We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent rooms, a home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent rooms, a home away from home.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Owr Home away from home, but with a view of paradise. I got a suite at the Royal Islander with two rooms, three beds, one king and two twins, a sofa, two flat screen tvs of 32 inches each with cable, a giant digital safe, digital door locks, a walk in closet, dishwasher, microwave oven, stove, a small family size refrigerator, a blender, cutlery, dishes a dinner set, an iron, and ironing board, and a hair dryer, two independent air conditioning units, two terraces with view to the ocean, right at the beach, elevators, independent wi-fi, free and ample secure parking with valet service if needed. I read other reviews so I need to warn you that If you are expecting a "resort" experience, where they make sure you have an itinerary full of fun activities, than you might be disappointed. My idea of a hotel/club is that it is my responsibility to arrange for attractions. They do have well informed travel, excursion activities counter, but it is not included, not for the excellent price they charged me so there wasn't anything to be disappointed for. They also help you to rent a car if you desire to, otherwise, they will leave you alone unless you need help, which is exactly what I and many (if not most) of you want.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    538
    173
    70
    65
See reviews for
749
655
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We frequent The Royal Islander every Christmas. No complaints on anything. I've even forgotten my safe code and the maintenance man was there to help open it with minutes! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms can't be beat!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CancunXmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was probably our 10th visit to Cancun, first time at Royal Islander. The staff was very helpful and friendly, rooms clean & modern, AC great and hot water with good pressure.
Only complaint was the distance from the street, very steep hill & far away. Going was downhill, but coming, back from shopping, was a chore. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogotraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The first nobody clean the room, and next day someone make my hair oil out, all my make up are in the oil, and they do not help me address this issue, even in nigt you cannot get any bottle water here, the bath room is so poor that the water so boring, bad experince here wont leave here anymore in future

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingxiaozhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Islander All Suites Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you. Resort's manager is currently reaching you directly to learn from this situation and to insure this won't be experienced again by any of our visitors.

We hope to be able to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

1st time staying at the Royal Islander. Normally stay at the Royal Caribbean. They are sister properties and have identical rooms. Always treated right at both resorts. The rooms and the resorts and impeccably clean! The food was great in the restaurant. Front desk open 24 hours a day for anything you need, like exchanging US$ for pesos anytime of the day or night. They use your room key as a credit card, so no cash allowed to buy anything. But it's good at both properties and Captains Cove and Pancho and Willys across the street. You just get the bill for the week at the end of your stay. Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat! FYI, you are greeted by a concierge, who wants to welcome you and invite you to welcome package on Sunday. By the next day, we had 3 people saying they we our new concierge and need to come see them. Just don't answer your phone! They want to hook you up with tour packages or to buy into their timeshare. Want to take a tour, go to Aquaworld just down the street. 1st class tours there without the harassment!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the ocean and pool and the lagoon on the other side from your front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just got back from our first stay at Royal Islander. Great staff, beautiful beach, lovely pool area. Everyone was so helpful and friendly--the staff and other guests made us feel at home and answered any questions we had. Everything is exceptionally clean--rooms, beach, lobby. Had great meals at the restaurants, especially the Italian buffet at Tradewinds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a huge resort with the associated institutionalised feel to it. It has the usual Cancun 1980s architecture but the rooms are very well maintained. The views are amazing with the sea on one side and Nichupte lagoon on the other side. All rooms have beautiful sea view balconies and it was magical to just stand on the balcony and have this almost surreal view.

The service however leaves a lot to be desired. Upon arrival there was no one, no bell boy, no staff, absolutely no one to greet or help us. Furthermore, there was no ramp from the entry driveway to the lobby so we had to haul our suitcases up the stairs to reach the lobby. Bizarre not to have a ramp at the entrance and to expect guests to haul their luggage up the stairs. Not the best beginning.

Service in the restaurants could be slow due to short-staffing. The staff to their credit were running around trying their best to provide timely service.

The location is far away from the city end of the Hotel Zone. This resort is more towards the Airport end of the hotel zone. However taxis were easy to find so it wasnt a major issue.

The pool area is very nicely laid out and the swim-up bar was good fun. The Mango Daiquiris were delicious (and strong)! Beds were comfortable. The shower was literally the best I have ever experienced, seemingly infinite water pressure!

We wanted to indulge in the Cancun big resort experience without breaking the budget. This resort provided us with just that and was (almost) perfect for it, except for the service-related issues we experienced as highlighted above.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahaseebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
5.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Islander All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Islander(R)is nestled on the beach and offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Islander All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing