We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the stay and location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel del Sol
Ranked #111 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the stay and location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel is off the beaten track a little, but very close to the ocean. Be prepared to take taxi's or transit or to rent a car to get to many tourist locations beyond the available tours. A short walk across the street is a port with tours to Isla Mujeres and a Captain Hook themed dinner event/cruise. There is an OXXO about a block away for all your snack and beverage needs. The breakfast is very basic (flaked cereal, toast, and juice), but I believe more options are available for purchase. You can book tours from the hotel's front desk at a discounted rate. AC works very well, but the TV gets some static and the internet was down for a day during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    45
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
50
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My sister & I stayed here for 2 nights while waiting for our check-in date to a timeshare. It cost us about $15 each per night. I was sceptical about booking a hotel at such a low cost...but it turned out that I made a great choice. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly & helpful!

The free breakfast plas is adequate as we don't want more than juice, toast & coffee in the mornings anyway. The open veranda outside our room was equipped with tables & chairs. We could do our business on our laptops and have our morning coffee.

It is a hotel that is close to the Isla Majeres terminal...so be sure to take advantage of going to the island of Isla Majeres while you stay there. The terminal is about 2 blocks from the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one that opens to the outside veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

The service is none,0,& all they want is money & don't be a penny short. You can't sleep with the paper thin walls & traffic going by a highway,trucks,horns,screeching,loud music,it's the getto of Cancun,for 10 dollars more you can get a nice place and I did the next day,nice beach,wi-fi,drinks on the beach,nice people,please stay away from the horror motel!

Room Tip: All rooms are not worth a dime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haynes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

omaha
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

this hotel is far from almost everything in Cancun.Closest attraction is port that take tourist to Island. Most Taxi driver do not know this place. Took me about 2:30 hrs to find the hotel (had rental car).
Room is clean good size - good enough for one night stay.
Receptionist was not helpful, at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trips080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I ended up here after major interruptions to my original plans. I never stay in Cancun as I don't care for touristy places. Oh well. This was the cheapest place I could get on Expedia in a pinch. Driving my rental was pretty straightforward even at midnight and being dead tired. It is right after the Puerto Juarez ferry terminal, so just follow 307 north to Bonampak or Tulum until either of those turn into Lopez Portillo. Alternatively, follow the big signs to Puerto Juarez. As the expedia reviews said, the area is super sketchy and it was hard to sleep with the screeching cars, yelling, and barking dogs.

My experience really deserves 2 or 3 stars, but I was so grateful that despite so many snafus, the staff were still around to check me in. Parking was easy. The building is clean, actually kinda pretty. The room was adequate with a decent sized bed, fan, tv and remote, solid door, and spacious bathroom. The water got hot and the pressure was great.

HOWEVER, the bed linen reeked of stale smoke. It was awful. The bed was so hard and the springs really really hurt. If the hotel could just remedy those two problems, this place would turn into a gem.

The other good thing was the location is directly across from the Isla Mujeres ferry and an XOXO convenience store and right near a Pemex. So, although I was sleep deprived, the place had other redeeming qualities, but I would only stay here again if it was another emergency situation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel very clean and ver good for the price I paid 38 rollers from hot wire.The few negatives is it is a long way from the air port and a good distance from downtown but it is right across the street form the island ferry.The beds are very firm which I did not mind but. Keep in mind very firm.I will only stay here one night before going to Cuba.American Airlines again have thrown a wrench into my trip I will never under any circumstance fly American again they are shoddy and rude.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank barryadamar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed for 4 nights total, the first two I paid full price but the next two since my brother got a discount over the Internet, they gave me the same price, that's about 15% saving.. Staff was very friendly, room was clean, right across from Pto Juarez which will take you to Isla Mujeres.. Will stay here again..

So it's good plotter the price, of you want more luxury, the hotel zone will have a room for you for extra $100 usd

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumend13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.1 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#109 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#103 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#87 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#89 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.3 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#80 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#122 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Sol

Property: Hotel del Sol
Address: Av. Lopez Portillo Manzana 2, Cancun, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing