We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garbage!!!..Please Read!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caribbean Princess Resort
Ranked #128 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I stayed at the Caribbean Princess from March 29th-April 5th. I went with my mom and it was her first all inclusive down south adventure. When we arrived at 5am iI wanted to leave right away. It was at best a 1.5 star resort, if you can evn call it a resort. This place needs to be shut down. When we arrived we were going to get a bottle of water to take some meds and brush our teeth, then i realized they have no bottled water and it was 5am so we could not get any for another 2 or 3 hours. The guy at the front desk told me there were water coolers on my floor and I could take a glass from my bathroom to get some, it was empty and continued to stay empty for the next 36 hours.
When we got up in the morning after flying all night and not havinga shoer for 24 hours, we wanted to get a shower to freshen up and go for breakfast, HOWEVER...the shower did not work and there was not even a face cloth in the room for us to wash our face with.
When we went to get showers in the evening they said it had been fixed but they lied. We managed to wash ourselves from the trickling water coming from the rusty shower head. Within minutes the bathroom and entire hotel room filled up with the smell of sewage coming from the water taps, the same water they told us to brush our teeth in.
The next morning we tried to switch resorts anmd pay the extra but everything was booked up, so our other option was to spend a fortune on day passes to other resorts, and thats what we did. We spent no time only to sleep and shower there. We finally switched rooms on our second night to a muh better room, or so we thought, when we got there we realized the air conditioning didnt work and the toilet didnt flush, BUT the shower worked, so we suffered it out and kept our mouths shut for the next 5 days.
The buffet was terrible, one morning for breakfst the choices were boiled eggs in tomoato sauce, greasy fried weiners, mushrooms and onions, one kind of cereal, and an omlette if you wanted t cooked. For supper one ngiht i ha soup, it was a greasy tomoto broth with pieces of sandwhich ham and noodes in it. The salad bar consisted of brown soggy lettuce and tomoato....if we didnt buy day passes to other resorts and eat at restaurants we would have starved.
So please please please pay attention to this review!! I don;t like people who complain about everything and I am not one of those people I promise. This was the worst travel experience of my life, this "resort" needs to be shut down!!!!!
There were several pools and fountains around that were empty, the "gym" was some rusted weights on the floor and a rusted exercise bike the clearly no one used, no nightly entertainment ,we were asleep by 8:30 out of boredom.

Stayed: April 2010
4  Thank lorib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

If you are used to prison food, toilets that don´t always flush, being wake up every morning to the sounds of an old cassette tape of ABBA, personnel that looks friendly -when you tip them $5 every meal, but not so when you don´t- and you are left on your last day of staying without room service, toilet paper, anything to eat or drink and you have to leave your room at 12 when your flight is at 8 p.m., then you will be fine. Oh, the shower water is a little funky: "esta agua no hierve" , means that doesn´t dissolve the soap, and you feel like you are showering with a mix of milk and chalk. And that´s when someone turns on the water heater, wich they usually seem to forget. The good: very friendly iguanas, food frenzy when you throw pieces of bread to the fish.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peneretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Toilettes dont work, showers only run cold, beds are hard, food is disgusting, hot tub broken, smells of sewage the staff sucks and there are no other quests! Do not book here! I left and went to the Riu Caribie that hotel was amazing and I recommend there instead. Pay the extra and go to a better hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donttrustthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Caribbean Princess Hotel just this past February and it was fabulous! The food was excellent , the staff are more than ready to help you at any time. The rooms are older looking, but clean. The beds were clean, the toilets flushed with a bit of difficulty but they do the job.
If we had to go back to Cancun we would definitely stay at this hotel again. Not to mention the fact that this hotel has so so reviews online, there were only 10 couples in the entire hotel which meant that we had the staffs undivided attention.
If you want a 5 star service hotel then book a 5 star hotel. As for us, we like the plain and small hotels, and this was certainly a jackpot-low cost and very peaceful!
(Patti, still waiting for your review haha)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed at the Caribbean Princess with friends this week and after reading all the bad reviews like many I didn’t really want to go!

I’m going to keep this simple, the Caribbean Princess is fine if you’re away with light hearted friends on the booze and want some where cheap to stay. This hotel is NOT GOOD if you’re away for a relaxing week with the misses. The hotel is very dated and tatty and the food is what you would expect in a prison. (I eat out most nights!)

Once again of you’re away with a load of mates on the booze then fine however, if you’re with the misses or your partner trust me pay a little extra and stay somewhere else!

Good Luck!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

During our stay - Feb 6 to 13, 2010
Hotel old but one can see it had it's place as a top notch Hotel in it's time, lot's of marble. Bad; First part of stay No Hot Water, Which only mattered when the shower worked. Pool Side chairs, and ensuite chairs, Old with several broken. Dock in ill repair, some spots scary to walk on. Hot tup Not working at the time of our stay. Adult pool Area Dirty did not use. Kids pool working but had what looked like a light box hanging out under the water also dirty. Gym 3 pieces of old rusty equipment not usable, pushed to the side of the room. Buffet short on food 6 Selections It took me a week to realize the salad bar wasn't just the hamburger condiments. Staff appeared to do the best with what they where given to work with.
Good; Staff was great, Surface appearance with all that marble "beautiful" Always was able to order food from kitchen. The fish "Barricuda" was very tasty. Not many people around so you realy got to know the ones who where staying there. If you plan not to eat much at the hotel or sit around the hotel/ pool all day, so inother words only need a place to lay your head for cheap this is it. Just keep in mind good luck with plumbing

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAP367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We exchanged through RCI; we were only people there for our week apart from one American couple for one afternoon & a Mexican family for a day. No wonder! Our first room had dead cockroach, non working TV, no hot water, hole on bathroom wall where extractor had been removed; dirty bath area, poor working shower. We were transferred to end unit with hot water in bathroom so long as you ran the taps for 10 minutes; no hot water in kitchen, leaking a/con unit in bedroom; broken blinds; no basin or bath plugs; pleasant enough gardens & pool but very poor otherwise.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spligit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.6 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
4 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
5,887 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#95 of 177 in Cancun
10,736 reviews
4.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Princess Resort

Address: Calle Galeon D9-5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £65 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Princess Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caribbean Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Princess Hotel Cancun
Caribbean Princess Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing