We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Pleasant hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribbean Princess Resort
Ranked #122 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Pleasant hotel staff”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel itself is very quaint, it is located along side the Nipuche Lagoon. The food was good, a better variety would have been nice. Staff were very friendly, and went above and beyond to make you happy. Beds weren't very comfortable, but after a long day sightseeing it made no difference. Close to many bus stops. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    71
    35
    37
    56
See reviews for
22
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

What people must remember is that they are in Cancun NOT the UK, so if you want to eat Fish N Chips then stay in the UK!! The reason I say this is because during our visit we had people who had nothing better to do than critisize about anything and everything about this hotel. Mainly they moaned about the food as there problem was that there taste buds were in their eye sockets instead of their mouths, thus would never even try the local foods on offer, which were really good, if you would bother to at least try them. We have 2 children who can be fussy eaters and the staff bent over backwards in everyway to cater for them both during breakfast lunch and dinner. ALL staff were very friendly and if we ever desided to open a business in Cancun we would not think twice as to where we would poach our staff from. Alvaro is not ignorant like stated in other comments infact he is far from it, he was a pleasure to know, he was good with the kids and as for his cocktails try the MEXICAN FLAG!! As for the restaurant staff, Cesar, Juan, Romualdo to name a few were fantastic. Tony, Ali and Dennise the entertainment staff didnt just do their job they exceled well past there job descriptions. As for the hotel itself, yes its abit out dated, yes its by a Lagoon but if you read the holiday brocures then you would realise this, as for the beach if you get off your lazy butts and actually leave the hotel and venture out you would clearly realise the beach is opposite the hotel ( yes behind the ones across the road!!) and not hard to find at all. At the end of the day the hotel is there to sleep and eat, you dont have to spend every minute of everyday there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I stayed at the Caribbean Princess from March 29th-April 5th. I went with my mom and it was her first all inclusive down south adventure. When we arrived at 5am iI wanted to leave right away. It was at best a 1.5 star resort, if you can evn call it a resort. This place needs to be shut down. When we arrived we were going to get a bottle of water to take some meds and brush our teeth, then i realized they have no bottled water and it was 5am so we could not get any for another 2 or 3 hours. The guy at the front desk told me there were water coolers on my floor and I could take a glass from my bathroom to get some, it was empty and continued to stay empty for the next 36 hours.
When we got up in the morning after flying all night and not havinga shoer for 24 hours, we wanted to get a shower to freshen up and go for breakfast, HOWEVER...the shower did not work and there was not even a face cloth in the room for us to wash our face with.
When we went to get showers in the evening they said it had been fixed but they lied. We managed to wash ourselves from the trickling water coming from the rusty shower head. Within minutes the bathroom and entire hotel room filled up with the smell of sewage coming from the water taps, the same water they told us to brush our teeth in.
The next morning we tried to switch resorts anmd pay the extra but everything was booked up, so our other option was to spend a fortune on day passes to other resorts, and thats what we did. We spent no time only to sleep and shower there. We finally switched rooms on our second night to a muh better room, or so we thought, when we got there we realized the air conditioning didnt work and the toilet didnt flush, BUT the shower worked, so we suffered it out and kept our mouths shut for the next 5 days.
The buffet was terrible, one morning for breakfst the choices were boiled eggs in tomoato sauce, greasy fried weiners, mushrooms and onions, one kind of cereal, and an omlette if you wanted t cooked. For supper one ngiht i ha soup, it was a greasy tomoto broth with pieces of sandwhich ham and noodes in it. The salad bar consisted of brown soggy lettuce and tomoato....if we didnt buy day passes to other resorts and eat at restaurants we would have starved.
So please please please pay attention to this review!! I don;t like people who complain about everything and I am not one of those people I promise. This was the worst travel experience of my life, this "resort" needs to be shut down!!!!!
There were several pools and fountains around that were empty, the "gym" was some rusted weights on the floor and a rusted exercise bike the clearly no one used, no nightly entertainment ,we were asleep by 8:30 out of boredom.

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank lorib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Vancouver, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2010

If you are used to prison food, toilets that don´t always flush, being wake up every morning to the sounds of an old cassette tape of ABBA, personnel that looks friendly -when you tip them $5 every meal, but not so when you don´t- and you are left on your last day of staying without room service, toilet paper, anything to eat or drink and you have to leave your room at 12 when your flight is at 8 p.m., then you will be fine. Oh, the shower water is a little funky: "esta agua no hierve" , means that doesn´t dissolve the soap, and you feel like you are showering with a mix of milk and chalk. And that´s when someone turns on the water heater, wich they usually seem to forget. The good: very friendly iguanas, food frenzy when you throw pieces of bread to the fish.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peneretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Toilettes dont work, showers only run cold, beds are hard, food is disgusting, hot tub broken, smells of sewage the staff sucks and there are no other quests! Do not book here! I left and went to the Riu Caribie that hotel was amazing and I recommend there instead. Pay the extra and go to a better hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donttrustthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg, manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Caribbean Princess Hotel just this past February and it was fabulous! The food was excellent , the staff are more than ready to help you at any time. The rooms are older looking, but clean. The beds were clean, the toilets flushed with a bit of difficulty but they do the job.
If we had to go back to Cancun we would definitely stay at this hotel again. Not to mention the fact that this hotel has so so reviews online, there were only 10 couples in the entire hotel which meant that we had the staffs undivided attention.
If you want a 5 star service hotel then book a 5 star hotel. As for us, we like the plain and small hotels, and this was certainly a jackpot-low cost and very peaceful!
(Patti, still waiting for your review haha)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed at the Caribbean Princess with friends this week and after reading all the bad reviews like many I didn’t really want to go!

I’m going to keep this simple, the Caribbean Princess is fine if you’re away with light hearted friends on the booze and want some where cheap to stay. This hotel is NOT GOOD if you’re away for a relaxing week with the misses. The hotel is very dated and tatty and the food is what you would expect in a prison. (I eat out most nights!)

Once again of you’re away with a load of mates on the booze then fine however, if you’re with the misses or your partner trust me pay a little extra and stay somewhere else!

Good Luck!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#103 of 175 in Cancun
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#148 of 175 in Cancun
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#92 of 175 in Cancun
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#63 of 175 in Cancun
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 175 in Cancun
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Princess Resort

Property: Caribbean Princess Resort
Address: Calle Galeon D9-5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Princess Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Caribbean Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Princess Hotel Cancun
Caribbean Princess Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing