We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Sun = Amazing”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #46 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter Sun = Amazing”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. We went with friends and had an amazing two week holiday. Rooms were fantastic as well as surrounding areas. Food was lovely and a very varied menu meant there was never a boring meal. Staff were very attentive and work exceptionally hard to please.
My only criticism was the other few moaning guests who must drink from gold goblets and platters and have a view of the riviera back home in the UK...hard to please!
I would recommend this hotel +++++++++
Great place and would definitely return. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,498
    2,428
    851
    358
    284
See reviews for
1,691
2,897
79
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Visited in September 2013 for a special occasion.
Pro's Hotel staff can't do enough for you. We tended to stay around the children's pool and there were no kids in our party, however there seemed to be a lot of adult groups doing that as the other main pools were were the animation team came to harass, erm, entertain you.
Cuban band who played in the main bar/reception were fantastic and we preferred to watch them at night rather than go into the theatre for the animation show. Also the main buffet restaurant was fantastic and wide choice of food for everyone and freshly cooked.
Cons - Hard sale on coco bongos tickets by rep in hotel and the animation team. Also noise created by groups returning at night. By no means not a party animal, but got fed up being woken up by drunken idiots shouting as the stumbled their way through the hotel after 3am (to the point that the young couple next door started a full on shouting match at 6am after the man returned). A La Carte restaurants disappointing at best. After having to book the Mexican restaurant was bit of a wimper, the Chinese, everything was over cooked as it had sat on the buffet under the heat lamps for so long and the steakhouse, served steak which was fatty, over cooked and tasteless, and experience the only instance of rude waiting staff.
On the whole, loved the holiday, would return to cancun, but would probably go to a hotel with wider selection of ala carte restaurants given the cost of the holiday overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Myself and my partner visited Riu Caribe at the end of june going into july for two weeks. (Abit late for the review i know) We both really enjoyed and are planning on coming back.

The staff are amazing, as soon as you put your foot into the hotel there is someone there taking your bags and giving you a cocktail. The receptionist are very informative and very fast so you can enjoy your holiday straight away. The hotel was very clean and very modern. We had a really big shock as soon as we got to our room as we didn't realize it would be that nice and VERY big.
They even done the towel art which was a nice extra. The view we had was stunning and by the looks of it all the rooms had a nice view of the ocean!

The food was very very nice. We mainly ate at the buffet everyday, there was alot of food that repeated daily but that wasn't a problem because there was always something different to try and i was there for two weeks.... but we tried the Mexican restaurant one night, I had fresh fish which was delicious and my partner had fajitas! There was also another option to have the asian night and the steak night! You have to get up a bit early to book these as they fill up very fast! The steak night is supposed to be the best but we missed this as we booked the restaurant for the day we done a trip and we were absolutely shattered!

The pool area is great, you have a quiet child pool, the party pool we called it , and another quiet pool around the back. There are loads of sun loungers so there was no need to get up early to put your towel on them. There was a number of activities happening around the pool, we only joined in for the last week and we were gutted that we didnt do them in the beginning of the week as soon as we got there. The staff by the pool area were absolutely hilarious ( And loved my bright red hair haha) they made sure that everyone got involved and they definitely made our holiday! Thankyou guys.

And, the beach. Well, it was beautiful. There were loads of sun loungers once again easy to find a chair even if you go down in the afternoon. The water was stunning, could have stayed in it all day! Had alot of activities on the beach such as jet skiing which we didn't try! My partner had the snorkeling kit from there though and used that everyday to swim around the sea with. The sand was lush, really white and soft. Also staff again, came around the beach area and took your orders for drinks! What more could you ask for!?

While we were there, we visited the Chichen itza. I highly recommend this was a great day out.
We also visited Xcaret and the little paradise island with Thomson.
Thoroughly enjoyed all of these!

We also used the buses and visited Riu cancun which was nice and we also used the buses to go to the shopping centres in cancun. Very fun experience! Must try and is safe to do so. Think it worked out to be about 17pence to go on the bus! Insane.

Also, obviously the weather was outstanding. Boiling hot and sunny. The last few days we had rain and thunderstorms which was an experience!

(My only downfall is that we didnt like the flight as we flew on a first choice plane when we were supposed to have the dreamliner. The staff were rude and i personally think thomson is going down hill, Will not fly with these again)

But this hotel, is absolutely amazing and its great for everybody.
Seen a range of ages, couples and families!

Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We just booked ocean view double room and our room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just got back from a week at the Riu Caribe. We had such a great time - the only complaint was the weather - obviously we cannot control the weather but I do wish we didn't have as much rain!
The food was great - after a week though the buffets get old... huge selection for everyone! Yummy food - The Mexican restaurant was my fav one - we ate there twice, great fajitas.
The steak place was "ok" - nothing great - its outside and with the dam weather there was a 4 inch huge bug crawling above our heads which freaked out.
The Asian place was also just OK. its a Chinese buffet basically.

Drinks were all yummy - Entertainment staff was AMAZING - I love Crazy Cesar! Michael Jackson show was great, pool games fun!

All in all a great trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzgolitely75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was looking for a nice and relaxing getaway and that's what I got.

We even got a free upgrade when we checked in perhaps because we were not to busy complaining about what room or what floor.

The weather was so not the greatest but we knew there was a good chance for rain going in but it was not as bad as what was originally forecasted.

As for the daily 90 minutes of WIFI. Big deal you are on vacation hello.. Anyways if you had multiple devices you could connect a different device at another point in time for another 90 minutes.


Pros:
Buffet
Drinks
Great Layout
Extremely Clean Resort
Staff was Fantastic especially
Mayan in the lobby bar
Cajun in the pool bar
Eva in the main dining room
Beach was great
Check in
Check Out

Cons
The Specialty Restaurants not so special

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leadpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Pros: Excellent buffet, even for this picky vegetarian eater. Friendly staff. Resort is best suited for a younger crowd that likes to party.

Cons:
1. Noisy! in the lobby, the rooms, the pool area - there seemed no where to escape the noise.
2. November - expect rain and high humidity. We went this time of year because of our daughter's wedding - but the barometric pressure sure played havic with my migraines!
3. It doesn't matter what room you request - you get what they give you or pay CASH for something better.
4. NOT suited for an elderly person with mobility issues. No wheel chairs available.
5. Many details arranged ahead of time for my daughters wedding were completely messed up. She paid for the premium package, but certainly never got it. I don't like destination weddings anyways, but this just reinforced a good reason not to do it. Seriously - if you're planning a wedding here, think twice about it.

Additional comments: To be truthful, my adult children found the resort to be beautiful and met their expectations for the most part (wedding aside). My husband and I typically select smaller resorts in quieter locations. Certainly not Cancun. We spent a wonderful day on Isla Mujeres and toured the resort Privelege Aluxes. Only $1400 each/week for all-inclusive. Reasonable and beautiful. And quiet, but still central enough to get out and do things.

Tips:
1. There's a hot tub at the resort. Go to the 'quiet' pool and take the stairs behind it. The temperature fluctuates daily, but it's a nice little secret spot.
2. If you like Iguana's take the R1 or R2 bus north and ask to get off at El Rey. There are ruins there to check out for $3 US/person. And literally hundreds of iguanas.
3. Definitely take a day to visit Isla Mujeres. Rent a golf cart and explore. Make sure you take the big yellow & blue ferry. Ticket agents will try to steer you to another ferry which takes 3 times as long to get there for the same price, so be aware of that.
4. A nice place to shop is the mall ISLA. Again, take the bus north and get off where you see the big white canopy type roofs. Ask the driver. Lots of great little shops without the harassment of the vendors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

First visit to Cancun.. upon arriving to the hotel we were greeted with smiling faces "hola" and a nice refreshing drink while being served at the counter for check in. Friendly staff all around and check in was easy HOWEVER!! When we checked in (2 parties) with request of being on same floor and close to each others room with an ocean view with travel agent upon booking (not a garden view and above 4th floor as per trip advisor) we were advised that they have no ocean view rooms left??? We advised we paid for this upon booking trip and the Representative at the counter said sorry only garden rooms available..if your printout from travel agent states ocean view room then you would have been booked in that type of room. We reviewed our documents and found on one printout the words ocean view room and they accepted that as an ocean view room and the other document had the wording " room 4th floor to 9th floor - every room has a great view and faces the ocean however from 4th floor up you see the ocean not the garden - so this is why we booked this and to avoid the noise from the lobby as it is open to all rooms from lobby level to 4th floor. We were then given one ocean floor room and advised for the other party to have the same room and because paperwork provided did not have the words "ocean view room" there was nothing left?? Then the Representative came back and said $50 a night for an Ocean View we said no sorry just give us our room then he came back and said for $100 you can upgrade to the floor your paperwork states and we can provide you with adjoining rooms?? This is strange as we were advised there were "NO OCEAN VIEW ROOMS LEFT" So we accepted and I advised to put on my Mastercard that was provided at time of booking this trip and he said "no sorry we only take cash" now this started to make me concerned as we just arrived it was later in the evening and only 2 fellow representative at the check in so the other party we were with said "I will pay the $100 but this does not seem right as to what you are advising us and weird that you are not accepting a credit card for payment" This will be reported by an email to the resort now that I have returned home. Anyhow we had beautiful rooms adjoining for our party for the entire trip and watched the representatives pocket the money ( I guess they were sharing this between the 2 of them) and we were all very tired from travelling all day and there were no managers around to question this transaction or complain (so to everyone wanting an ocean view room - have your travel agent make sure the wording is printed on your booking document and you have that with you)

The facility was clean, very busy place and there is always someone there asking you for a drink in the lobby, at the pool, beach etc. The employees work very hard at this resort and it shows. The rooms were always cleaned and fridge stocked regularly the beds were very uncomfortable I must say and heard this from several people staying there the same week. The food had a great variety with several different places to eat however after a few days it was getting repetitive with not a lot of change in dishes being served. The Steakhouse dinner was fantastic and the service was great! There was always a specialty dinner booking available and that was easy to book.

The weather was very good considering a full day of rain - when it rains it rains hard but then when the sun shines it is hot out! A great variety of choices were to set up for the day however a lot of people went down to get their towel before breakfast to book their seat and never showed up for hours near the pool - so my suggestion on that is do the same if you want a specific spot however for some that want to be at the pool first thing in the morning there were not a lot of seats available unfortunately and were there with towels on the chairs until at least noon with not a single person coming to that chair and others could have sat there for their few hours and left before they even arrived. The beach chairs the same but a lot more to choose from and a great spot to sit for the day.

The room keys for both our parties kept locking us out of our rooms for some reason and we had to visit the front desk daily and each time they tried to tell us we did not have those rooms?? needed to see id to verify it was us and then had wrong checkout dates for us in those booked rooms and also advised us the keys were sitting next to a cell phone in our bag - funny thing about that is we did not have a cell phone with us id was locked in the safe and just had a towel and beach bag where the key sat all day?? So this made us believe the first day at check in was a scam even more and that we could return to our room one day and some other people could be in our rooms... never happened but was a real pain when you go back to your room and the keys do not work.

Also when checking out at noon and your bus does not pick you up for hours they do allow you to store your luggage in a locked room access to the entire hotel and a shower at the end of your day to get ready in the spa area before you depart. If you choose to do this they advise at check out you will receive your tag to get luggage once you hand in your towel cards after sitting at the pool so either bring a fresh towel with you and a change of clothes before handing in your towel card for the receipt to get your luggage. We were advised this when we arrived at the spa to get cleaned up and already handed in the towel cards.

Internet was different where you only have access in the lobby and only for 90 minutes as soon as you log on you either stay in lobby once a day for 90 minutes or bring several devices with you to get access if you need to be on internet more than one time a day. They were trying to change this the week we were there to having access for 90 min in total not consecutive. For those people that need to have access to internet find a time in the day you are willing to sit for 90 min to do everything you need all at once, however the lobby is full at all times of the day for this reason.

The Riu hotel chain is a nice place to stay advising some of the things you need to know or should be aware of if booking this resort, overall a nice hotel and nice visit to Cancun just not happy about the representative pocketing money and taking advantage of visitors!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
642 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#31 of 175 in Cancun
9,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#76 of 175 in Cancun
2,836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., RIU Hotels and Resorts, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing