We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Ranked #102 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
taunton,somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

sayed here for 10 nights 18 th march 2014.great place .staff friendly well all bar the chief in reasurant service could be better.stayed in room 303. clean shower poor need too run it for at least 5 mins too get tepid water .four blocks to local bus stop.then 15mins to hotel zone by bus .get the r1 bus .just 10 pasces (50p)each each way travel the whole distance of hotel zone great experience.plus every ten mins fast and furious????.you wont find better for £20.00 per night....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    78
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
45
83
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights for around $22 U.S a night. Room was large, clean, good A/C, TV. Bed was comfortable, staff was very ice. The property itself is in good shape, the neighborhood is a little shabby, however it's relatively convenient. 10 min walk to El Centro, 15 to the ADO. Lots of cheap restaurants nearby, and cheap taxi to about anywhere you want to go. If you are looking for basic, inexpensive accommodations, It's hard to beat!

Room Tip: Upper floor facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked Expedia's 3-star "hidden hotel" and was booked here. Even though I wanted to stay downtown I was initially concerned because it's not close to anything - restaurants, shops, transportation, etc. I decided to treat it as an adventure and walk as much as possible - 10 minutes to catch the bus, 20 minutes to the Isla Mujeres ferry, and so on. There are also taxis on hand if you don't feel like walking.
There is a simple restaurant on-site with good, inexpensive food.
The wifi is decent, although it did cut in and out occasionally.
I shower at night so didn't experience the cold showers others have mentioned.
The staff spoke enough English that communication wasn't an issue.
I, a solo woman, never felt unsafe walking around the neighborhood. But I will admit I didn't walk after dark. I'm adventurous, not stupid.
I can recommend this hotel for those who are on a budget, adventurous, or don't mind not being in the middle of everything.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is in Downtown Cancun about 7 miles from the Resort hotel & beaches area. Taxi costs 120 Pesos to beaches but coming back taxis will charge 200 Pesos to leave resort area. You can walk to main road & take the RR-1 (Route 1) bus 9.5 Pesos one way to the Resorts/beaches this same bus will take you back downtown. Plenty of inexpensive restaurants downtown. This is a nice quiet hotel, no frills, has onsite restaurant & bar (Did not try) and swimming pool. TV, strong Wi-Fi. The beds are kinda small & hard mattress but locals are short people...so. Downtown area is safe to walk around at night because there is plenty of people walking around. Only two issues, one the daily room rate is $30.00 day, Hotels.com charged me $55.00 day so will be calling them about this also there is no hot water, just lukewarm so had to take quick showers. Frontdesk people are nice & there is usually a few taxis waiting outside...good hotel for budget minded travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yoipitydafool67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is probably the best value in Cancun. It's about a 10 minute walk into town but the bus in is just minutes from the hotel door. The staff is kind and speaks very good English. The pool area is beautiful and the restaurant serves up delicious breakfasts with smiling service.

The room is a beautiful midrange room for budget hostel prices. Great Value!

Room Tip: Room 201 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pro:
1) Friendly staff
2) Free wifi, free computer in the lobby

Con:

1) We spent 2 hours on the road to find this hotel. The address appears in Google map is not accurate, we follow the map, but failed to find it. I suggested Expedia list the accurate longitude and latitude.
2) We also use iPad/Android navigation app called Navigon to search for the hotel name, as well as address, but nothing found. So I am just curious how other people find it.

In summary, we drove in Cancun Downtown, spent 2 hours, asked 5 local people (including 3 staff from other hotels, who can speak English), and eventually we found it in the middle night.

3) Nothing interesting nearby, if you are going to the best beach, you will need 20 mins taxi.

4) No hair dryer in room and even the whole hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Only stayed one night between flights. Friendly staff. Slow, but working and free computers in lobby. Close to ADO bus station for 15 minute walk during the day. Otherwise negotiate a 25 pesos taxi ride from ADO. Slummy area of town. Take a flashlight for night. Just a basic room. Clean and quiet. I opened window to get fresh air rather than use air-conditioner. If safety is of concern, ask for a room away from roof access. Work was in progress at hotel (until about 10 pm) so some noise down the hall. Pool is cold and very small....no way to swim and no ambience for sitting around relaxing on the couple of plastic deck chairs. Picture of pool is misleading. I gave it 4 and not 3 stars because it is cheap for Cancun. I got it at Xmas time for under $45.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paladin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.2 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#113 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#164 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda de Castilla

Property: Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Address: Calle 17 Norte | Sm. 64, Mza. 23, Lotes 9 al 14, Cancun 77524, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda de Castilla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda de Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing