We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2005. Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Girasol Condo Hotel
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“March 2005. Spring Break”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Really, I did not care where we stayed. We were first put on the ground floor with a door leading directly out into the yard, our TV didnt work, and some of the wireing sticking out of the wall was scary, however we were upgraded to a suite with a kitchen, laundry room, and 2 bedrooms. Staff was nice, but everybody in Mexico tried to rip you off when it came to exchange rates. Everyone also expected a tip for the smallest things. Including the guy handing you a plate at the buffet.

Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adamtosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    12
    15
    20
See reviews for
11
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

OMG this hotel was so gross. The elvatos never worked the staff was no help. I asked for suggestions on where to go for tourists attractions and there was no help. The room was so gross that so as I stepped in I thought I was dirty. The hotel actually looks like an old run down apartment building. None of the rooms are like the pictures. Also do not let anyone stay in your room that you did not put on paper bc they will charge you. Overall for a few more bucks you can get a hotel that is better than that one.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tspringf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

alberta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Superb location, big studio at 500 s.f,(2 queen size beds, one futon sofa),huge balcony(big enough for table and chairs),view to die for!Lots of room for my two year old and nine year old.Kitchenette with 2 elements,modern appliances,new quiet A/C, marble floors and counters,glass shelves,angled shower with glass doors.This was a privately owned unit(102).Caribbean side,couldn't hear the road or night life 2 minutes walk.For 7 pesos,hop on bus and go to walmart,stock up on groceries.Friendly restaurant with cheap prices for huge plates(4-8$) downstairs.Gorgeous infinity pool(filled a bit low) and large kiddie pool(at top of stairs).Unit had just been cleaned, however does have small ants(don't leave any food out:store in fridge/ziplock bags).This is common in Mexico/Spain/ and everywhere else we travelled.Remember this is the jungle!Beach is safe, you can walk in and not drown,great for little kids.Sand is white sugar like.Bring you tennis rackets, big court!Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I went on spring break through StudentBreaks.com and they set us up in the Girasol Condos. There were 30 of us so we were pretty excited to be together in one place and enjoy our spring break. When we arrived we were greeted by a representative telling us that the Girasol has the nickname in Cancun as the "Ghettosol!" When we checked in we received one, I repeat...one, room key per room for 5 people staying in each room. We headed up the flight of stairs you had to walk to actually get to the elevator only to find that neither elevators worked. This was a recent occurrence during our week stay by the way. Six stories of stairs with two bags of luggage for us.

Then we opened our room to find the room had no lights. We eventually found the breaker box and had to turn on the breakers. Besides the lights, the room had 2 towels, no air conditioning, and already had ants crawling everywhere. You would have thought that 30 people coming to stay at your hotel they would have given your room a couple more towels and looked over the room a little better.

We also were very excited when we Googled images of the Girasol and saw the pool with a Tiki bar in it, green grass with lawn chairs, and a beautiful view. Just to warn you...the pool you see in the picture does not belong to the Ghettosol. The picture was taken from the Ghettosol but of another condo's pool and hot tub. The Ghettosol's pool was dirty and the water level was about a foot and a half too low so the pool was not being filtered.

Another incident we had with the Ghettosol was 10 of us jumped in the 8 person elevator because we did not want to walk the 6 stories of stairs. The elevator did not even budge and when we pushed the security alarm and yelled for help for a good half hour with no prevail, we decided to try and open the doors ourselves. We eventually got the door open with some help from onlookers and service personnel. When we exited the elevator, management was waiting outside to blame us for "Breaking their door!" They tried sticking us with a $1800 bill. When we tried to plead our case, the staff proceeded to call the cops and threaten to send us to jail. We ended up having to pay half of the bill. Great customer service!!!

All in all, if you want good location to night clubs, a short walk to a mediocre beach, don't mind sleeping with no air conditioning or ants, and don't mind walking 6 stories of stairs to get to your room, the Ghettosol is right for you!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northdakota4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We stayed at the Girasol for 11 nights which we booked thru "great rentals" website, property 218270 which is a private owned studio. We were very disappointed with a couple of issues. First, there was only 1 bath towel each during our entire stay, no hand or face cloth or dish rag or tea towel in the unit even though their advertisement said towels provided. We emailed the owner and they never replied back, which didn't surprise us. Second, the owner assured us that the noise level from the surrounding open clubs and bars was minimal, even for a light sleeper. Not so, being an end unit closest to the noise, we barely got any sleep our entire trip as the heavy bassed techno music ended about 4 every night. Also, the loud crashing of the waves all night didn't help either. Third, lots of bugs crawled thru the 1" space below the entrance door. Fourth, usually when we've rented thru the owner, we got a better price, but in this case they charged more than the hotel. We heard $90 US/ night and $85 with breakfast. Fifth, there was a constant unpleasant smell from the sewers in the bathroom. Sixth, there is only a thin sheet as a cover on the beds, the furry thing that looked like a cover of some sort was only half length and dirty, we chose not to use it. Seventh, the AC rattled with ice that froze up and dripped all over the curtain and floor when it was left on too long.

The hotel had hot water problems while we were there, no hot water for 5 days!
For 2 days the internet did not work in the lobby which the mosquitoes love to hang around in. Only some of the hotel rooms have a mini-fridge and it looks like not much in the way of basic kitchen supplies. The rooms ending in 07-10 have better ocean views and are further away from the noisy clubs. There is no beach to lay on, you have to walk a bit to the right and lay on the beach by other condos/hotels. The breakfast we had at the restaurant on site was not good, and chose not to eat there for any more meals.

The only good thing about this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. The location is within walking distance to lots of shops and good restaurants. We didn't care for the pushy vendors at the Negro flea market across the street and especially the racist young punk. A good place to stay if you're into clubbing or barhopping or on spring break.

We just tried to make the best of a bad situation and just laughed at everything that could have been better. We didn't realize it was listed as a budget hotel, til we got back. Usually private owned units are in better condition and more stocked with the basics. We would never go for a budget hotel again after this experience.

J & G, Canada

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saettle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

The Garisol does have a great view but the front desk people will rip you off. I was there on 2/15 and my friend had paid for our room in advance, the guy at the front desk tried to scam me for 900 pesos for a room that had already been purchaced. NOT COOL. In this economy while tourism is down people should want to encourage customers not try to steal from them. The rooms were low end and rundown, one pilloow per hard bed,one towel, toilet that didin't work and crappy little fridge. Don't stay at the Girasol unless you have to.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma/Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The property is one of the oldest in Cancun but all the basic services were there like hot water, fresh clean towels, friendly service and the best location on the beach! There is a 24 hour OXXO (Mexican convenience store chain) 50 yards from the entrance to the hotel and a pharmacy right next to it. The rooms are very large which was good because I had my small children with me and they had room to play. Rooms had a kithchette with a fridge and sink and cabinets but nothing to cook on so I just went to walmart and bought a hot plate and a little frying pan and everything we needed cook for $25 and we had eggs, bacon, OJ and coffee when ever we wanted to get up and saved a TON of money this way as food is grossly overpriced in Cancun. There is a small little restaurant in the hotel but we never ate there so I couldnt tell you. We had a large fridge and kept it stocked so we only really ate out a few times. It is a two minute walk from Senor Frogs and a four minute walk to Carlos n Charlies and the mall and all the night life.

You just gotta go into it knowing you get what you pay for but my view was priceless.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs just to get to elevator (lift)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okiemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#84 of 175 in Cancun
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.5 mi away
Mayafair Design Hotel
Mayafair Design Hotel
#144 of 175 in Cancun
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 175 in Cancun
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 175 in Cancun
4,951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salvia Cancun
Salvia Cancun
#30 of 138 in Cancun
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girasol Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girasol Condo Hotel

Property: Girasol Condo Hotel
Address: Boulevard Kukulkan KM 9.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Girasol Condo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Girasol Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Cancun
Cancun Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing