is perfect for younger crowd.

Room Tip: Ocean View ONLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabash826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scastrejon2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoy your stay and we hope to see you again in Punta Cancun for more days so we can exceed your expectations with our facilities at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,830 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
0.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#64 of 175 in Cancun
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Grand Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Grand Punta Cancun

Property: Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hyatt Regency Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#42 Family Hotel in Cancun
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Krystal Grand Punta Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Krystal Grand Punta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hyatt Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing