We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owesome!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Ranked #34 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Batesville, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Owesome!!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband, Dexter and I went to Cancun Dec.10-17,2011 for our eight anniversary. This was our first trip to Cancun and we enjoyed every minute of it. We did an exchange with Interval International. The Royal Islander service meet our expectations and more. Eveything about the resort was great. Our concierge, Martell did a wonderful job at breifing us as to what was available. Being able to go between all three resorts was so great. The staff takes very good care of the property 24/7. The pool areas were just gorgeous. All the services were exceptional from the front desk to the maid services. Everyone was so polite and helpful. We ate at Captains's Cove, The Hicenda, Taco Paco ane the other resturant there at the pool area and all of the food was greattttt and affordable. We would highly recommend staying at the Royal properties, there's nothing to complain about. I have never written a review before but after staying at the Islander I had to give them their props. We will return hopefully this summer. Can't say enough about this resort. The beach area was so clean and relaxing. Enjoyed having the WiFi connections, we were able to skype the kids back home. The store was stocked with everything you possible could need and the prices were good, used my app on my phone to convert pesos to dollars great tool. We took a bus trip to Wal Mart just to see what it was like. Enjoyed the excursions trips that Cancun has to offer, we did the Explore and the Myan Tour, of my God what fun we had. The Captain Hook dinner cruise was ok, but nothing to brag about, would have prefered a steak and lobster dinner at Captain's Cove. Highly recommend staying at the Islander.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheMcCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    564
    185
    73
    73
See reviews for
805
687
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We recently took a much needed vacation to Cancun, Mexico and were very delighted with our stay at the Royal Islander. Facilities in excellent condition, great service. We were traveling as a family so the kitchen was a great plus and our personal concierge Drago was extremely helpful in giving us excursion tips. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This was our second time at a Royal Resort. Last year we stayed at the Sands and this year at the Islander. We cannot say enough about the Royal properties. We enjoyed the Sands and we also loved the Islander this year. By staying at the Islander, it is great to be able to stroll between the other two resorts (Mayan and Caribbean). The property is immaculate and the villas are spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We ate at all the restaurants and all were delicious and reasonable. We really liked the Mayan night at the Mayan. The costumes and dancing were breathtaking. We most certainly will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauracharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
branford, Ct.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Just came back from Royal Islander in Cancun(12/10-12/17) and would say that in 32 years of timeshare exchanging this has been by far our best experience. The property is absolutely beautiful and it is maintained magnificently. The pool area and the beach are looked after constantly by staff and the condo and the restaurants are all kept up to 5 star standards. The staff was terrific whether it was front desk, maid, maintenance(1 mishap with a toilet), wait help or beach bar staff. We ate all our meals on site with Captain's Cove and Tradewinds being our favorites. Terrific food and very reasonable pricing. The store at the resort is reasonably priced. We spend a fair amount as we did most breakfasts and lunches in or on the beach it trust me we came back with a lot more money than we thought we would.

The ability to use the sister resort facilities was terrific and we never had the need to leave the place other than for pleasure. We hope to be able to go back next year if at all possible.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The service and the seafood has been excellent. We have had the sefood pasta bar twice. Both times we had the same Chef Candido Koyoc Dzul. He did an excellent job and did not hesitate to give us all we wanted! Now with that said, you only get one trip so don't hold back. He made sure we were satisfied and we loved it. Our waiter Alberto Mairtinez was very polite and did not leave us waiting for long if we needed anything. Stay has been wonderful, the rooms kept very clean!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I've been coming to the Royals in Cancun for 6 years, and 5 as a Royals owner. Primarily, I've stayed at the Royal Mayan, and recently at the Royal Islander, where I'm currently staying. I've always been very well pleased with the facilities and service at all locations - which is why I keep coming back. Until now, even the sales pitch was very low-key and low pressure. This year, however, the sales pitch was a bit more intense - although with all smiles. But when I wanted to think about the offers and didn't quickly accept, the sales manager became insulting and tried to belittle me for not making a quick decision. I don't have to come to the Royals to be insulted.... I can get that at most any used car lot in the country..... That being said, it's still lower pressure than most timeshare sales pitches, but still left a sour note on an otherwise great trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very nice. Try to get the suite rather than a lock-off. But, for economy, the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ike2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review.

I'm very sorry to read that you felt insulted; I offer you our sincere apologies, that is never our intention.

I tried to contact you to request more information on the issue and follow up but was unable to do so. Nevertheless, I have forwarded your comments to management in order to review the service provided and make sure we don't cause you any inconveniences in the future.

Having said that, I'm glad to read that apart from that incident, you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Islander.

I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We went to the Royal Islander Nov 12-19th on a trade with interval international. This was a very nice property, and we had a great time. Check-in was quick and the staff was very friendly. Our personal concierge took us to our room and gave us some helpful tips about the property, local restaurants, and where to get groceries. We had a very clean 2 bedroom unit that was spacious with a large deck overlooking the pool and with an ocean view. The beds were very comfortable. Our concierge did try to contact us to try to get us to visit the Haceidas in Riveria Maya to buy a timeshare property, but we just told him we weren't interested and he didn't bother us with it anymore.

The Royal Islander, Royal Caribbean and Royal Mayan are all right next to each other and the properties were almost identical. All were within walking distance. We used the free shuttle service to visit the other 2 properties in Cancun. The Royal Cancun was nice, and if you have small children, it's the place to stay. The waves are almost non-existent. We visitied the Royal Sands a couple of times. It's very nice, and we felt it had the nicest pool and beach area. It was a little more upscale than the other Royal resorts in Cancun. Definitely take advantage of the happy hours. The Islander had 1/2 price drinks from 3pm-6pm, and if you wanted to keep drinking, the Caribbean's happy hour lasted until 7pm.

We took the bus several times - very inexpensive. We bought our souveniers at the local market area in Cancun. They're pretty pushy trying to get you to come into their stores, and most of the stores had the same items. However, we were able to do a lot of negotiating and get some nice things.

Room Tip: Rooms from 3rd floor up will ensure an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuninthesunOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 175 in Cancun
2,049 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 175 in Cancun
2,055 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
4.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Islander All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Islander(R)is nestled on the beach and offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Islander All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing