We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel didnt live up to our expectations”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #45 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were so excited to go to Cancun last week, 7/13-7/19. Overall, this resort was really only so-so. There were some good, and some bad. Very disappointed that the pools are closed by 7pm. Buffet was good. It had a very large selection...but the staff wasn't very accommodating. We ate in the Mexican Restaurant one night and the steak another. The Mexican wasn't bad, but the Steak Restaurant was horrible. Whatever you do, do not order the ribs. Especially if you're from The US. They were extremely fatty and tough. The desserts were all freezer burnt. Not a good experience at all. The Magic show is a MUST see. That was the most entertaining thing we did at the resort. They had a great cookout by the pool at lunchtime, but only for 1 day. Also, you have to pay for pool or any of the games in the sports bar. Also, if you want to paddle board, it says it is free, but in order to use them, they make you take a lesson, for $25 per person. Also, if you are in the lobby, there is no music. There's no clubs, and the entertainment staff tried, but they didn't offer very much. The rooms and bathrooms were very nice. I did go to the spa, and that was a very nice experience. The ladies at the Spa were extremely friendly. The housekeeping was very good, and the most pleasant people we came across. The Beach and the Ocean were absolutely beautiful! The pool was great too. I read other reviews about having to go early to get your spot, and that is very true. If you don't, you wont have one near the main pool. Same thing with the reservations for the specialty restaurants. The location of the resort wasn't the best. Its pretty far from everything,but the bus is easily accessible.
We did an excursion to Isla Mujeres, through Albatros Tours. That was a fantastic day. This was our 4th trip to Cancun, so we didn't go to the ruins or swim with the dolphins this time.
The drinks were good. My favorite was the Blue Ocean.
There are many other great values in Cancun, We wouldn't stay at the Riu Caribe again.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 9th floor, the view was amazing. Try to get as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,860 - 1,866 of 7,802 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped in the Riu Caribe for the first time in March of this year. This was our first all inclusive holiday and first time in Mexico so we were not sure what to expect. The hotel was excellent and in a superb location if you want to be close to fantastic Caribbean beaches.

As we own time share in Tenerife we were used to a certain standard of accommodation and really was unsure what we would find.The room was more than adequate with a very comfortable bed, a large shower room and everything was very clean and tidy. we had a bar that was stocked every second day with cold drinks beers and a few spirits.

The hotel food was excellent with a very good choice on the menus. we found the staff very helpful and attentive. Considering how busy the hotel was you could always get a table, never had to wait, and was served very quicly.

If you do not like noise avoid spring break!! apparently schools break up in America and it clearly is a party time for them and this was the case at this hotel. The noise levels in the lobby at night were a little painful, but apart from that no problem everyone was having fun. We have all been young once.

There are two pools at the hotel one if you want peace to the right of the hotel, and one just as you walk out the back door of the hotel.both our great pools with lilos in the water that you can cool off on.

in the main pool you have a swim up beach bar, and in the smaller more peaceful pool you have a bar next to it.

The grounds are excellently kept and very clean. the beaches are outstanding with crystal clear oceans. you can do all sorts of water sport from the hotel.

The beach is literally down the steps of the hotel.

I would recommend the speedboat jungle tour fantastic and fast through the crocodile lagoon into the sea for a snorkel on the reef. The catamaran snorkel and trip to the island is a fabulous day out run by Riu Caribe sports. You get on the catamaran from the jetty on the beach. you can also use the other Riu hotel about a mile away for your meals and having time at a different hotel if you wanted a change.

The beach party was a good night and should not be missed but dancing in sand is a challenge!!!. the Entertainment was very good.

The only negative comment I would have to say about the hotel was the evening entertainment was not to our taste sometimes, although some of the shows were very good. it would have been nice to have a chill out bar with perhaps a singer and a bit of a dance floor that went on into the night. I am not saying it was not good because some of it was but is was different to what we have been used to.

Getting around Cancun is easy a bus seems to run every 10 minutes 24/ 7 and is very cheap.

Beneath the hotel you have two shops and a pharmacy.

Overall it was a fantastic experience and we would definitely stop in a Riu Hotel again

I hope this helps if you are considering a trip to Cancun

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in Mexico, have never visited before and was a little apprehensive due to some of the reviews on here, but we couldn't fault the hotel it was stunning and in an amazing location, with beautiful private beach area!!
Pool areas were kept clean, there were ample sun beds for everyone, food was lovely didn't find it repetitive we booked into all 3 speciality restaurants Mexican, Asian and steak house. Booking wasn't a problem got the days and times we wanted without issue. Really enjoyed them. Staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful, Miguel who waitered in the breakfast hall was particularly lovely, he was so pleasant and always made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for us! Cocktails were awesome mango tangos were to die for!!
Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh bedding maids were lovely and when tipped well the towel art was getting better and better!! We stayed on 4th floor and had a beautiful view to wake up to! Will 100% recommend hotel and would return in the future.
Hotel offers free wifi in the lobby area only for 90mins per day, I'm sure there's an option to upgrade this but 90mins is ample time to FaceTime etc and check in with family, being on holiday isn't for sitting on Facebook anyways!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks. We had a group of 38 for my sisters wedding, what a fantastic hotel, the staff where the nice friendly could not do enough for you. The holiday reps make this hotel and are far the nicest people I have ever meet on holiday. Not just with the younger generation but from babies to my 73 year old grandmother. Thomson on the other hand who we booked with are alwful! I would recommend this hotel to any one. If you read a bad review i would be sure it's thomsons as a company and not actually the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fifitinkerbell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Wot can I say about this hotel. Well that's easy fantastic. My self, wife, brother in law and sister in law stayed from the 28th June. We found it to be great value for money. Views you want to wake up to every day. A great beach and pool area.
The service from the staff was also great. A young waiter called Ricardo was very attentive when he got to know our breakfast routine he would have it ready for us. The rooms were also kept clean and we're done daily. They gave 3 speciality restaurants Mexican, Asian and American. I found the American the best. However the choice of different foods on offer in the buffet were more than ample. Only one let down, there's no air conditioning in the main areas and that can be a little uncomfortable even when the subs gone down. However the air conditioning in the rooms is great especially after being out in temperatures of 32 degrees plus. I would deffinetley recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank smiffy196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile


My goal for this vacation was a nice hotel in cancun that wasn't a lot if money. We already had a few expensive trips plans but still wanted a summer vacation. The travel agent recommend this hotel - and this hotel fit the bill!
Drinks upon arrival were very nice
Staff were inconsistent some were very nice and greeted us and said hola and some didn't make eye contact. I've stayed at other facilities in cancun and staff went out of their way to be friendly.

The food at the buffet was very good and I read reviews that it was lacking. I found it to be good with many options. The alcohol choices were subpar - again I've stayed at other all inclusive that serve brand name alcohol (all brands of absolut, Hendricks, grey goose, etc). We did find it hard to make reservations even if we were one of the first people in line to make reservations. (One person takes them outside the Mexican resturant starting at 7am). We found it funny that the resturant was booked yet it seemed that most tables were empty at nite. The sports bar serves snacks 24 hrs but they are sandwiches, hot dogs, and burgers that needed heated up. It would be nicer if that food was always hot.

The towel rule was weird - if you lose your card or towel they charge you money - what happens when someone takes your towel by accident?? At checkout they want their cards back or they will bill you.

It is definitely a party hotel w a young vibe. Now I travelled w my family and my kids (11 and 6) fit in fine w the young partiers. Which we got a kick out of. And if you didn't like that scene or needed a break the quiet pool fit the bill.

For the money this is a great hotel!

The gym is typical hotel gym lacks a lot of equipment and gets crowded because people work out more on vacation. But the bike was not working very well and they could use more cardio.


Ask for a high up room

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank EddieMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel the last 2 weeks of May 2014. After staying in the Riu Cancun last year this hotel was a bit of a let down. However on day 3 of our holiday, a new general manager was brought in and what a difference he made. The impact of his arrival made such a change. He was always available to discuss issues with guests and I was impressed that he chose to have his meals in the same restaurants as the guests.

All the staff in this hotel work extremely hard and appreciate any tips you give them. The entertainment team work their socks off - always on the go and very friendly to all the guests.

Our room was on the 9th floor and was fantastic. Always clean and the fridge was always well stocked.

We always has breakfast in the buffet restaurant - great choice. We tried the 3 speciality restaurants and loved them all. The pizzeria made fresh to order pizza daily and was really good. At lunch time on a few days, the staff prepared an outdoor bbq - which was great. Would liked to have seen this on every day.

Really enjoyed the mojito's and the frozen mango daiquiri's were to die for.

Loved the beach and the pools.

Would enjoy visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#36 of 177 in Cancun
10,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.9 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#48 of 177 in Cancun
6,018 reviews
2 mi away
Panama Jack Resorts - Gran Caribe Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#34 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £153 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Caribe opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful beach of Cancún. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancún Airport CUN (20 km) and Cancún city (5 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 506 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 3 outdoor pools. For the youngest guests there is the RiuLand Kids Club (ages 4-7&8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Asian and Mexican specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, and 5 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing