We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best all inclusive hotel in the world ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #53 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
A TripAdvisor Member
“The best all inclusive hotel in the world ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2004

If you are going to Mexico then you just HAVE to stay at this hotel! I have been to several all inclusive hotels in the past in various countries, but this one shows them all how it should be done! The food - Amazing. The Staff - Fantastic! The service you get in this hotel from the minute you pull up outside and get your welcome cocktail at the bar while you check in, until the minute you leave the door is brilliant. everyone from the bell boys to the head waiters and reception clerks are so friendly and helpful. Theres a constant smile on everyone's face, even when they are delivering your room service (free!) at 2am! (Although the food from room service could have been hotter)

If you can try to pre-arrange to stay in an ocean view room. The view from the balconies there is just beauitiful. We stayed in a lagoon room and although it was nice and clean, we would have prefared an ocean view. We soon found out that so did everyone else when we tried to change rooms. Hence why you should try to request it prior to departure.

Its the little things that make this hotel so good - such as the maid making your hand towels in to a different animal every day and leaving flower petals on your bed. And the pool side waiter service, the champagne with breakfast - total indulgence!

Go there - you will love it!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,446
    1,852
    784
    340
    242
See reviews for
441
3,075
78
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2004

My husband and I (both in early 40's) just returned from a four day stay at the GCPS. It was our first visit to Cancun. What a wonderfully relaxing mini-vacation! There are many, many reasons to select this resort if you are looking for an adults-only, low-key, restful vacation in the sun!

When we arrived, we were greeted with smiles, a cool, wet towel to wipe off with and a "welcome drink" which was some kind of mango, coconut thing (we didn't care for the taste, but that's just because we're not big fans of mango). We got different drinks and they were delicious. We arrived too early for check-in, but the reservation person sat down with us at our table and we completed a little card with our names, address, etc., received our blue wristbands, and she informed us that we could shower or change into bathing suits and go down to the pool/beach until our room was available. At that time, we requested an ocean view room and were told that there were none available. A couple of hours later, when it was time to officially check in, we were given a FREE upgrade to a Club Room (6th floor) on the lagoon side of the hotel which had a jacuzzi! If you are fortunate enough to get a lagoon view room, be thrilled because you will have a fabulous view of the lagoon featuring breathtaking sunsets! I think it's also quieter to face the lagoon because the ocean side also looks over the pool area and it can get a little loud with the music they play and the guests having a good time. If you get a room with a jacuzzi, be sure NOT to put all the bubbles in the tub if you're going to turn on the jets. The bubbles multiply and overflow out of the tub! YIKES! What a mess!

Hotel & restaurants: The hotel is all tile (floors, many walls), no carpets (which makes sense because it is SO humid there that everything would smell musty). The hotel and our room was exceptionally clean, beautiful, and a relaxing atmosphere (no loud and rowdy drunks to disturb your peaceful dozing in the sun), plentiful drinks in small glasses (which is a good thing because the ice melts quickly which waters down the drinks), very good food at Pier 12 and Old Barn (Jesus is the BEST waiter!). The buffet was average, at best, but it was OK for breakfast. We didn't go to the Shangri-La, but heard that the food was excellent. The Breeze (pool-side snack bar) serves tasty hamburgers & cheeseburgers, hot dogs, nachos, etc. during the afternoon, and then as an all-night place to grab a bite to eat. Daniel, the night cook at The Breeze, is FANTASTIC - if you go there, tell him Katarina and Juan from Indiana say "Hola."

Pools/Beach: The pools are clean, cool and refreshing, especially after lounging in the hot sun for hours and hours! The lounge chairs and towels are plentiful, there are waitresses to bring drinks (they come about once every 15 minutes or so and if that's not fast enough for you, it's a 20 foot walk to The Breeze to get your own drinks). The beach has sand like I've never seen! It is soft and white and cool to walk on (no burned feet!). There are plenty of little huts to lay under for shade if you've had too much sun exposure, but still want to relax on the beach and listen to the waves crash against the shore. There is some topless sunbathing both at the pool and the beach, but the women who were without tops were discreet and not wandering around flashing their "attributes." There are a few afternoon pool/beach games (volleyball, bingo). And, don't forget your sunblock! I used 30 spf and applied it several times throughout the two days we sat for five hours in the sun and still got tan (but NO sunburn!).

Staff: The hardworking staff at the GCPS is amazing. They are always cleaning, cleaning, cleaning (even things that didn't look dirty to me were getting cleaned). We didn't see one staff person who didn't greet us with a smile and friendly word. Most of the staff who have a lot of interaction with the guests speak very good English, and those who struggle with English have a great sense of humor about the difficulty in communication. I would recommend that anyone who doesn't know much Spanish take along a Spanish/English dictionary. I wish we had... it would have made things a little easier when trying to have a conversation with maids, night time staff.

Tipping: The staff all appreciate even a $1 tip, but we did tip more when it was deserved. We left our maid $10 USD and some American goodies on our last day. The lower-level staff (maids, evening workers) make about 5 USD a day, so if you can tip them, please do. They derserve it! Take plenty of $1 and $5's for tipping and for buying souveniers.

Getting around Cancun: If you plan to take a cab anywhere, ask before you get into the cab how much it's going to cost to get where you're going. We heard horror stories from folks who overpaid big-time because they didn't get a price before they got in the cab. If you take the bus, be careful when you get in. The drivers take off at full throttle before you get a chance to sit down. They drive like maniacs. It costs 6.50 pesos per person for a bus ride. Use pesos, rather than USD, for the bus. You can get dollars exchanged for pesos at the front desk. 11 pesos per 1 USD. We visited a couple of malls and got some very nice bargains on silver jewelry and souveniers. We never made it to the market, but that's OK because we heard that the vendors really chase after you to get you to stop and look. We were there to relax, not get hounded. At the malls, all the stores took USD and some gave change in USD and some gave change in pesos.

We had a wonderful, beautiful time at the GCPS. We met many nice people from around the globe. "Hi!" to Maggie and Phillip from Cincinnati. Hope you had a nice flight home Thursday!

We would highly recommend anyone from 30's to 100 to select the GCPS as their #1 choice for vacationing in Cancun. We will most definately go there again!

Kathi in Indiana

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank kathi64itsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2004

Stayed 7 nigths at Golden Crown Paradise Spa.greatest vacation you could ask for. Bar tenders like Guillermo and Perfecto make the stay the greatest,they were so helpful. And then there was Oscar the waiter ,the greatest. Hotel was very clean, food was always great ,many types of food to choose from, pool was well kept,beach was just as nise.Did not have one bad experiance.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.louis mo.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2004

Just returned from a week stay at the Golden Crown.We are a mid 30's couple from st.louis mo. Ok here is my evaluation. This is a nice place, very clean, good waiters, bar tenders, food is typical all inclusive, but good. I will agree with all the complaints about the beds...terribly...hard!!!Towels where fine though.This place is very nice...you won't find a nicer beach area.... But those of you that are thinking this a partying place beware!!!This is an adult only place meaning NO KIDS!!!But they do not promote much fun in the way of 20 to 40 year old stuff..Alot of the people there are an older crowd 50 +++.They won't turn the music up even around the pool area! And we where ask to keep tops on for pool games.Topless is a little better at the beach area.We just thought they catered to an older crowd 50 +.If you are looking for more of a fun crowd, drinking, laughing,with alittle partying atmosphere you need to keep looking. I would suggest the blue bay get-away.Stayed there last year alot of fun, That is where we will be returning in the future. If you are looking for nice quiet place, to relax, no children, then this is the place. Thanks to Kati & Chantel, (entertainment-staff) you tried to liven up the place a little!And a special thanks to Jose', tikki bar-tender the only great fun we had!!!You are the best!!If you go clubing stick to Senor frogs or Coco-bongo....went to daddy-O's stayed 10 minutes, small dance floor, all tech-no music ,no seating room,poor service!Sucked...Be glad to answer any questions drop me aline.....

Helpful?
7 Thank corvett974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2004

My wife and I stayed from Nov. 21st – 28th. The GPC was a real nice place to stay, especially during the holiday season. (No Kids). My wife and I have done allot of traveling and a lot of resorts. Adults only is the way to go. The beds were hard like some people reported, but if you order extra pillows it helps you sleep better, well so does Jose and Carlos at the Tiki bar (Tequila). They are a lot of fun. There was a big range of age there, from 18 to 80. We found great people to hang out with that were in our age range. The tiki bar stays open late. The girls are topless! Some, you will not care to see at all! Everyone is just laid back opposed to a resort were kids are. The 4 people that work at the resort (Animation Team) are real cool and funny. Katy, Chantel, Jerry, I forgot the other guys name. They will have you doing things all day, volleyball, trivia by the pool, shows at 10, and than out to a different club every night. Coco Bongos is a must! That’s were we met the people we hung out with for the rest of the trip, Montréal and Detroit, ya know who you are, we had a lot of fun, got in at 5am. The food could be better, but remember you can order 5 entrées if you want. I would order 2 or 4 steaks and tell them to leave the sides off. Drinks aren’t bad, but liquor is limited. I had to drink Bacardi and Tequila all week, nothing top shelf. The waitress by the pool and on the beach is good, but allot of people and only one waitress. A bar just opened on the beach last week, so be sure to pick a spot on the right side of the resort. The rooms were real nice and clean, never a problem. We tipped allot. They make about $6 usd a shift, so throw some money around. It doesn’t hurt us. Take the bus 13 pesos for 2 people and they run 24 hours a day, ask the driver to stop at the Ritz Carlton. The people at the flea market will try to get you in their shops, but just ignore them. I am pretty sure that the silver jewelry that they sell on the beach is fake. I bought a chain that hasn’t proved it yet, but I am waiting for it to change color. Al the staff is real nice and overall you will have a good time.

Helpful?
5 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Hills, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2004

We returned Monday 11-29-04 from a 4 day getaway at the Golden Paradise Spa in Cancun.
From the moment we got to the Hotel we were treated very well. We arrived and didn't touch the bags, escorted into the lobby and asked to take a seat while the bellhop got the front desk personel to come to us. They had drinks immediately brought to us as we were issued our wrist bands (which lets the hotel personel see you're a guest as this is all inclusive resort). and hotel room assignment.
Once up in our room our luggage was delevered almost immediatly and we were ready to check the place out.
Everyone was very warm and welcoming, the hotel is very well kept and the room was great with a balcony and ocean view.
Great food at the restuarants (4) + snack bar. An awsome pool and hot-tub (although the hot-tub could have been a bit warmer).
From start to finish we were treated very well. I recommend bringing lots of dollars. Although not required and certainly never implied by any of the hotel employees that you tip, I always feel tipping is appropriate for good service, and a couple US dollars is quite appreciated by these folks who work so hard to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2004

This was our second annual "Girls Vacation" to Cancun and the Golden Crown, Nov 7-14th. We loved it last year and even more this year. Great place to relax during the day and recover from the night before :) Being an all adult resort is absolutely a plus! The staff is superb and friendly and kept us smiling. These Chi-town girls will absolutely return next year!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
6.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.8 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
2.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 14.5 | Retorno San Miguelito Lote 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun, Golden Parnassus Cancun, is an Adults Only All Inclusive Resort Situated on an unspoiled sandbar tucked between Nichupte Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea is one of Cancun's premier adult all-inclusive resorts. A beach resort wholly devoted to the "in the moment" lifestyle, Golden Parnassus Cancun is a destination where exclusive personal service and a sophisticated yet casual spirit offer the backdrop for the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Parnassus Cancun
Cancun Crown Paradise
Golden Parnassus Hotel Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Spa Cancun
Jack Tar Cancun
Golden Parnassus Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing