We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi and Wonderful Service”
Review of Katsu-Ya - CLOSED

Katsu-Ya
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My wife and I went to this resturant twice in one week, the sushi was wonderful and the service was equally as good. The ambiance was magical. The waiter worked with my wife so she could get exactlly what she wanted, when the bill came he pointed out that the gratuity was already included. Added bonus was the close proxmity to the Royal Sands where we were staying. Our second trip to this resturant was with 2 more people and we sat at a teppanyaki table and had a equally wonderful time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DongoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    8
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced good food”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Food is good, "tapioca" dessert is THE best

Service is good but be careful when you recive the check because service IS included already and waiters try to make it look like it isnt, so if you dond pay attention they will change service twice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4dad3sparza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Extremely overpriced Everything alacarte”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Have never been to a hibachi style restaurant where everything was ala carte. Soup salad etc was not included. We really didn't have a problem with that but did a have problem with the fact that everything was practically burned and had no taste. Also ordered sushi that was not any better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nolatravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Should have listened to the other reviews. Mediocre at best.”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I'm by no means a sushi snob, I'm happy with a basic roll and despite how un-purist, I admit that I even like when they add the "crunch" (eg tempura flakes), and from that perspective they did OK, we had the katsu-ya (lobster) roll and a mojito roll (sort of like a rainbow roll but add mint). However, the piece of yellowtail that I ordered was dried out and tasted off, which I told the waiter. He took it away but SO kindly left it on the bill. We also ordered the ahi/avocado salad as others suggested, which was OK except that the greens were a title wilted and brown. The edamame appetizer, which is pretty hard to mess up, wasnt that warm, and had large rock salt crystals which were just unmanageable for the dish, there was no way to get just a little subtle salt taste with the bean pods. Overall the food just seemed lackluster and definitely overpriced for the quality. Yes, sure, the terrace is lovely and has a great view of the lagoon, but there are a ton of restaurants along the lagoon which are equally lovely, equally overpriced, but make their food with care, not just slopping whatever old ingredients they have around on a plate. We can't wait to go to Fred's tomorrow evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CKHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

If you are just in the mood for sushi and a scene this could be your place. Service was mediocre at best, sushi was fine, and drinks were pretty bad. People watching was exceptional!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rachyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katsu-Ya also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing