We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining”

Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond
Ranked #13 of 1,065 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$80
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: DU MEXIQUE es un Lujo Gastronómico con una sola "Estrella"... Usted!. Es un pequeño espacio donde la tradición se encuentra con el estilo contemporáneo, el Romance y los Cinco Sentidos. El Lugar se ubica en pleno Corazón de Cancún, la cocina es la herencia de nuestro prestigiosos Chef Alain Grimond, y ahora es ejecutada con perfección por nuestro Gran Chef Benjamín Ferra y Castell. Y, por supuesto que su elegante diseño interior y su impecable servicio, poseen la firma inconfundible de su anfitriona y Propietaria Sonya Grimond.-Abierto de: 19:00 a 23:30 horas.-Descansamos el "Domingo".Gracias.
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Absolutely unforgettable dining experience. The ambiance of Chef Alain and Sonya's restaurant is great. They greet each guest at the door and treat everyone as family. They personally present your meal making it like home. Except that Chef Alain's meal is better than mom ever made. Each dish that we tried was exquisite. Definitely the best venison my husband ever had. This restaurant is a must have experience during any trip to cancun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EchoBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal EchoBrown:

Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Cariño y Saludos Soleados desde nuestro pequeño Paraíso Cancún ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 227 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visit Cancun at least 3 times each winter and try all the top reviewed restaurants. Du Mexique continues to be our favourite experience. Chef Alain and his wife, Sonya, are so welcoming and fun, while maintaining their professionalism. The food is simply outstanding. We have tried virtually everything on the menu and are hard-pressed to choose a favourite. Chef Alain is a master of the soufflé so we always choose one of them, either as an appetizer or a dessert. We found out on our last visit that Chef Alain also makes a wonderful mojito!! Who knew? This time I tried the lamb and it was exquisite. We can't recommend this restaurant highly enough!! Can't wait to return. Merci Chef Alain. Gracias Sonya. Hope to see you again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank obknoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal obknoxious:

Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Cariño y Saludos Soleados desde nuestro pequeño Paraíso Cancún ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

One the finest if not the finest culinary experiences of my life! Small beautiful restaurant decorated with original paintings and fresh flowers. The restaurant doubles as the home of the world renown Chef Alain Grimond and his wife. From the time you arrive until you walk out the door they treat you as family. The food is remarkable. From the cheese soufflé to the chocolate soufflé a night to remember.

1  Thank WildBoar_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal WildBoar_8:

Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados desde nuestro Paraíso Cancún ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Used Trip Advisor to pick where I wanted to celebrate my birthday. We could not have made a better choice. Alain and Sonja are so warm and inviting. From walking in the front door until the final good-bye hugs, you feel that you have made new life long friends. The food presentation and flavors are first rate. I lucked out with rack of lamb (one of my favorites) being one of the five entries that evening. My husband had swordfish that was good, but could not compete with the appetizers and salad that started off our meal. When Alain learned that it was my birthday he surprised us with a desert platter that included one of the best chocolate mousse cakes I have ever had. When we return to Cancun Du Mexique will definitely be included in our "must" list of places to visit. We found the prices to be reasonable. We have spent much more money for far inferior food and less ambiance both in Cancun and in the U.S.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal Jackie S:

Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Saludos Soleados desde nuestro Paraíso Cancún ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It was our last evening in Cancun, so we went to one of our favorite restaurants, Du Mexique. As always, Alain and Sonja were there to welcome us with warmth and charm. Alain patiently waits while I practice my college French interpreting his small but exciting menu. My husband and I shared an appetizer and the Romaine salad. We both like beautiful presentations and we were not disappointed. Pat ordered the pepper-encrusted venison and I ordered the duck. Pat felt it could have been a little less peppery, but the moist medallions were not to be missed. The duck was deboned and out of this world. Yes, the wine list is small and a bit pricey, but we were celebrating so, what the heck!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sullish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya G, Propietario at Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable Comensal sullish:

Nada más una nota amistosa, para dejarle nuestro agradecimiento por la confianza y compartir la experiencia vivida en nuestro petit DU MEXIQUE by Chef Alain Grimond.

Cariño y Saludos Soleados desde nuestro pequeño Paraíso Cancún ☼

Chef Alain & Sonya Grimond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Du Mexique by Sonya Grimond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing