We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL 5 STARS, HOWEVER....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“STILL 5 STARS, HOWEVER....”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is not my " first rodeo" here. To me this is still paradise. I am an owner, and will continue to praise the place. I do see some " shortcomings" though: Due to the Royal Mayan closing, there were mucho mucho people all week, especially little kids. I heard the same chiseling all day long, and it was a little annoying. And the so called " concierges", well fugetaboutem. Service is still great, however the staff is short so you wait longer than before. Let me also say this: There are MUCHO MANY nay sayers about the RR's, especially on their owner forum. You can NOT get a better bargain than here. Period. We are not AI people, and prefer to use the kitchen. To all those who complain, go elsewhere. We will keep our paradise to ourselves then. Comprende?

Room Tip: Go rent thru a member, and you won't complain about the room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    595
    193
    67
    82
See reviews for
903
608
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
traverse city, mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It lives up to the photos. Very clean, great pools, handy market in the lobby level, everything you could ask for. Beds were very comfortable and having a kitchenette was a nice plus. We had a king suite with 2 extra beds in the separate living area (which we didn't need but for $137/night we got the suite, why not!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanitysake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We own somewhere else and stayed here the night before our week started. If you are looking for an adult only spot - don't go here. But if you want a wonderful family environment, this is it. Lots of kids at the pool - all enjoying the water.
Staff is excellent - very accommodating. The rooms are nice - a bit dated but still a terrific vacation option.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean - building D sits very well in terms of not being blocked by an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lha726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome resort. Would love to stay again. Great pool and ocean. Condo was clean and comfortable. Great maid service. Great stay. We have stayed at almost all the Royal resorts. This chain of resorts works tirelessly to make sure your stay is perfect. This is our fourth stay in Cancun in a Royal resort. The restaraunts within the resorts have delicious food as well. Thanks again Royal Resorts!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I came with a friend - our first stay at the Royal Caribbean, but certainly not the first in a time share. So the good - staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. We were assigned a personal concierge who was wonderful and did his best to make our stay everything we wanted it to be. He encouraged us to attend a presentation, but no pressure, as some places do. The pools and beach were terrific - very clean and appealing.

Minuses - beds were okay but not great. The air conditioner was so loud we had trouble sleeping. Also - no paper towels or dish soap? They want you to have washed and put away dishes before you leave, but your only option is the dishwasher, so no breakfast or coffee in the morning before we leave! My room (we had the two bedroom option) had a 'kitchenette' with microwave, coffeepot and refrigerator but no sink, so I'm not sure how I would have washed dishes at all if I were staying in only that room! The on-site restaurant was okay, but certainly not great.

The room below ours was having work done on it - we requested having our room changed but were told they had none other available. Most of the time it wasn't too bad, but there were bouts of hammering and drilling cement that sounded like they were coming through the floor! It was disappointing.

Finally, and maybe some people would like this, you can't pay cash anywhere in the resort. They run your credit card to pre-approve you for an amount, and then everything you do there is 'paid' with your room card. It makes it hard to keep track of how much you are spending!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms - every room has a beautiful ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The stay was completely relaxing and there is nothing to complain about this resort. They have neat and clean pools, beautiful private beach, outstanding hotel staff always happy to help you and unlike what i thought, they all speak English.
The resort has great sea side facing rooms and it is a treat for eye to get up in the morning and view the beautiful turquoise colored sea by the white sands just out of your window. Bathrooms are extremely clean and you have a spa/exercise room/grocery store/restaurant (pretty decently priced)/doctor on 24/7 call. What else do you want?
This is a place where I would want to go back to on my next visit to Cancun. It's a paradise on earth

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our room was purchased first through hotels.com and then expedia.com (the rate was cheaper). It is a timeshare resort in the hotel zone in Cancun and our room faced the ocean. The room wasn't bad, but it didn't blow me away. We probably had the smaller version of a single bedroom. Our patio was stand-only, no chair space (but we were able to leave the patio door open and listen to the ocean).

We had breakfast in at the hotel (you do pay for it). My husband had pancakes that he said tasted like fish (we assumed they were made on the same grill as supper the night before). I would rate breakfast as mediocre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GottagetoutofWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 175 in Cancun
2,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
1.0 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,968 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Property: The Royal Caribbean
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing