We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Parnassus from April 21-26. This was our 4th time in Cancun, but first time staying at the Golden. We booked thru apple vacations, so we didn't have to deal with the bumping to the sister resort.
Rooms: Upon checking we were brought to our room which had 2 beds, we had reserved a king bed, so we went down to the front desk and were told that since we didn't put GUARANTEE on our reservation there weren't any king bed rooms available, and that we could try back the next morning after people had checked out. I didn't want to have to move all of our stuff, so we asked if there were any ocean view rooms, well of course that was $200 upgrade. We ended up paying the extra, it was our first getaway after having kids and i wanted a king bed with a view. We were on the 6th floor and had a jacuzzi tub, so we thought it was worth it. however, after being there a couple days, it was obvious the hotel was NOT at capacity, so I know there had to be lagoon view king beds available. We asked our travel agent about the guarantee thing and she said that is not true, they probably just knew we would pay the extra money. The room was very nice, the view was amazing and the beds were very comfy. The air was barely air, the coldest it would go was 72! after being in the sun all day, we wanted it lower than that! We did have a fridge in the room, but it was empty. there were 2 small bottles of warm water on the counter, not sure why they couldn't just place them in the fridge. Every day, I had to leave a note to leave us more water and they would still be on the counter.
Bars & Entertainment: their nightly shows were ok, i've seen much much better, but this place is very small and their daily entertainment staff also does the nightly shows, thats a long day, so i give them alot of credit. The activities at the pool were fun. but sometimes if you didn't participate they would give you crap until you would give in. This got a little annoying. My husband is kind of shy and he didn't appreciate being called out when he wasn't participating. They did keep the bar by the pool open until 2am, which was nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy the open air, and the bartenders out there were a ton of fun and always had your drink full before you could ask for another one! Moses was our favorite! the bartender in the lobby was not very friendly, we sat there a couple times after dinner and he acted like we were asking too much for a beer.
Pool/Beach: we were only on the beach one day, there wasn't any drink service on the beach, and it was quite a walk to the Fins Bar get your own drink, the water was pretty rough too, so we hung by the pool mostly. We never had a problem getting a chair, even being able to switch halfway thru the day when the sun started going down. This resort is very small, so we seen the same people everyday and everyone we met was very friendly. They do not have a swim up bar, and they only have one waitress, she was very nice, and she worked her butt off, but it took forever to get a drink, we are good tippers too, hoping that would help, but she just couldn't do it all herself. So we had to get out of the pool alot to get our own drinks. All other resorts we have been to have had a ton of staff, where they were asking before you were ready.
Food/Drink: We were VERY disappointed in the food at this resort. the worst we have ever had and I don't feel we are hard to please. Their set up is very different from other places we have been. they had a VERY small buffet for breakfast and lunch, then it closed. They didn't even have guacamole on their buffet. I was so looking forward to Mexican food, and we barely got any! They had a grill by the pool, made to order sandwiches, burgers, fries, wings, ribs, nachos, this was all very good, we usually ate here at lunch. You had to pick a sit down restaurant for your evening meal. and each restaurant was ala cart, so it took forever, at least 90 minutes. Again, there were way too few staff in these places, they were all running their butts off, and we had to feel sorry for them! We prefer having a buffet to try different things and if you don't like something you can get something else. at this place if you didn't like it you would have to wait another 90 minutes to get it. Even the buffet was more of a made to order style. The breakfast was by far the best, they made your omlets or scrammbled eggs as you wanted. We are mostly beer drinkers and they have Dos Equis on tap. We tried a few of the fruity drinks and my favorite by far was their Mango drink, it is their specialty, they aren't very strong tho, so you usually had to ask for an extra shot if you wanted more. This resort also doesn't have any cans or bottles of pop or beer. we ordered room service one night and ordered 2 beers and they brought us 2 glasses with saran wrap on them? weird.
Spa: we did a couples massage and it was AMAZING, I highly recommend their spa, it was $150 for both of us for an hour and it was at least an hour and a half that we were in their, including all the prep and relaxation before and after.
Outside of Resort: we did a catamaran tour one day, we usualy do this, We have gone on the Samba Catamarans before but they were booked already all week, so we did the Sea Passion, it was alot of fun. The Boat was HUGE, and it wasn't over crowded. I liked the Samba a little better, but I would recommend either one. they take you snorkeling and then to Isla Muerjes shopping, and to a private beach for awhile, and a booze cruise on the way back, its alot of fun. We took the bus to the Plaza Isla one evening, we shopped there for awhile and ate at a mexican restaurant, best food we had all week! Take the bus if you go anywhere, its only $1 each way, just tell the driver when you get on where you are going and he'll tell you yes or no, sometimes they are only for workers that are going downtown. taxi's are very expensive!
Overall, we had a nice vacation, We wouldn't come here again, but only because of the food and and slow service, but that is just our personal preference. The place was very clean, staff usually very friendly, with just a couple exceptions. This is one of the cheaper places to stay, and we determined it is because they barely have any staff to pay! This was also our first time at an Adults only and that makes a huge difference with the pool crowd. We went on vacation to get away from our kids! :) It was so nice not to be splashed in the pool or have to watch your language, etc. The entertainment staff could get away with more stuff around the pool too, making it more entertaining for the older crowd. Adults only is a great perk to this place! Feel free to contact me if you have questions. I rely on trip advisor heavily when we book our vacations, so i'm always willing to give advice or answer questions! Happy Travels!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ilovevacation1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,672
    2,002
    857
    369
    265
See reviews for
506
3,382
97
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recently returned from 5 days at the Golden Parnassus. I had never stayed at an adult all-inclusive before. I was a bit scared by the "swingers reputation" that some adults only places get, but this was absolutely not an issue here. Not a single time was there any sign of anything like that going on. Feel free to head here with your significant other and don't be worried about getting harassed!

The activities around the pool were great. There was always something going on, whether it is beach or water volleyball, basketball, darts, bags, etc. The staff was fantastic - always enthusiastic, wanting to get you involved but absolutely respecting those who had a desire to relax. In particular, Denise was fantastic around the pool. One of the best personalities you are ever going to encounter. She also happens to be drop dead gorgeous, so she got pretty much any man involved in activities! There is only one main pool, but it's somewhat divided into 3 areas with activity in the middle and relaxation on the two sides. At no point did we ever feel the pool was crowded. The beach is wonderful too with TONS of room and plenty of chairs.

The outdoor tiki bar was definitely the place to be late night. People out late drinking, having fun, music blasting, etc. If that's not your scene, the 60s bar inside was great too. Bartender Freddy took great care of us the entire trip. They have pool tables, card tables, ping pong, TVs, and music every night with a dance floor, etc. A great option and a bit less rowdy than outdoors. There is also a beach bar open during the day as well as a lobby bar. Never a far walk to get a drink.

The room was clean and the bathroom was nice. The building could use a bit of a facelift but I didn't have any particular problem to speak of. As long as it's clean, I'm happy, and it was clean every day. No minibar in the room FYI, but 2 bottles of water every morning.

The food options are good but a bit limited. The buffet is open for breakfast and lunch, while we had dinner at Pier 12, The Old Barn, and Sumo. I could take or leave Sumo. The other two had really good food, though we had rather poor service at Pier 12 on two different meals. The workers were working hard, but it appeared they were very understaffed.

Overall, especially considering the price via a deal on Expedia, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was nice not having kids running around all over and there seemed to be a lot of repeat visitors. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. A smaller resort, sure, but I think that's what made the experience great. All the workers remember your name, your drink, and everything.

Room Tip: Odd rooms face west and the lagoon, even rooms face the ocean. Odd rooms - great sunset views, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JackOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned from 3 nights and 4 days at the Golden Parnassus and still wishing we were there! This was our first time in Cancun and also our first time at an All Inclusive so we didnt really know what to expect but we are so glad we found this property. What stands out the most from our time there was the amazing staff, always smiling and eager to help! The beachfront pool was so perfect, big enough to relax in all day and small enough to make tons of new friends. The entertainment staff (Denise & Ulysses) who puts on the daytime and evening activities always kept us laughing and somehow learns everyones names in just a day! They are phenomenal! Eric in guest services will help you with any local activity you need! We never had to wait for food or drinks. The bartenders are so friendly and happy to keep the drinks flowing. The rooms were spacious with large patios. Ours overlooked the pool & ocean and it was paradise. The next best thing to the hotel were all the people that we met there. This hotel is full of friendly visitors who are all trying to relax but not too good to say hello and strike up a conversation. You can always find something fun going on here if you want to at one of the many restaurants or food. There were always chairs open at the pool or at the beach cabanas and always someone nearby ready to bring you a drink! They will even fill up your bigger reusable cup if you have one. This hotel was so fun and such a great value for everything you get with it! You cant go wrong. We will definitley be back!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor above the pool so we had quick access to everything from one flight of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was my husband's and I first visit to Cancun. Everyone at the resort was exceptional, they were beyond the friendliest we've ever met. The resort is older but so very clean. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by Alejandro, who carried our luggage in to the lobby then up to our room, he always had a ready smile. We were led into the lobby area where we were greeted by Eric. This is where we were checked-in, seated comfortably, sipping on a frozen pineapple drink. We like Ana the moment we met her, as the week wore on, we became fast friends. Maru was our concierge, she was always very friendly and very helpful. She suggested some good places to eat, away from the resort, and she arranged for us to have a couple massage, which was fabulous. Our waiter Rogelio greeted us every morning, and had our special table ready every morning at breakfast. He treated us, like we were the only people ready. Downstairs at the BREEZE we had the pleasure of having Rafael make a hamburger for us, and although he worked in a very hot area, he always greeted us with a smile, and was sweet and courteous. In the lobby bar we have some very good Colorado Bulldogs, made by Gabriel and served to us by Edith, along with lots of good conversation. Our final night at the resort we dined at the Sumo Japanese Restaurant, here we had some yummy sushi and a great entrée, followed by some fried ice cream. Sofonia our waitress was so attentive, and Victor, whom we had met previously was also friendly and taught jus a few Mayan words, as he was a direct Mayan decendent. We got hugs from Sofonia and Victor when we left that night. WE had a memorable vacation made more so because of the kind sweet people we met. Se would like to also acknowledge all the people who's names we did not know, who kept our room clean and our breakfast ready. We would like to thank the Golden Parnassus Resort for the great memories.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the ocean, and avoid the 6th floor, may be cooler on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvj222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brierley hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have Just returned from the Wedding of our Son and Daughter in Law at The Golden Parnassus Hotel, our ist time to Mexico, great hotel, food plenty of choice, and not forgetting the brilliant staff where nothing was too much trouble beautiful beaches, friendly people. it really is paradise at its best l agree with Dee G you are spoilt by the staff it is unforgettable

Room Tip: this is an all inclusive adults hotel if all the rooms were the same as ours you will have no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrabulldog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just got back to winter in Idaho. The Golden made us forget our worries for a week. Met lots of great people and made some great friends. DO NOT MISS OUT ON THE SPA. The food was great. The beach was fantastic and the whole property is beautiful where ever you look. The pool is my favorite place. Employees are constantly striving to provide a great stay. I will be back again and again. If I could change one small feature it would be to add free WIFI, but I can deal with that. After all its vacation. - UNPLUGGED

Room Tip: All other travelers should stay home. This place is mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Kelley G,

Thnak you for choosing the Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa to spend your vacations in the Mexican Caribbean.

We are glad to know that you truly enjoyed your stay where you could relax and indulge in our Spa and making new friends in a privileged spot in Cancun’s beach. It is good to know that you could unplugged and leave the world behind to enjoy your vacation, however, we appreciate your suggestions and will be taken into consideration.

We hope to see you back in your next vacation.

Greetings,
Maru Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansing, ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We met so many people that have been going back to the golden parnassus year after year. Now we know why. The food was very good and the rooms were nice and clean. The staff was exceptional. We had no problems or complaints. We will book through apple vacation again for next year!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parnassus2011, Chief Concierge at Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear soctt p,

We appreciate you to take part of your precios time to share with us your feedback. It’s always motivational for us to learn that our guests have had such a golden experience that you are planning to come back next year. We will be more than glad to welcome you back to your new home in Cancun.

Greetings,
Maru Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 175 in Cancun
642 reviews
9.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifetyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#83 of 175 in Cancun
4,898 reviews
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#39 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing