We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Costa Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$602
US$538
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$730
US$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
US$364
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$376
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$387
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$415
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,047
US$779
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$708
US$592
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$811
US$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,287)
Filter reviews
6,287 results
Traveller rating
2,852
1,846
832
403
354
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,852
1,846
832
403
354
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barhour snack barbuffet restaurantpirate shipsister hotela la carte restaurantsentertainment staffspring breaksmall resortisla mujeresjunior suitefantastic holidaycoco bongoevening entertainmenthot dogsmake reservationshave a good time
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,627 - 3,632 of 6,287 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
1
Reviewed 21 January 2004

I booked this trip through a package deal, and was pleasantly surprised by the Costa Real. Upon arrival, we got an early check-in, and were upgraded from a regular room to a studio at no extra charge.

The pool is large and beautiful, and the beacj bar is a great place to start or end a night. The food was decent--there's one a la carte restaurant and one buffet, and while selection isn't great, there was always something both my girlfriend and I could each eat.

Perhaps the biggest asset is the staff--friendly, helpful, and fluent in English while willing to tolerate it when you try out your rusty Spanish, they helped make the vacation for us.

To be sure, there are downsides--one, there is little soundproofing between rooms, and one night we finally had to call management to have them quiet down a neighboring room. Two, the beach is small and not on the ocean, but rather a canal. The solution to the latter problem is to take advantage of your full access to the more expensive Gran Caribe.
Three, there are periods of the day when neither restaurant is serving, so if you prefer a later lunch or early dinner, you may be out of luck.

But those small inconveniences do not overshadow what is a great choice for a vacation hotel. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
1
Reviewed 21 January 2004

We have stayed at the Costa Real a total of 3 times now. The food, the service, and the shows are all good. The beach is small, but it is adequate and nice. The water is especially calm in that area. The jungle kayak tours they offer at the hotel (free) are a lot of fun. The hotel is in a very convenient location close to the tourist area and downtown by city bus. The only complaint is that each time we go there, they attempt to give us room 760. That is one of the smallest rooms there, and it has a smell of sewage coming from the bathroom drains.
Each time we have to request to change to another room, and the other rooms that they have given us were all good (spacious and clean).

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
windsor, ontario, canada
1
Reviewed 20 January 2004

man made beach, with little sand. located beside docks for pirate ships (diesel fumes). rude front desk staff. food wasn't bad and beach bar staff was friendly. regular rooms were lousy. saw some people couldn't get their rooms account overbooking.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mpls, MN.
11
Reviewed 20 January 2004

We stayed at the Costa Real in Cancun in Jan 2003 and loved it so much went back again in March 2003. Now we are getting Very Excited as we Make yet another trip to the Costa Real Jan 23rd 2004 for 10 Glorious Days!!! The Staff is Wonderful!! And if you've been there more than once they treat you like Royalty and give you the Special V.I.P. Black Wristband. This All Inclusive Resort Has two wonderful restaurants the food is fantastic. you are waited on at both the pool and the beach whatever you want!!! Also room service at no additional charge. You can take the bus anywhere for about .60 USD or if you have a bit extra there is always a taxi around the front entrance. Money can be exchanged right at the hotel but you'll get a higher return if you take a trip to one of the local banks. We went thru Worryfree Vacations which seems to be about the Best Deal out there plus from MPLS/ST PAUL the flghts are non-stop and it also includes free transportation to the hotel and again back to the airport, Plus you can book many different tours, activities and attractions through WorryFree right at the hotel.
Beach is a bit small but the sand is wonderful they groom it every morning. Rooms are very clean and the maids clean them daily. We always tip a couple bucks a day to the maids and a buck or two every three to four drinks at the bar. I understand from some reviews in December they are adding another restaurant and turning this place into a solid four star resort. However we give it five stars for the service and the wonderful people we have met at the Costa Real. So if your free the week of the 23rd of January 2004 come join us at the Costa Real for a Real-ly Great Time!!!! If you have any questions at all just email me and I'll do my best to answer them a.s.a.p. In two words.........Can't Wait!!!!!!!!!!Scott

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, WI
11
Reviewed 19 January 2004

Clean hotel, nice workers, beautiful views, and great pool. I would go back in a heartbeat!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews