We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$559
US$538
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$396
US$252
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$730
US$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$525
US$507
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Palace(Cancun)
US$538
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$255
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$708
US$592
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,382
US$849
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,130)
Filter reviews
7,130 results
Traveller rating
3,148
2,262
985
415
320
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,148
2,262
985
415
320
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise buffetsixties bardolphin barpier restaurantla restaurantentertainment staffocean viewcoconut shrimpsister hoteltequila volleyballclub roomlagoon sidebreakfast and lunchsteakjapanese restauranthave a good timesushi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,860 - 5,865 of 7,130 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Kenora, Ontario
122
Reviewed 22 March 2005

We had an awesome time at the Golden Crown Paradise. We were there March 12 to March 19th and had a wonderful time. Before going here we researched all of the hotels & reviews and decided on this hotel, primarily because it was adult only and had pretty good reviews. We were not disappointed.

The food was great. We loved that we had so much choice in the buffet for breakfast & lunch. The service was terrific (especially Oscar). As soon as you sat down there would be someone there taking your drink orders as well as refilling your glasses. Any type of food you could think of was there. For dinner we ate the majority of our meals at the Old Barn. The food here was very good and would recommend it.

The only problem we did run in to was when we first arrived at the hotel we were told that there had been a flight cancellation and therefore the hotel was over-booked for the night. They asked us if we would stay at the sister hotel for the night and that the next day we would be given an ocean-view room. We were a little disappointed, but it turned out O.K. We were given a jacuzzi room suite at the other hotel and had a chance to explore what it had to offer. This hotel had a totally different atmosphere (was very noisy and tons of kids running around). When we were back at the GCP the next day the oceanview room was great (room 532). The bed was firm, but by the end of a long day on the beach we hardly noticed. The rooms very clean.

This is definitely not a party place. If you want to go out and party, go out to the bars at night. If you are looking to relax on the beach, this is your place. The pool area and beach were awesome. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus Ohio GO BUCKS
130
Reviewed 20 March 2005

My first beach vacation without kids, and not in Florida. Stayed at GCP from 3/4-3/11. I was amazed. Of course, got the run around with the room.. BUT, got exactly what I wanted in the end. Be patient. BUT, remember, it isnt always the hotel staff's fault.... you can blame the other tourists who decide to upgrade once they arrive. Book ahead, and e-mail ahead. That's how I got what I wanted.

The hotel was clean. The rooms were clean, of course with the "musty smell" everyone reports of with the oceanview jacuzzi rooms. The humidity is normally high, producing musty rooms-get over it. Buy some incense!

The beds were hard. Oh well... slept only a few hours anyway. Even then, I have had back surgery, and still have back problems.. still, it was manageable.

Clean towels, and HOT water. I mean HOT!! The water preasure is OK..

Linens were clean, and sheets were soft. Get extra pillows. Tips will get you LOTS!! (sorry to other guests during my stay.. I had 10 pillows..LOL)

This is a "low-key" resort. Adults only, and minimal rooms help with the personal attention you are able to receive.

I never got in the pool, but the staff around the pool, and the beach were A+. I felt like I was in a postcard by the views and the water. I visited the other hotel's beaches, and these are the BEST!!!

We had little noise, and both of our rooms were near the golf course (rooms 104, then 208). The jacuzzi is nice, if you dont get too sunburnt!

OLD BARN- average food, with EXCELLENT servie.
PIER 12- excellent food, excellent service. Cold at night if you sit outside.
SHANG RI LA- WOW! Small portions, excellent food.
BREEZE SNACK BAR- hits the spot at 215am, after leaving a night with Jose. Have them cook your stuff longer... tastes just like McD's. LOL
ROOM SERVICE- great staff..great breakfast.. average food. It's better to just go to the Breeze for snack food..don't be lazy!
BUFFET- yumm.. after a night of drinking or whatever.. it was still good. Average, but good.

BARS- Of course everyone knows Jose and Carlos from the Tiki Bar, but DO take the time to see Fermine in the Beer Garden. That guy is HILLARIOUS! HE WAS MY FAVORITE! He will have your drink ready before you get to the counter to ask! Talk to him about soccer! Also, tell him Karli says he is #1. ;-)

Jose.. only saw him the last night. He got me drunker than I have ever been, and I didn't puke. He knows what he is doing!

The entertainment staff avoided me, and I avoided them....?!?! Oh well.. must not have been that good anyhow.

The only thing negative I can report is the rude guests and the jungle tour/speed boat thing, both of which have nothing to do with the GCP. I'd love to come back again, and be treated like royalty again.

Jungle Tour- ugh! Choppy waters, broken down boat. Almost died.. LOL... bad time! If you are not comfortable with the waters, or have never done it before.. skip it! Especially if you get others on your tour who try to make things difficult for you.

Other guests- be nice to other, and dont think that "young" people are "spring breakers". We're both under 30, and most of the older people (40+) were rude.. we just ignored them.... LOL

HI WYATT & LYN! Congrats on the marriage!

SHELLY & ROB! You guys were a riot! Good luck in the future! Hopefully you will get your 2 carats! LOL

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2005

Just arrived home last night from an incredible week at the GCP. Three girl friends and I went for some R & R and fun in the sun. We found it. This place is incredible.

First...compliments to the management and all staff...restaurants, shops, spa, poolside, front desk, bell boys, ...everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.

Rooms...we both received lagoon view on arrival and on the second floor...our lagoon view room 207...had a nice view...with lagoon in background...lots of green foliage...sure you could see the parking lot and tennis court...but trust me ...not like looking out at our parking lots...lots of foliage and flowers.
The nice thing about the lagoon side at this time of year...you get a good two more hours of sunshine once it has gone behind the buildings.

Our other lagoon view room...223 was above the lobby bar area ( which closed at 10 pm ) reasonable...however...other patrons decided to continue to party and after two nights we were fortunate to have this room switched to ocean view...worked well for us...best of both worlds...lagoon view and ocean view.

Besides...lets get real...how much time are you going to spend in your room...you don't come here to sit inside.

Food...incredible....service...marvellous...something for everyone...we ate at all restaurants...Shangri la...fantastic cuisine...fancy, fancy...gourmet. Desserts were incredible.
The Barn...good fun time and entertaining...great steaks...be sure to ask for a shrimp kebab with your steak....remember it is all inclusive..you can have anything you want. If you like Mexican, be sure to order the Fried Chicken tacos one night...you won't be disappointed.
The Pier...great for lunch or dinner...shrimp are incredible...be sure to order the coconut ones.
Paradise buffet...great variety...be brave and adventuresome and try some of the Mexican cuisine...that is part of the culture and experience...great...if you try something you don't like..just leave it. Lots more food...the tomatoes, lettuce and cucumber are out of this world...
Bars...incredible service ...great concoctions...some familiar some new...for martini lovers...be sure to order a chocolate martini at the Barn...smooth !!!

Shopping...incredible on site...jewellry store ...good prices...great selection...comparable to other places.
Souvenir shop and clothing shop....beach wraps same price here as elsewhere.

Tours...arranged through our tour provider not the hotel...be smart...ask some questions before going.
Chichen Itza (sp?) ....don't go if you mind the heat...We have never been that whacked by the heat in our lives...also little stops on the way ended us up getting there at the hottest part of the day...great flea market on sight at Chichen Itza...if you really want to go...price a car rental and drive yourself or find a tour that leaves as early in the day as possible and only stops there.

Xel ha...great experience swimming with the dolphins...but again...unless you are in to snorkeling and water activities...don't take an all inclusive trip...ask some questions before going...Driving yourself there early in day and paying non inclusive fee is likely a better option for many of us.

Tour guides were very knowledgeable and bus drivers great though and no worry about getting lost...all a choice in how you want to go.

We did take both city bus and cabs while there...both fine and great.
Skip Walmart...not worth the ride in.

Spa services...don't skip this experience...two of us treated our self to a body scrub/seaweed wrap...with a final day beach side massage...worth every penny!!! ...I would got to GCP again...skip the side trips and just book a different treatment every day at the spa...and would tip well, knowing now that the girls there only work for commission.

Tips are important ...not that you are ever made to feel you should be tipping...service is excellent without or with... that would be the one thing I would change next visit...I would take more cash to tip with. These people work hard and deserve not only our courtesy but our appreciation. They make you feel very welcome and right at home.

Hope this is helpful to anyone planning a great week or few days at GCP...you won't be disappointed...having no kids running around also was an added bonus...most of us go away to get away...it truly is a get away to paradise at this resort. Something for everyone...you can get as involved as you want or remain laid back and read...your holiday here is what you choose to make it. Enjoy.

Mucho Bueno!!! Have a great trip. We certainly did.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Travelcase77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2005

We stayed at the GCP from 3/6 to 3/13. Our trip was booked through Apple vacations which we would recommend. We had lagoon view the first night. Pony from Apple helped us get our room switched to oceanview for the remaining nights. Apple reps handled everything from the airport to the hotel and back again. They are also helpful with all the excursions. Our room was nice. It was clean and we had plenty of towels.

All the restaurants were very good. No need for reservations. The Old Barn had good steaks and the waiters were very friendly and happy to serve you. Don't worry about the food, there is plenty to choose from.

There are four bars here. The lobby bar was nice. The Beach bar was our favorite during the day. The Beer Garden was a little boring. If you are looking for alot of night life, you will not get it here. The hotel does offer packages to go to other bars at night. The Tiki bar by the pool was fun. At night people would hang out there for a good time. All the bartenders were excellent. Jose and Carlos always had your glass full.

The pool area was great, clean and refreshing. There is a hot tub and it was warm and clean.

The beach was awesome. Plent of places to sit out. The beach was one of the reasons we booked at GCP and we were not disappointed. There was some topless sunbathing at the beach and the pool. This is adults only so there wasn't kids running around. Very relaxing.

The entertainment staff works hard all day long to keep the guests entertained. Katie, Lauren and Jonathan were very friendly and always come to you with a smile on their face. They offered pool volleyball, tequila volleyball, beach volleyball, aqua aerobics, and fashion shows. They also offer shows at night.

The hotel also offers an indoor spa, sauna, steam room, and weight room.

Overall, it was a great vacation. We met some great people from all over the US and Canada: Tony and Barbara, Tom and Vi, Allen and Jill just to name a few. Being at a smaller resort, it was more enjoyable. Have a great time on your vacation. We will definitely return to the GCP. If you have and questions feel free to e-mail us and we will help you out if we can.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank kvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

We just returned from a magnificent stay at the Golden Crown Paradise and Spa. We were there March 2-9.
We spent about 25 hours researching all of the hotels in Cancun, and I'm glad we decided on the Golden Crown. It is the best!

There really isn't a bad thing I can say about this resort.
Although, if you happen to get room 115, and are a light sleeper--you will want to change rooms. This room is right next to the elevators, and you constantly hear them. Also, there is not much of a view if you are on the first floor on the lagoon side, but it was ok since we were in our room so little.

We ate at either Old Barn or Pier 12 every night we were there. Everything we tried at Old Barn was delicious, and Pier 12 offers some good pasta dishes if you are not into seafood.
The breakfast and lunch buffets were also very good. It would have been nice if they were open for dinner though.

Every employee that worked in customer service spoke pretty good English. I don't know what people are talking about who wrote that no one spoke English. The only people that we encountered that didn't speak good English were the maintenance staff!

Jose at the Tiki bar is wonderful. He remembers what everyone's drink of choice is, and you rarely have an empty glass in front of you. Watch out for those shots of his though! He loves serving those Mexican Viagra's!
We tipped him, the servers at the restaurants and the maids regularly. They are all great people and they work hard.

Also--someone had written that this resort was boring and nothing but old people--that was very untrue during our stay. We are 26 & 29--I'd have to say a majority of the people there were in their 20's-40's. A lot of fun people. Hey to Terri and Earl from Minnesota!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cancun to relax and have an enjoyable time. It was wonderful to have no children and no wild springbreakers around.
I wouldn't do it any other way. We would love to go back next year!

Feel free to email me with any questions!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews