We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at this time !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Girasol Condo Hotel
Ranked #142 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid at this time !!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just returned from 9 days at the Girosol.We have stayed in 7 "all inclusive" hotels since we discovered Cancun, but we decided despite the luxury we cannot eat or drink enough to justify the cost, read a pleasant review of the Girosol so gave it a try. First the good news: The location is superb ,everything is within walking distance and theres is a lot going on.The staff maintains the high quality of service i have come to know in Mexico and If it wasn't for Carmina {the tour booking agent} we may still be at the antiquated front desk trying to check in,where there still using cubby holes for keys and carbon paper!! We stayed in a fully remodeled unit on the seventh floor and it really was very nice, outstanding ocean view, very nice..at first glance.. but soon we discovered some glaring problems. .... no toilet paper, no paper towels,or kleenex, no bottle opener or corkscrew ,very limited flat ware,limited silverware and no place to put it. A new 15 gallon hot water tank.Yes, 15 gallons almost enough for 1 shower.No bath matt,a closet but no closet rod , 2 beds but no other furniture ,i.e.. end tables ,couch etc. {our luggage remained on the floor} we rec. some items 2 days later.Cable tv with 2 english stations {most of the time} We were told there was a DVD player..packed 10 DVDs but the player is not zoned for US DVDs .They did not work.I could go on... really,but i think you get the picture. On the hotel.. One working elevator.. capacity 6 ,Its a 9 story building so the elevator was often unavailable, the elevator was out of service for 2.5 days .We had to hoof it up 7 floors..that was rough.Honestly folks,the elevator was scary,i often thought it might fall out from under me and it did open a few times before it arrived at the designated floor!! We made inquires to Cancun rentals to leave after a couple of days to know avail. I work in travel have been all over the world this is probably the worse hotel i have ever stayed in. I cannot slight the staff ,they did all they could to be helpful but there only so much they could do. That said,I do feel the owner of our condo was very negligent in making sure simple basic living items were furnished. WE ended up buying paper towels etc,etc,etc. All this being said.. The water is awesome,the sand is blond and i surfed nearly everyday. PS ..avoid the restaurant too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    12
    15
    20
See reviews for
11
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We generally stay in AI resorts when visiting Cancun. we have tired of the food, and we tend to eat off the resort regardless of out all inclusive options. Before booking this unit we noticed there were very few reviews, and the ones we did find were not very good. We have been to Cancun numerous time and we were familiar with the building and location. we decided to be brave and give this a try. we were also booking on fairly short notice and the condos for rent were slim pickings. so we decided to try this.

We had a wonderful experience. WE did NOT book through the "hotel" we booked privately through an owner and i suggest this as you then know exactly which unit you will get and what to expect.(floor,view,) We rented one of the penthouse two bedroom 3 bathroom units. the price was very reasonable and the unit was well kept if not a tad worn down.

the location was perfect for walking to shopping, markets, and nightlife. we were on the ocean side and We did not notice the noise from bar district at all. There is construction happening on numerous units but they start and finish at reasonable times.

If your on a budget the "surfin Burrito" is a two minuet walk for fast and inexpensive breakfast or dinner.

some rooms have wi-fi, but ours did not. we just wandered down to the lobby when we needed access. the lobby is nothing fancy but has a few seats for wifi use.

All in all we were pleased with our stay. Perhaps slightly lower end than i would generally like, but we have already booked to return so i guess it was pretty good!

Room Tip: try vrbo or homeaway webpages to find the room type and views you want. most are individually owned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanut99922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I booked a condo at the Girasol Memorial Day weekend 2013. Upon arriving I was mortified by the outside appearance of the building. The building is old, dilapidated, rusty, and downright scary! Upon checkin, I was informed that a 2 br condo (sleeps 6) only had one key. They suggested that we leave the key at the front desk. 0_o

I was already disgusted with the property but before deciding to run and go elsewhere, I wanted to see the inside of the unit. The elevator was the creepiest death trap I'd ever been in. It was about 3x4 with no lights. There was a sign that said its capacity was 8 people, but clearly no more than 3 people could fit.

We attempted to open the door w/ the key provided to us and it did not work. A maintenance person and maid had to assist us but kicking the door and using WD40.

Once inside the unit was a lot nicer than the outside. It small but clean and nicely furnished. The spiral stair case was a problem. It was more like a ladder. It was nearly too small for me to go up and down and I am 5'4.

After inspecting the place. I decided I couldn't comfortably stay there I just didnt feel safe in a run down building with lots of vacant units, questionable security and no lights outside. I opted to go to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaviaH661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel was ok. We had stayed 2 nights there. The room is very large (we were sleeping 5 in it). There is a private balcony with a panoramic view on the beach and the ocean: amazing! The air conditioning was working well. The bathroom was large and clean. The toilet and the shower are in the same room. In another, there are the sink and the closet. The beds are really really REALLY strong. I had never slept before of a bed strong like this... but I had sleep well. The clean between the 1st and the 2nd day was very quick: new towels, that's it! There is wifi in the lobby only, but it is free. It is possible to have breakfast at the hotel for around 100 pesos (it is really nice breakfast!). There is a swimming pool. The water is not so clean, but it is nice to go in the swimming pool after the beach. The staff seems to be nice as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the oceanfront, it is the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I'll try to be fair about the Girasol. Yes, it's in a great location. No argument there. You're walking distance to all the nightlife that Cancun has to offer and you're right on the beach.

But that's about where the positives end.

The pool was only half full. Literally. It was supposed to be 5' feet deep but was onlly about 2.5' deep. The steps and ladders were above the water line. There were ants all over our kitchen counter. The condo looked like it hadn't had a good cleaning in quite some time. The A/C didn't work. Or maybe it did and it wasn't on the right setting. We wouldn't know, because the control panel was destroyed. Oh, and the plumbing in the building can't handle toilet paper. Fine...when in Rome, right? But the condo was not equipped with lidded garbage cans. Catch my drift?

Based on the price we paid and a quick search of several travel sites, it appears that you can get a room/suite at one of the resorts for approximately the same price as we paid for the condo during the offseason. I'd strongly recommend doing so.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tsarsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I stayed here for the night prior to my departure from CUN. Upon arriving at the Cancun bus station on a grueling 13 hour trip from Villahermosa, I asked the taxi driver to take me to the Hotel Bonampak. Usually I choose hotels online, but Cancun was a unique situation and I was unable to do that. He recommended instead that I go to Hotel Colonial; and then another taxista stepped in and told me of a hotel in the Zona Hotelera where I could stay for about N$700 / night. I was in!

We arrive there and I am told that I was quoted the rate for the low season rather than the high season, but he could give me a room for N$900. I took it. Prior to the purchase, he showed me the room: it looked good on first sight. In particular, I was taken away by the beautiful beach view. First impressions can be deceiving...

First, the air conditioning barely worked. I still think it might have been on "fan mode". Too bad, because the control panel was broken off, leaving two bare potentiometers, both immobile without pliers.

This prompted me to open the doors out to the beach. Believe it or not, it was a fair amount cooler outside than in the room. I went out to an internet cafe and quesadilla vendor, and when I came back, all soft surfaces in the room - beds and all - were "caked" in a "mildew"-like moisture, and ants had invaded my bottle of strawberry-flavored water. This made it very difficult to sleep. I think I might have gotten four - maybe five - hours of sleep there?

In addition, the TV only had about ten channels, one of which actually came in clearly. It lacked a remote and the "CH DOWN" button was broken off on the TV. The mirror and other objects were covered in paint, dirt, or some other substance.

I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anybody, for any price - at least the room I stayed at (Habitacion N 204).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvdxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Me and 4 friends stayed at the Girasol Condos for Spring Break March 12, 2011 for one week. We booked thru Student Breaks.-all inclusive package, which is definitely worth the cost for the extra money for VIP passes. Thank you student breaks, you were the cheapest and the easiest to work with. Girasol wasnt the most luxurious hotel but it was clean; just basic apartment, beds were kinda hard but we werent there to spend much time in our hotel room. The room was on the 1st floor and we had our own patio which walks right out onto the beach. The Girasol was within walking distance to EVERYTHING! We had a great time. Definitely a great place to stay for spring break. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CancunSpringBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 175 in Cancun
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#63 of 175 in Cancun
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.3 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girasol Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girasol Condo Hotel

Property: Girasol Condo Hotel
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan KM 9.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Girasol Condo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Girasol Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Cancun
Cancun Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing