We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Manager”
Review of Restaurante Tinto - CLOSED

Restaurante Tinto
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: Barbecue, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Residencial Cumbres
Description: Restaurante Tinto, un espacio para amantes del buen comer, Cocina internacional, steakhouse y platillos que van con vino..Sientate bajo nuestro cielo de botellas.. escoge tu vino en nuestro menu de mas de 450 etiquetas de 16 diferentes procedencias, descubre su aroma, degusta su sabor, inclinate un poco hacia atras... y ahora si, preparate para el maridaje perfecto. Wine List certificada por Wine Spectator 2012 / 2013
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Manager”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My party of 6 (4 adults, plus a 3 year old and a 1 year old) made reservations for July 14th. the 6 of us spent 35 minutes in a taxi to get to Tinto only to find the reservation we had made on "open table" was for after closing time (they close earlier on sunday nights). The manager was smirking and completely unprofessional. I asked if he monitored the open table settings tonsure this didn't happen to another patron and I got a wise-guy remark back. I was trying to understand how this could happen, and after that conversation, I understood, it was due to incompetence and poor management. He offered nothing for our $70 round trip cab ride. Not a thing, not even an apology.
The manager I dealt with was NOT the owner. But even still I could never trust myself or family eating in this place. I look at the comparisons for the other restaurants we have enjoyed on our past trips, and I know that I will definitely never give this place a second chance to earn my business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afterfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteTinto, Director General at Restaurante Tinto, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Ryan M, lamento enormemente el inconveniente que tu y tu familia han vivido en su visita a Cancun, puedo entender lo molesto que pudo significar moverse hacia el centro de Cancun con destino a un lugar cerrado, me enoja y me da pena, no entender como pudo suceder esto, siendo que Restaurante Tinto no utiliza el sistema de reservas OPEN TABLE, de hecho, no utilizamos ni ningún sistema de reservas WEB, por otra parte, lo mas desconcertante es saber que dicha reserva estaba registrada para nuestro restaurante un dia Domingo fuera de nuestro horario de atención, puesto que Restaurante Tinto cierra sus puertas los días Domingos a las 18 hs. ( como puedes observar en google o tripadvisor )
Quiero que sepas mi estimado Ryan que comparto tu indignación, cuentas con mi email personal damian@restaurantetinto.com, para investigar juntos como se pudo haber concluido en una reserva tan equivocada.
Espero en algún momento contar con tu amable visita, y poder compartir junto a tu familia una botella de vino y revertir su percepcion.
Pues estoy convencido que finalmente, tras este error ageno a todos, ambos hemos perdido la posibilidad de brindarte una experiencia gourmet memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Even that is location is not in the hotel zone, you should try it”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The restaurant is very nice, clean and interesting, the food is very good try the 16 hours rib, is very very good, the win list is interesting and the attention is impeccable, the desserts are great

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

For my sister's birthday, 12 of us went to Tinto to experience dinner in the dark. This was absolute, can't- see- your -nose darkness. We were led in single-file, hand-on-person-in-front style, to our seats. I assumed the wait staff were owls because where we could not see a thing, they moved about silently to ensure we safely got to our place at the table. We discovered they had night vision goggles. The concept behind eating in total darkness obviously was to concentrate on your gustatory and olfactory senses. The menu was fixed, and we did not know what we were being served, except for the choice we made of main dish: meat, chicken or pasta. Other than that it was pure blind tasting. The experience was delightful as we gave our opinions on what herbs and spices might be in a dish, as well as ingredients. I ordered pasta which was excellent; my husband meat, which he really enjoyed. The salad combination was intriguing: watermelon with goat cheese and asparagus spears. I cannot opine about the wine as I am not a wine drinker. There were no complaints, though. Everyone in our party thought it was worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LolitaCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a nice dinner, meat was good quality and well cooked, good selection of wine to choose from, service was great, super attentive, the place is nice but nothing fancy. The prices are ok, maybe a little too expensive...the area where it is located is not pretty, out of the hotel zone opposite direction from downtown, in a shopping area where there is a supermarket and a Sams club. And it takes a while to get there from the hotels... it is the airport area...Yes it was a good steak dinner but I do not think it would be my first choice next time visiting Cancun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martini_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was there for a "dark dinner".... WOW! It was an awesome experience that you really have to live. The service was super professional and kind, the waiters took care of all the details, they treated us like queens and kings, the meals were excellent... The experience of having a meal with friends in a completely dark room was awesome!

I encourage you to have dinner there and enjoy the atmosphere and awesome experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Tinto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing