We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maya Caribe Hotel
Ranked #157 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very budget hotel, even if you can get it for next to nothing don't bother.
1* at its best, loads of areas waiting for an accident to happen.
Food a waste of time, always cold, and bar was very very limited as to what it had in stock, ok if you like water or diluted orange.
No hot water for 2 weeks despite complaining every day, moved rooms after 4 days still no improvements.
Take your own towels as the ones that they give you are crap.
Worst hotel that we have ever stayed in, but good location and beach, with lots of improvements this could be a real gem, but do believe all the negative comments,they are true. Looks like management have not taken any action from reviews since 2010, this says a lot about their attitude to your stay.
We booked blind over the internet on price only, don't make the same mistake

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank zigzaghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maya Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We noticed that you gave Maya Caribe an excellent quality/rate score. Yes, our property is focused on low budget tourists that visit Cancun trying to save money on accomodation in order to be able to expend more on tours and entertainment. Your comments about making improvments are important to us and we´ll take actions in that direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

a hotel that tried its best to ruin a good holiday. i would strongly recommend you do not book it. it is possibly the worst hotel i have stopped in. slop for food, queueing out of door to get it on an evening. 2 nights of that put me off using it again on an evening ,rude staff, shambolic service. every time i went near reception someone was complaining, alcoholic drinks were a joke, beer served in thimble size plastic cups, cocktails just shocking, zero alcohol content. to prove my point i ordered gin and tonic ( gin having a distinctive smell) smelt of nothing. the rooms , no towels left 3 days out of 10. tv off for 2 days, they removed broken ceiling fan on first day it never got replaced. air con sounded like a tractor, mattress made of concrete,no hot water for 3 days then tepid at best with a shower that was not strong enough to wash shampoo off. need i go on. plus side was nice sunbathing area but you can get that just about anywhere in cancun.

Room Tip: avoid garden rooms or better still the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Maya Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Hello Stuart. We are sorry we did not cover your expectations while you stayed in our property. In order to avoid queueing at the main restaurant we open the Xel-Ha restaurant so all the guests are comfortable at dinner times. We are a family hotel and we have to ensure that our guests behavior does not affect the tranquility of the rest. For safety reasons, no drinks are served in crystal glasses in the pool area. Regarding towels, I think there was a misunderstading as our ecological policy requires us to change the towels daily. In the bathroom of the rooms there is a notification indicating that, if you want fresh towels, you must leave them on the floor. If they are hanging, the maid understands that require no change.
We encourage our guests to contact the Operations Manager (or myself) if you need anything during your staying in order to make it satisfactory.
Again, we appreciate your comments and we are doing our best to get better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our first room was disgusting no warm water let alone hot water it took 7 days to be moved to a better room over looking the car park but I didn't care I had hot water. The food was basic and cold . The entertainment staff angel and Ivan were fantastic and took us off in town in the evenings which wasn't cheep but a laugh. I thought the place was in a lovley location but very run down. When we first arrived we were greeted at reception with a piece of paper and told we had to check out by 12. (great welcome) I've been in basic hotels but nothing like this

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annienanny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maya Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We regret all the inconveniences you had during your staying at Maya Caribe. Our team will do the best to keep guests happy with their accomodation but, sometimes, due to availabilty, it is difficult to change rooms. Everyone is informed about the check-out time when check-in, in order to avoid additional charges for our guests in case of late check-outs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The upside, The hotel is situated on a beutiful piece of beach, the restaurant is quite good and fairly priced, there is several nice swimmingpools and the staff is friendly.

The downside, the hotel is in a terrible state of downfall. The rooms are worn, the sundecks looks like they are dangerous to walk on and nothing has been done on most of the hotel for many years. Also it seems like there is problems with the finances as we were evicted (!) from our room one night. When we returned from the beach a bunch of men were emptying all the rooms in our building and there were 3 armed police officers there. We were told we had to change rooms but no one could really explain what was going on. We were given a new room close by that were as good as the old one and the staff helped move our luggage so there were no real problem but strange nonetheless.

To summarize, if you get this hotel at a good price and don´t mind that it needs some fixing up it is a good deal. (avoid the all-inclusive deals, the buffets didn´t look that good)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had to write this because my wife and I have never been upset about a hotel before from our various travels...

We recently returned after a great holiday to Cancun - in spite of the poor service received here: including confusion on checking in (no hello or proper welcome), grotty rooms and poorly kept facilities (eg dirty bathroom, broken TV/ light, unclean pools), poor food (usually cold and limited choice from the all inclusive buffet) and very importantly staff who had to be encouraged to communicate - with mixed results.

Fair enough it is a budget hotel and we did not intend to spend much time there as we sought the delights of this part of the world - but the very least one expects is clean accommodation and helpful, polite staff. Maya Caribe/ Dos Playas - unsure what the deal is there as they are interchangeable(??) - was a bad experience (a view seemingly shared when discussed with locals)...above all it was clear the people in charge simply do not care.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Webbo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Director of Sales at Maya Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

I am really sorry that you keep that unpleasant feeling from your trip to Cancun. It would help us a lot if you could send me a detailed report of your staying so I can personally take care of your complaint improve the experience of future guests. Please, feel to send me a note indicating your personal info, room number (if you remember it) and dates of your staying. Maya caribe and Dos Playas are 2 different properties and it is important to us to find out where the flaws are located.
Thanks for your help!!!. My email is sales@celuismamexico.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

hotel and food was extremely bad and discusting,I wouldnt reccomend accomodate.Very dissapointed,all surounded especially drunken russians,they was so rude.Getto capm!

Room Tip: not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Director of Sales at Maya Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Hello Sandra....we appreciate your comments, however, in order to improve the quality of our services, I would like you to send us your feedback about what you think it can be improved in our rooms, services and facilities. We do not chose our guests but we always take actions against those disturbing the rest. Please, feel free to provide additional comments to sales@celuismamexico.com
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked Roulette vacation with Sunquest and ended up in the Maya Caribe. We weren't sure what to expect as the hotel had several bad reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised! Our room was very large, ocean view with a king size bed, and sliding doors out onto the beach area. The grounds were beautiful, the beaches clean and not crowded at all. The food was great, good variety for a buffet restaurant. The location is also great... it's a quiet area but close to lots of entertainment. The most amazing thing was the staff! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! And Ivan and Paloma did a fantastic job of entertaining us and getting us involved at the pool area!
All that being said, it is an older hotel and if you look for flaws you will find some... if you are looking for a Five Star resort you probably shouldn't book the Maya Caribe. But, if you are looking for a great time for a great price then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
1.9 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#72 of 177 in Cancun
3,028 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#105 of 177 in Cancun
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#150 of 177 in Cancun
179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#153 of 177 in Cancun
693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Caribe Hotel

Address: Paseo Kukulcan Km 6, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £22 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya Caribe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Caribe Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing