We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain, Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Costa Cancun
Ranked #45 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Bargain, Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed 21 January 2004

I booked this trip through a package deal, and was pleasantly surprised by the Costa Real. Upon arrival, we got an early check-in, and were upgraded from a regular room to a studio at no extra charge.

The pool is large and beautiful, and the beacj bar is a great place to start or end a night. The food was decent--there's one a la carte restaurant and one buffet, and while selection isn't great, there was always something both my girlfriend and I could each eat.

Perhaps the biggest asset is the staff--friendly, helpful, and fluent in English while willing to tolerate it when you try out your rusty Spanish, they helped make the vacation for us.

To be sure, there are downsides--one, there is little soundproofing between rooms, and one night we finally had to call management to have them quiet down a neighboring room. Two, the beach is small and not on the ocean, but rather a canal. The solution to the latter problem is to take advantage of your full access to the more expensive Gran Caribe.
Three, there are periods of the day when neither restaurant is serving, so if you prefer a later lunch or early dinner, you may be out of luck.

But those small inconveniences do not overshadow what is a great choice for a vacation hotel. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    1,573
    722
    350
    296
See reviews for
1,253
1,671
173
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 January 2004

We have stayed at the Costa Real a total of 3 times now. The food, the service, and the shows are all good. The beach is small, but it is adequate and nice. The water is especially calm in that area. The jungle kayak tours they offer at the hotel (free) are a lot of fun. The hotel is in a very convenient location close to the tourist area and downtown by city bus. The only complaint is that each time we go there, they attempt to give us room 760. That is one of the smallest rooms there, and it has a smell of sewage coming from the bathroom drains.
Each time we have to request to change to another room, and the other rooms that they have given us were all good (spacious and clean).

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 January 2004

man made beach, with little sand. located beside docks for pirate ships (diesel fumes). rude front desk staff. food wasn't bad and beach bar staff was friendly. regular rooms were lousy. saw some people couldn't get their rooms account overbooking.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 January 2004

We stayed at the Costa Real in Cancun in Jan 2003 and loved it so much went back again in March 2003. Now we are getting Very Excited as we Make yet another trip to the Costa Real Jan 23rd 2004 for 10 Glorious Days!!! The Staff is Wonderful!! And if you've been there more than once they treat you like Royalty and give you the Special V.I.P. Black Wristband. This All Inclusive Resort Has two wonderful restaurants the food is fantastic. you are waited on at both the pool and the beach whatever you want!!! Also room service at no additional charge. You can take the bus anywhere for about .60 USD or if you have a bit extra there is always a taxi around the front entrance. Money can be exchanged right at the hotel but you'll get a higher return if you take a trip to one of the local banks. We went thru Worryfree Vacations which seems to be about the Best Deal out there plus from MPLS/ST PAUL the flghts are non-stop and it also includes free transportation to the hotel and again back to the airport, Plus you can book many different tours, activities and attractions through WorryFree right at the hotel.
Beach is a bit small but the sand is wonderful they groom it every morning. Rooms are very clean and the maids clean them daily. We always tip a couple bucks a day to the maids and a buck or two every three to four drinks at the bar. I understand from some reviews in December they are adding another restaurant and turning this place into a solid four star resort. However we give it five stars for the service and the wonderful people we have met at the Costa Real. So if your free the week of the 23rd of January 2004 come join us at the Costa Real for a Real-ly Great Time!!!! If you have any questions at all just email me and I'll do my best to answer them a.s.a.p. In two words.........Can't Wait!!!!!!!!!!Scott

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 January 2004

Clean hotel, nice workers, beautiful views, and great pool. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 January 2004

We enjoyed the Costa Real Hotel from Nov 29 - Dec 6, 2003. It was a wonderful holiday. Hotel staff are excellent, food was really good. We enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Pina Colada's were to die for at the poolside bar.

Renovations were noisy, which was unfortunate. We asked the staff to move our room, and it was absolutely no problem.

Ingrid and Balue were wonderful entertainment hosts. Evening entertainment was absolutely wonderful. Mexican band was a must to see.

Would go back again in a heartbeat. Thanks Costa Real For making our holiday a wonderful one.

Peggy, Sheldon & Jeremy

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 January 2004

My boyfriend and I spent our 1 yr anniversary at Costa Real and as college students, on a budget- we loved it! I would not recommend such a place for people who can afford more however. The beach was small and the food was average, but for us it was perfect. The service was above & beyond what we expected. We used all of the facilities offered- including the gym (which is great for a hotel) and the beauty salon, where I received a 50 minute massage. (this I highly recommend!) We went elsewhere for entertainment, yet the hotel offers round trip transportation to popular night clubs and free admission as well. There was a "Kid's Club" and an activities team so that everyone in the family can remain happy! Definitely great for a budget vacation!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.0 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
3.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
3.4 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#40 of 175 in Cancun
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
7.4 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
2.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Costa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Costa Cancun

Property: Occidental Costa Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Costa Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Costa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Costa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Barcelo Cancun
Gran Costa Real
Costa Real Cancun
Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing